Do you have to pay child support to an adult child 18 years old in Missouri?
I'm in KCMO. Until high school ends, or until age 23, if they go to college and carry at least 5 credit hours. I was able to add that requirement in 1992. See link.
5 people found this useful
Answer . I could be mistaken, but I believe that child support only applies for the biological mother/father of the actual baby. As you are the father/mother of the mother, I don't think you have to pay anything, even if you're daughter is only 16. The 18 year old is the one that has to worry .… . . but this could also change depending on what country/state you're from. Im from NSW Australia, and that's what would apply here, but things could be different for you. Wishing you the best of luck in the future . . .. Answer . Having a child does not emancipate a person. Your 16-year-old daughter is still a minor, and therefore you'd still have to pay child support for her (notice I said *her* not her child). I'm assuming she's not married and is still in school and lives at home? (MORE)
In Pennsylvania does a father have to continue paying child support for an 18-year-old who is pregnant?
Answer . \nThe legal age of majority for the state is 18.\n. \nHowever, the terms stipulated in the child support order determines when the obligated parent can cease payment.\n. \nThe pregnancy would not be a factor in whether or not the noncustodial parent is still financially obligated.\n. … \nIf the terms of the order are unclear, it would be advisable for the obligated parent to obtain legal advice before taking any action. (MORE)
Can parents declare their 18-21 year old as a dependent on their Federal Income Tax return if this adult child fully supports themselves and is paying the parents room and board?
The parents can't claim a deduction when the child provides over half of their (the child's) own support. If they have already filed, you can contest this by mailing in a paper return with an explanation. It will take a few months.
Answer . Whether or not the child is attending school does not relieve one from their court ordered responsibility to provide child support. The only possible way this may apply is if that was specifically written into the divorce decree settlement papers and the court judge approved it.
In most cases you need to pay child support for a child that isonly 17 years old. This is controlled by state law and should beclearly indicated in the child support order.
Do you have to pay child support after your child is 18 years old if your child is going to college and living at home with her mother in California?
legally not really, cuz the kid (18 yr) is old enough to get a job.. moraly, yes, cuz its your own kid, you made it you have the responsibility to care for him/her your job as a parent is to not just help him/her econimacally but also be a parent, call her/him ask him hows life, give him/her advise…, get close to God and you will understand, read the bible, it has all the answers you need, or that person needs. (MORE)
No you do not. child support stops for that child when he or she turns 18 years old.
yes depends on the situation. Support could end at 18, especially if she is not in school. Go talk with clerk of court that initial the order. Sounds like 18 should be it. support your kids
In the state of North Carolina if my daughter is 18 years old and has a child and she is also getting child support do i still have to pay child support to her mom if my daughter is still in school?
Generally, the obligation ends when the child reaches 18 years of age. If the child is already otherwise emancipated, payments will stop at the time of emancipation.If the child is still in primary or secondary school when he or she reaches the age of 18, support payments will continue until that ch…ild graduates, ceases to attend school on a regular basis, fails to make satisfactory academic progress towards graduation or reaches the age of 20 - whichever of these comes first. Based on its discretion, the court may order payments to cease at age 18, regardless of graduation date or any other factors.. (MORE)
Even if he is 18 years old that does not matter, and even if he is a drop out, he still needs money for his daily needs. So it is better to pay what was settled in court.
That dependent of state law, and you could even be ordered to pay more. see link
Do you have to pay child support after your child is 18 years old if your child is going to college and living at home with her mother in New York?
That is dependent on state law and your specific orders. In most states, no. But there are those that do require it, with some requiring that you also pay for the college education.
Keep seeing is dependent of the age of majority in the specific state. Though some states require child support until age 21, in the others, it would be voluntary.
Child support as such normally ends once the child becomes an adult (18 in most countries), however many pairents would normally expect to help their child (if they can) with furhter education.
See Link Below . Child Support Age-At what age does child support stop and what steps need to be taken to bring this about? .
