Are pumpkin seeds kosher for Passover?
There are kosher for Passover pumpkin seeds. However, they are classified as kitniyot so all Ashkenazi and some Sephardi and Mizrachi Jews won't eat them.
31 people found this useful
Like many things Jewish, it depends. Jews from Europe other than Spain ("Ashkenazim") have a tradition not to eat it since rice flour in particular was commonly stored in the same place that wheat flour was stored, leading to confusion as to what was permitted and what was not permitted and what mat…zot was made out of, and hence for simplicity was banned. Jews from Spain ("Sephardim") and the Middle East find rice acceptable tend to eat it, although the custom is to check it three times before using it in any form other than recognizable rice (such as rice flour) as a cooking ingredient to make sure it is not something else that is not permitted. The Torah instructs a Jew not to eat (or even possess) chometz all seven days of Passover (Exodus 13:3). "Chometz" is defined as any of the five grains (wheat, spelt, barley, oats, and rye) that came into contact with water for more than 18 minutes. This is a serious Torah prohibition, and for that reason we take extra protective measures on Passover to prevent any mistakes. Which brings us to another category of food called "kitniyot". This includes rice, corn, legumes (soy beans, string beans, peas, lentils, peanuts, etc), mustard, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, and poppy seeds. Even though kitniyot cannot technically become chometz, Ashkenazi Jews do not eat them on Passover. Why? The Smak (Rabbi Moshe of Kouchi, 13th century, France) explains that products of kitniyot appear like chometz products. For example, it can be hard to distinguish between rice flour (kitniyot) and wheat flour (chometz). Therefore, to prevent confusion, all kitniyot was prohibited. The Beit Yosef (Rabbi Yosef Karo, 16th century, Israel) notes that grains may become mixed together with kitniyot, and one may inadvertently come to eat actual chometz. Here's an article that may help explain a bit more, found at Rabbi Simons, "Kosher for Passover", See Related Links for the URL. (MORE)
There are brands of kosher for Passover baking powder but they have to be marked specifically for Passover.
There are brands of kosher for Passover baking soda but they have to be marked specifically for Passover.
Soybeans are kitniyot so anything made from them aren't used by Ashkenazi Jews during Passover.
Soy products are only considered kosher for Passover by some Sephardi customs. This is because soy beans are legumes which are considered kitniyot.
There are brands of rum that are certified kosher for Passover, however, you would have to check the labeling to confirm individual bottles have the appropriate hechsher. Please see the related link which has the cRc's list of approved alcohol.
It depends. If you are Ashkenaz, then you can't eat popcorn on Passover (Ashkenazim don't eat legumes on passover, and corn is a legume). If you are of a Sefard (who do eat legumes on Passover) origin, then you technically can eat popcorn on Passover, but it must have a reliable kosher for Passover …certification. Correction: Corn is not a legume. The reason that corn isn't eaten during Passover is because of a naming error when it came to Europe and it became associated with one of the grains that the Torah forbids during Passover. (MORE)
It depends on the brand. However, even brands of real mustard that are certified kosher for Passover are still kitniyot.
All nuts except for peanuts are considered kosher for passover. However, their packaging does have to display kosher for Passover certification.
There are brands of kosher for Passover cranberry sauce. You would have to check the packaging for kashrut certification.
It means that all of the ingredients and production process meets the special kashrut requirements of Passover.
Tofu makers don't bother trying to get their products kosher certified for Passover as soy beans are kitniyot so the majority of Ashkenazi Jews wouldn't eat it during Passover.
Fresh string beans are kosher for Passover. However, canned string beans might need a kosher for Passover certification. Correction: Ashkenazi Jews do not eat legumes of any kind as they are kitniyot, this includes string beans.
