Selling an Old Car You can offer your car directly to auto wrecking yards. Create a flyer listing what is desireable about your truck and fax or deliver it to wrecking yards. Tell them you are accepting bids and give them a time and day to respond. The salvage value could be $500-600. They will come…
Used Car Dealer's Licenses This will depend on your state. For example, to become a licensed car dealer the State of California Department of Motor Vehicles requires a dealer applicant to take a six hour preparation class to become a licensed car dealer. There are 2 main types of dealers, retail or…
I'm not sure about your area, but were I live(MN) most junk yards wont give you anything(pay for the towing to get it there at most). You are better of donating the car, usually a tech. college will take it and then you write it off for a tax rebait.
Go to the yellow pages. Call the auto recycle…
Although a good used truck is worth more than a good car in the same generation, it still depends on the age, mileage, physical condition/upkeep, and geographical location.
Go to www.nada.com and you will find the answer.
In the UK a Used Car dealer can sell cars from Home, this is quite normal.
It depends on the local zoning laws where he lives. It is also very normal here in Ky for people to sell cars from their home. In Ky you can sell up to 4 cars per year without having a dealer's license.
Do not go to the RMV. The RMV has nothing to do with dealer licensing in Massachusetts. All dealer licenses are issued by the municipality (City or Town). You will likely need to show that your desired location is zoned properly and buy a bond. And pay an application fee which ranges from $100 to $5…
Toyota is one of the top brands in the industry for reliability, fuel economy overall, and rigidity. However, Honda deserves notoriety, as the Honda Accord outsold the Camry in annual sales by a mere 941 more than the Camry.
As long as it has never been used on the road by any any previous registered keepers it can be sold as new.
It can be sold as a new car as long as the ownership has not been transfered from the selling dealer to an individual, and an original title was not created. Once a car gets an excess amoun…
Send all of the vehicle details to the Licensing Authority along with your details and tell them to register the vehicle to you. If there are any problems with the vehicle registration they will let you know.
Wow, you paid for a car and never got a title?! You NEVER pay for a car without re…
Yes.Find out what car dealers don't want you to know at www.dealertricks.com
Paying Sales Tax on a Used Car Here are opinions and answers from FAQ Farmers: * There are probably different laws in different states, but in Kansas you show the sales tax receipt when you register the vehicle. If you did not pay sales tax to the seller, the county clerk will collect it then. * N…
Probably not. That's pretty much up to the seller. But in court it will probably be counted as rent paid towards the car during the time the buyer used it and the buyer won't get the money back. If the buyer were paying on the car, but never had it in their possesion, it might be different. But I'd …
First, make sure that you have the entire deal written down. It will not be an enforceable contract if you don't. You also need to make sure that you get a lien release from the seller or finance company.
If you are dealing with a dishonest person, it would be easy for you to …
Yikes. I hope you're getting receipts from the seller. The cleanest way to do this deal is, to apply for a loan from a bank and do the transaction through the banks. Or, contact the bank that holds the note to see if you can assume it. If the seller defaulted on his payments, the bank would come get…
The answer is 6................
It depends on whether it is purchased from a dealer or from a private individual.ask your state insurance commission in a letter if there is a dealer liability clause appended to the dealer's liability policy that addresses vehicle accidents caused by undiscovered defects or material failures that e…
Commercial insurance helps protect your business from its own
exposures. Exposures are risks that your business generates during
the course of its operations.
Products carry liability if someone is hurt using them (general
Operations like construction carry defective workmanship claims…
If your name is in the lien holder place on the title, YES! You are the true legal owner of the vehicle. Contact your local repo agency and explain the situation. Mind you, you will have to pay them to do it... and it varies so I couldn't tell you how much it would be. You must provide …
IF you were in default, got repoed, the repo agency sent you the required cert. letters, the lender sent the required cert. letters, it is legal to sell yo ride.
Heather, the Lender wants say, $5000.00 to payoff the loan. I'm willing to pay $4000.00 for the car. You will have to find $1000.00 to go with my 4K to payoff the loan and get the title.You may have to borrow that amount elsewhere, BUT it will be in smaller payments for a MUCH shorter time period th…
Turn it in?? YES sale it to a dealership? YES, IF they pay it off. make payments on the rest?? Maybe, the way to do it is to find a buyer(highest price you can get), subtract what you can get for it from the PAYOFF on the loan, BORROW the difference needed from another source. Then you can payoff th…
They can "suggest" anything they think you will go for. It doesn't sound like a very smart deal to me. But it will be YOUR credit that gets messed up for a few years.