When a child reaches age eighteen, if the child is enrolled in and attending a secondary school program of instruction, the parental support obligation shall continue, if the child continues to attend and progresses toward completion of said program, until the child completes such program or reaches… age 21, whichever first occurs. If the child is enrolled in an institution of vocational or higher education not later than October first following graduation from a secondary school or completion of a graduation equivalence degree program and so long as the child enrolls for and completes at least 12 hours of credit each semester, not including the summer semester, at an institution of vocational or higher education and achieves grades sufficient to reenroll at such institution, the parental support obligation shall continue until the child completes his or her education, or until the child reaches the age of 22, whichever first occurs. To remain eligible for such continued parental support, at the beginning of each semester the child shall submit to each parent a transcript or similar official document provided by the institution of vocational or higher education which includes the courses the child is enrolled in and has completed for each term, the grades and credits received for each such course, and an official document from the institution listing the courses which the child is enrolled in for the upcoming term and the number of credits for each such course. If the circumstances of the child manifestly dictate, the court may waive the October first deadline for enrollment required by this subsection. If the child has pursued a path of continuous attendance and has demonstrated evidence of a plan to continue to do so, the court may enter a judgment abating support for a period of up to five months for any semester in which the child completes at least six but less than twelve credit hours; however, such five-month period of abatement shall only be granted one time for each child. If the child is enrolled in such an institution, the child or parent obligated to pay support may petition the court to amend the order to direct the obligated parent to make the payments directly to the child. As used in this section, an "institution of vocational education" means any postsecondary training or schooling for which the student is assessed a fee and attends classes regularly. "Higher education" means any junior college, community college, college, or university at which the child attends classes regularly. A child who has been diagnosed with a learning disability, or whose physical disability or diagnosed health problem limits the child's ability to carry the number of credit hours prescribed in this subsection, shall remain eligible for child support so long as such child is enrolled in and attending an institution of vocational or higher education, and the child continues to meet the other requirements of this subsection. A child who is employed at least 15 hours per week during the semester may take as few as nine credit hours per semester and remain eligible for child support so long as all other requirements of this subsection are complied with. . see link (MORE)
Yes, but the support can be modified to go directly to the child, or stopped. see link
Yes, even if the mother of the child is an adult and statutory rape is involved. see links
Do you have to pay child support after your child is 18 years old if the child is going to collage in Tennessee?
Usually, the order for support will state the termination date. The order may require support for a child who is a college student.
Generally these issues are determined and resolved by the courts at the time of divorce. Laws may vary state to state, but usually child support and visitation are two separate issues. Child support is for the welfare and support of the child and is due whether visitation occurs or not. However, chi…ld support generally ends at age 18, or the end of the school year that the child turns 18. Sometimes it is extended to age 23 provided the child is enrolled in college. Another reason child support may be extended is if the child has a disability or special need. (MORE)
You have to pay any support that accrued before the child reached majority or was emancipated - the statute of limitations never expires on unpaid child support. If the child is severely disabled, support may continued into adulthood. Yes the answer above is true. I would say take out any 401 k …you have and liqidate any assets you have. Live on a cash basis or you will lose it all. Been their and done that. (MORE)
Some states or divorce decrees have provisions of child support to be paid until the child is 21 years old if the child goes to college full time. This is very rare. Check your divorce decree and all its stipulations. It is general and common for the child support to stop on the 18th birthday. Sup…port may continue into adulthood for severely disabled children. (MORE)
Not if she's not in college with 10 credit hours. I'm in KCMO. see links below
Yes, if the court has ordered payments beyond age 18 because, e.g., the child is severely disabled and/or attending college.
Is a father obligated to pay child support until the child is 18 years old or until the child graduates from high school?
In general, yes. However, this varies depending on State law and the language of the order for support.
That depends on the language of the order for support and the laws of the State in which that order was entered.
That depends on the language of the order for support and the laws of the State in which that order was entered.
Doesnt the father of the baby pay child support. I,d hope your not the father of your daughters baby... the baby's daddy was 50% responsible for making the baby, shouldn't he be 50% responsible for taking care of it . and besides, after ur kid is 18, they make their own decissions- its not ur fault …she got knocked up! :p (MORE)
Does a non-costodial parent still have to pay child support if the child is 18 years old and has back child support owed?
The "back" support must be paid - there is no statute of limitations on collecting that.
Do I still have to pay child support on an 18 year old child who is still in school but has moved in with her boyfriend?
You need to review your child support order. Your obligations are set forth in the order. You need to review your child support order. Your obligations are set forth in the order. You need to review your child support order. Your obligations are set forth in the order. You need to review your chi…ld support order. Your obligations are set forth in the order. (MORE)
Here is the law as stated in TITLE XLIII DOMESTIC RELATIONS CHAPTER 461-A PARENTAL RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES Section IV and VII ". The amount of a child support obligation shall remain as stated in the order until the dependent child for whom support is ordered completes his or her high… school education or reaches the age of 18 years, whichever is later, or marries, or becomes a member of the armed services, at which time the child support obligation, including all educational support obligations, terminates without further legal action. If the order involves a disabled child, the court shall specify the duration of the order, which may be beyond the time when the child reaches the age of 18." and " No modification of a support order shall alter any arrearages due prior to the date of filing the motion for modification. " So if any of the above apply and no provision to the contrary was in the support order, yes it's possible to pay child support for a child of 18 if he or she has not yet graduated from high school or if they have, if any support is in arrears. If child support is not current, it will be pursued until all past due amounts are paid. If you are current on your child support and your child has reached 18 or graduated from high school, whichever is later, you may file for termination of a child support obligation at the agency in charge of child support collection and disbursement with jurisdiction. If you are asking whether a parent can file for support for an 18 year old without any prior support order, New Jersey law does provide for that. N.J.Stat.Ann 9:17-45; 9:17-55 of the New Jersey code says that a parent has up to 5 years after the age of majority (18 in New Jersey, so until the child is 23) to legally establish paternity and file for support based on the same. It is retroactive to the child's birth. (MORE)
Do you have to pay child support for your 18 year old son who lives with his mother girlfriend and his own child in New Jersey?