Yes, only if they are specifically certified kosher for passover. You can find kosher for Passover olives at any Jewish supermarket
It depends - if you are of Sephardic descent - from Spain, Portugal or North Africa - then yes. If you're from an Ashkenazi background - the rest of Europe - then lentils fall into the category of kitniyot, small things, which have traditionally not been eating during Passover. This tradition stems …from the fact that flour can be made from kitniyot, which increases your chances of accidentally consuming chametz or may cause others to believe you are consuming chametz. However, although this tradition has been upheld for many centuries and is supported by most rabbis, it is not based on the Torah and as such many Jews do eat kitniyot during Passover - not least of all because so many people are vegetarian or vegan, and kitniyot are an important source of protein. (MORE)
Though some brands of granola are kosher for non-Passover use, nogranola is kosher for Passover. For Passover, you can get fake'granola' that is made from matzo. Or, it may be fun to researchingredients and try to make some on your own.
Spaghetti and pasta is normally not Kosher for Passover as it is generally made with wheat flour and considered chometz . In recent years I have seen Kosher for Passover pasta on supermarket shelves in Israel. Perhaps this is made with potato flour like gnocci.
Most Vodka is made from wheat or rye, and therefore is not kosher for Passover. There are 3 or 4 still made from only potatoes, but you must check labels.If you want some potato Vodka for the next high Holy days, you can make some at home. We call it Polish White Lightening, but you can name you…rs whatever you like. (MORE)
These days there are kosher for Passover pastas, usually made from potato. I don't know of any brand of mac and cheese that are certified kosher for Passover though.
If you can find a bottle that's labeled kosher for Passover. However, sesame seeds are kiniyot so Ashkenazi Jews are not supposed to eat them or any derivative.
No, as puff pastry is a dough made from flour, it is chametz and therefore not allowed during Pesach (Passover).
Anything with wheat that has been left with water or yeast for over 18 minutes is considered CHAMETZ(not allowed on passover according to orthodox jews.)
It depends. If you are of Sephardic or Mizrahi extraction then yes, they are. If, however, you are Ashkenazi, then traditionally no, they're not. This is because they fall into the category of kitniyot, small things - peas and beans from which it is possible to make flour that could become confused …with flour made from the Five Grains. If a Jewish person eats any food in which any of these grains has come into contact with water for more than eighteen minutes during manufacture, the food becomes chametz and he or she risks karet - being spiritually cut off from G-d, one of the harshest punishments in the Jewish tradition and consciousness. However, the ban on kitniyot is a rabbinic tradition aimed at helping people avoid accidentally condemning themselves to karet - it does not have a religious reason and is not included in the Torah. For that reason, many Ashkenazi Jews - especially those who stick to a vegetarian or vegan diet, as I do, for whom legumes are an important source of protein and a major part of what they eat - do now eat kitniyot during Passover, though we take very great care to ensure we are not eating chametz. (MORE)
Though they look similar to peanuts - which are not considered kosher for Passover by the majority of Ashkenazi Jews - cashews are kosher for Passover. The reason for this is that peanuts are not, in fact, nuts - they're legumes, as are peas and beans. Whereas peas and beans do not fall into the F…ive Grains category (wheat, oats, spelt, barley, rye, as listed in the Torah) known as chametz that are forbidden to us at this time of year, they are classified as kitniyot - that is, "small things." Kitniyot are not forbidden by the Torah but, as flour that could be confused with flour from the Five Grains, a rabbinic decision was made to also avoid these. There is, however, no religious reason to avoid them. Sephardic and Mizrahi Jews eat them during Passover and nowadays many Ashkenazi (especially those following vegetarian or vegan diets) do too. Cashews, however, are not legumes - they're nuts, and all nuts are kosher for Passover. (MORE)
There are brands of kosher l'pesach balsamic vinegar, you would have to check the packaging for the appropriate hechsher.
Yes, grape seed oil is kosher for Passover for all groups including Ashkenazim. You would have to check the labeling for a valid Pesach hechsher though.
Not all vinegar is kosher for Passover, the label has to have a kosher for Passover hechsher.
There are different opinions on whether or not perfumes containing chametz alcohol are permitted during Pesach. If you're not sure, you should check with your Rabbi. Please see the related link for an explanation of the different opinions.
Real sugar is kosher for Passover. As for artificial sweeteners: There is kosher l'Pesach Sweet 'N Low Some brands of Aspertame are You would have to check the packaging for the appropriate certification.