Legal or not, it's a shady statement. Which tells me it's a shady dealer. Instead of buying a car from them, call your state…
Do you have a contract with a "repo clause" in it? Anything about what will happen if the debtor is in DEFAULT? Do you have the means to actually repo a car? truck, tools, location of the car, etc? Does your state require a "right to cure" notice? Lots of variables here.
YES, its an accounting thing. READ your contract.
Your state may have other requirements that you have to meet to do so. At the very least, you need a loan contract that perfects the security agreement.
CA has strong laws relating to repossession. I suggest you call the DMV # below OR go to the Call DCA's Consumer Information Center toll-free for additional information. The Center accepts calls in English, Spanish, and more than 100 other languages.Call DCA's Consumer Information Center toll-fr…
If the lender is "trying" to repossess the car now, wont they be "trying" to repo the car then also? How long do you plan on driving the car for free?? Just keep on hiding the car until you get a chance to pay on it.
thank you roosta-i see that you respond to a lot of posts here. i just w…
YES. http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=bpc&group=07001-08000&file=7500-7500.3 7500.3. A repossession agency shall not include any of the following:(d) The legal owner of collateral which is subject to a security agreement.
If you dont have one, the court will appoint one for you. The title will prolly be the lesser of your worries.
The person whos name is on the TITLE as OWNER gets to keep the car IF no one has it as collateral for a loan in DEFAULT.
Different states have different regulations on how to qualify for a dealers license. So its a good idea to check with your local DMV to check But generally speaking once you have a license from any state then that license is good anywhere in the states.
Car Dealer's License RequirementsThis depends entirely on your state. See the link to the right for an example from California, or search for your state DMV information with the Google form beneath it. Your search terms might be "[your state] car dealer license".For example, here is more information…
In the state of California:
You must take a dealers course (approx. $150) and a follow up
course depending on the volume you plan on selling.
After you take your course you need to provide proof and do to
the DMV and take a test.
You need to provide proof that your business location is
Dealer's Licenses in Arizona
Go to the link on the right for the Arizona Dealer Application or call the Arizona Dept. of Transportation (ADOT). They will send a packet with full info to apply. Check the Blue pages.
You do. Check with the Secretary of State, who monitors and licenses vehicle dealers.See the link to the right for the Illinois state page with the forms.
There are 2 types of dealer's licenses. You can have a wholesale only license where you can use your home as the address. The dmv will drive by to check it is an actual address and not just a field of weeds because this is the location where you will keep records. Your limitations are you cannot use…
There are several ways of doing it but the most effective way is to WITHOLD the title first of all then draw up a formal legally binding contract specifying the conditions of the agreement, have all interested parties sign it, then have it notarized and whatever you do warn them (usually through the…
Whether the money received from the sale of your car is taxable or not depends on if the car was for business vs. personal use. If the car has been used in a business and there was a tax deduction taken for depreciation, you must report the recapture of depreciation from the sale on Form 4797 and c…
Courses for Car Dealer'sThis will depend on your state.The State of California Department of Motor Vehicles requires a dealer applicant to take a six hour preparation class to become a licensed car dealer. The applicant must take the class and pass a 40 question test, etc.You might try searching wit…
best way to sell is FOR PARTS. There are ways for other folks to get a title.
it depends on what year the vehicle is. You cant even sell it for parts without a title unless it is 10 years old or older.The Modified Notary Certificate of Default Method: is a VERY EFFECTIVE legal…
Depends on which state you live in.
Not neccessarily. It may very from state to state and some states actually require full safety inspection as opposed to smogging but in Nevada (unless you're a dealer) you are not required to smog a vehicle prior to sale but the person who buys it will ha…
Dora I don't know how it works in your state but in Nevada yes you can be held liable IF they have failed to obtain a corrected title and place liability insurance by the time a traffic stop or accident occurs. If their insurance company sold them insurance knowing the insured had no driver license…
Your first consideration should be getting paid and not being the victim of a scam or fraud. Never accept a cashier's check, Western Union payment or other "paper" payment as these often turn out to be fraudulent after the buyer has possession of your vehicle.Insist on an international wire transfer…
You will need to pay off the lien first, or arrange with the lienholder to be able to make a sale.
if you did not make a copy of the bill of sale, you will have to wait until the title is re-assigned by application.If you have a copy of the bill of sale, and it was notarized, the tax office will aceept this for tax-roll deletion
Provided you own the car in full and have all the paperwork, you
can sell it at any time. However, just by driving away from the
dealership the value of the car would have plummeted.
It's possible, done frequently but entirely illegal. If you buy and sell a car in California with the intention to earn a profit - you need a dealer license. Here's the exact law from the California DMV: It is unlawful for: • any person to act as a dealer, distributor, manufacturer, remanufactur…
If the buyer knows what you intend to do. Any smart buyer is going to want to look at a clear title before he/she makes any kind of payment to you. It is something you can't hide from the purchaser, but you can hide it from the bank.