If the child is still in school and being supported by his mother, the answer may be yes. You must follow the child support order until it is terminated or modified by the court. If you still have questions after reviewing your court orders then you should consult with an attorney.
Yes what they can pay. Get a weekend job. If you had custody you would have to be able to pay for the diapers somehow and that is what she is struggling with when you don't pay.
Do i still have to pay for 18 years of child support even if i just found out you have a 10 year old child?
In large part, the answer depends on the jurisdiction. I've never heard of such a case in Illinois, although I suppose it's technically possible. One defense should be that you had no knowledge of the child. Run, don't walk, to an attorney who specializes in family law in the jurisdiction where this… case has been filed. (MORE)
Child support may be modified to extend past the age of 18 in PA if the child is unmarried AND disabled or if the original support order contained a provision for extended support. Generally, however, support terminates when the child reaches the age of 18 unless child support is in arrears. Then… it may continue as long as it takes to pay the arrears. (MORE)
This depends on state laws and also, why is he not emancipated if he is 18? He should be automatically at 18, at least in most states if not all. You need to leave more information about marital status between the parents, why he moved out and where to, what state you are in etc.
In California, child support usually ends when a child is 18 and has already graduated from high school. But if a child is 18 and is still in high school (full time student), the parent (the one paying) is still required to continue paying child support until the child turns 19 or finishes high scho…ol whichever occurs first. If the child is already 18 and in college, it is the discretion of the parents if they will continue to provide child support. Permanent child support maybe ordered by the court for children who are disabled and is unable to earn a living on their own. Legal Disclaimer: The answer above should not be relied upon as legal advice. The information provided above is based on insufficient facts and only speaks to a general opinion based on those insufficient facts. No warranty is provided that the answer is correct. No attorney-client relationship has been formed with me until a signed written contract is complete. For an official opinion, it is advised you seek legal counsel. (MORE)
That depends on the circumstances. Indiana reserves the right to jail parents found in contempt of court for failure to pay any child support in arrears no matter the age of the child, or failure to abide by an extended support order (where support is modified by the court to continue past the child…'s age of emancipation, which is 19 in Indiana, recently lowered from age 21 ). In general, if no support is in arrears, Indiana child support terminates when the child reaches the age 19 although a provision remains for the "educational needs" of a child over 19 but doesn't spell out exactly what falls into that category. (MORE)
In louisiana does a father still have to pay child support if the child is 18 years old in high school but does not still live with the mother?
Yes. You are not paying for the mother, you are paying for the child. If that were the case, children living on college campuses whose custodial parent has an extended modification to child support granted or are attending boarding school would not be able to collect support. If the child is livi…ng elsewhere without permission of the court and/or if that move would constitute legal emancipation as outlined by your state's laws, you do have the right to file for modification of child support based on the same. (MORE)
Do you have to pay childsupport if the child get left back and he's 18 years old do you have to pay child support?
You need to review your divorce agreement and your child support orders. Your obligations should be explained in the orders rendered in your case. You are also bound by the laws in your state. Most states require you to pay until the child reaches the age of 18 or graduates from high school, whichev…er is later, meaning if he's still in school, you still pay. (MORE)
There is no universal answer. Generally you need to check the laws in your state, your divorce agreements and decree and any child support order that was issued by the court. There is no universal answer. Generally you need to check the laws in your state, your divorce agreements and decree and any… child support order that was issued by the court. There is no universal answer. Generally you need to check the laws in your state, your divorce agreements and decree and any child support order that was issued by the court. There is no universal answer. Generally you need to check the laws in your state, your divorce agreements and decree and any child support order that was issued by the court. (MORE)
Does an 18 year old child have to pay child support eventhoe he lives with his parents and not working?
You will have a child support obligation yes. Whether or not the court will allow you to defer payments with or without interest accumulating or getting into trouble depends on the law where the support order is issued. It's not unheard of for courts to "suggest" a student get a part time job to mee…t their support obligations. (MORE)
No. The child is not a child anymore but emancipated so there is no need for child support.
You continue to pay child support unless otherwise mandated by the court. Running away does not constitute emancipation.
All terms of your child support should be in your support order. Some states do allow for child support to be continued until the child is in school/college. Review your order and, if needed, contact the court that issued it for any further information.
Generally, there are no steps. You can just stop paying beginning the month after the child's 18th birthday.
Is an 18 year old with a child considered emancipated in Utah and when can the father stop paying child support?
Yes she is emancipated by turning 18 and child support is paid until she is 21 if she goes to college.
If a judge said so you have to. Often child support is required for additional years if the child is attending formal education toward a certification or degree.
Yes. Child support is owed until the FULL financial obligation is met including back pay. It doesn't matter what age the child is or whether or not they have children, if the account is not paid in full it is still owed, period.
In some states the courts can prolong it to age 21-24 if the child is in college but not otherwise.