Flax seed is kosher for Passover, as long as it is in the form of a seed; if baked into bread then it would not be kosher for Passover (since all forms of leavened bread are not kosher for Passover). However, flax falls within the category of 'kitniyot' and therefore is not eaten by Ashkenazi Jews.
There are kosher for Passover sunflower seeds. However, they are classified as kitniyot and are not eaten by Ashkenazi Jews during Passover.
As legumes, peanuts belong to a subcategory called 'kitniyot'. As such, they can be kosher for Passover, however, Ashkenazi Jews will not eat them.
You might be able to find kosher for Passover wafer cones, however, they will have to be certified as such by a reputable hechsher.
As a 'vegetable' corn is kosher by default. However, for Pesach, it is classified as kitniyot so Ashkenazi Jews and some Sephardi and Mizrachi groups won't eat it.
In Israel you can get kosher for Passover hummus. However, it is classified as kitniyot and therefore isn't eaten by Ashkenazi Jews. As a result, outside of Israel, you aren't going to find kosher for Passover hummus.
As potatoes are a tuber, there is nothing to make them not kosher for Passover. (Unless something is added to them such as bread.)
It depends on the type of flour. Potato flour, alternately called potato starch is fine for Passover. Flour made from the 5 prohibited grains (wheat, oat, spelt, barley, and rye) is not allowed.
Lamb can be kosher for Passover. However, Ashkenazi Jews traditionally do not eat lamb during Passover.
It is possible to get sunflower seeds and products made from sunflower seeds, such as oil, that are hechshered kosher l'Pesach. However, all of these products are considered kitniyot and therefore, the majority of Ashkenazi Jews will not eat them.
Ashkenazi Jews traditionally prohibit the consumption of kitniyot(including poppy seeds); Sephardic Jews do consume kitniyot duringPassover. So, which side are you on?
Yes, it can be. However, it requires a hechsher specifying it is kosher for Passover on the package labeling.
Yes, it can be since it is made from wine, which can be Kosher for passover if created under appropriate supervision. The bottle would require a kosher for Passover hechsher.
There are kosher food companies that are now making gluten-free products Kosher for Passover and all-year-round. However, something being gluten-free has no bearing on whether or not it is Kosher or Kosher for Passover.
Corn and corn-derived products are considered kitnyot. All kitnyotare prohibited by Ashkenazim on Passover, but permitted bySephardim and Mizrahim.
No. Wheat is chametz, unless it has been baked into matzah. For Passover, you should be using olive oil.
It is outright prohibited for Ashkenazim (since rice is notpermitted). However, it is usually prohibited for Sephardim andMizrahim as well since Rice-based cereals usually contain othergrains in addition to the rice (such as barley, wheat, sorghum, ormillet). It is these other grains that would make… it prohibited forSephardim and Mizrahim. (MORE)
Plum brandy and potato vodka are a couple of the kosher alcoholicdrinks for Passover. Answer: Generally, brandy needs rabbinic supervision year-round (not onlyon Passover), because it's usually distilled from wine (all winesneed kashrut supervision). There is a kosher for Passover plumbrandy, but… it needs to be labeled as such. According to the OU kashrut supervisors, the following beverages do not need Passover kashrut certification: O'Dwyer'sSauvignon Blanc (if mevushal), and Goose Bay. (MORE)
That depends on which rabbi you ask. Anything with wheat, oats,rye, barley or spelt (Russian winter wheat) is forbidden by theTorah. Any sort of grain that will "rise" or ferment is banned;these grains can only be eaten during Passover if they have beenbaked into matzoh within 18 minutes. Ashkenazi…m also volutarily forbid corn, rice and legumes, whileSephardim generally do not. So if you follow Ashkenazic tradition,corn flour or corn meal would not be kosher for Passover. And whilemany Sephardic rabbis would allow corn as a vegetable, grinding itinto flour and using it for baking might violate the spirit, if notthe letter, of the law. (MORE)
Lox is a fillet of brined salmon, so yes, it is kosher forPassover. But the bagel that you would normally spread it on isdefinitely chametz.
That depends on the company it comes from. Just look for the Kosherfor Passover information.