Just under 16 million new cars were sold in the US in 2004.
There are companies who do this every day. They are called REPO companies. Or Collateral Recovery Agencies.
Well, you can alarm the police about it and your cars plate registry would be blathered nationwide. You can file a case against the owner/buyer depending if you had arrangements or contracts…
Call a local attorney for state specific advice.
Yes, but they will not get full legal title to the vehicle because you do not have the paperwork to pass it over to them. So for them this is risky! You can fill out a duplicate title form. Same as a pink slip. Just mark original was lost or stolen As long as the seller completes all necassary sign…
That's strictly between the holder of the note and the buyer of the car. The holder of the note also holds the title, so you need them to be part of the transaction. The buyer either needs to pay off your loan or re-assume it in his own name. And remember, it's now a "used car" for financial purpose…
Contact your lender for an exact payoff balance and ask to make sure they physically have the title in their possesion. Have your buyer bring two cashiers checks - one to you for the amount in excess of your loan balance and a second made out to the lender to pay off the loan. Most lenders will then…
I have placed 9 cars in autotrader magazines and 5 never sold and the other 4 took at least 6 months to sell.I think you have to consider a few different variables when you ask this question. What am I selling and Am I being fair with my price? Am I being completely honest about the vehicle upfront?…
Price the car somewhere between wholesale and retail. Be honest and inform any prospective buyer of anything wrong with the vehicle. Inform the buyer, verbally and in writing that they are buying the car "AS IS, with no written or verbal warranty". Makes sure the car is transferred into th…
Yes it is legal. You can sell the car in any state. The taxes will be paid in the state that the buyer registers the car in.
yes , just because they are not licensed or insured does not mean they cannot be an owner/ jt owner of a vehicle , however if they are an operator they obviously must be licensed and should be insured.the former not being a valid reason to raise your premiums since they are not a licensed operator
From the MSN "Autos" web page.http://autos.msn.com/advice/article.aspx?contentid=4022358"Here are the ten bestsellers with total sales figures for calendar year 2003, based on data published by J.D. Power and Associates:... Toyota Camry 413,296 ..."The best selling vehicle was a truck."... Ford F-Se…
Yes and no. The size of a car is indeed one of the factors in how well a car can pull into traffic. But it is not the only factor. The ability to pull a car into traffic is dependent upon how quickly it can achieve a speed which matches that of the traffic. The weight to horsepower ratio will dete…
The title is in your name, so you hold all the rights.
The most expensive are very rare veteran and vintage cars. Below are two examples. I think the Ferrari 250 GTO, built during the years 1962-1965, may be a good candidate. Only 39 such cars have been built during those years, including the 330 GTO. Current value is around $12 million. The 1931 Buga…
Your obvious criminal intent is bad enough. But the fact is that without the title for the car you will never get it registered as the registration and plates go laong with the title and VIN number. Can't do it I will "help" you get "your" car registered. What is your full name, date of birth, addr…
For any car that is impounded (not available for release without a police OK) or stored (available for release to the registered owner without a police OK), a written or verbal notice must be given to the party from whom it was taken. If no verbal notice of the vehicle was given to the person who ha…
negligence and incompetence act. how much did you spend on it? see if you can take it to small claims court. did you have a witness with you concerning the sale of car? if not, it could be your word against thiers. must establish proof.California law requires you be told that it is a salvaged title …
Title jumping is illegal. Curbstoner sellers due it a lot when they are scamming people into buying bad car and cars that can't be titled to the new buyer.
This is the same as for a new car dealer. See the link to the right for the Florida state page or click to the related question.There Indiana companies advertising on the Internet to license you for a monthly fee.They license you as a wholesale dealer.These Indiana licenses will only allow you to se…
most likely California
How many cars do you have to sell in one year to be required to have a dealer's license in Texas?5 or more and they must all be titled in your name not in the name of a business or other entity. It you sell 5 or more, or sell a car that is not titled in your name, you need a license.
Sell it to me! email@example.com
The taxes will be payed with the new owner because it is now his
In virtually all states, the laws governing sales tax on vehicles
is different than those on other items of personal property. For
example, only sales from one registered auto dealer to another are
exempt - and the no…
5,635,000 new passenger vehicles were sold in the US in 2010.
Since 1990, the range has been 5.4mm to 9.3mm.
Also in 2010, total global production of passenger and commercial
vehicles was 77,857,705 which is the top end of the range from
1997-2010, with the bottom being 52,987,000.
GO TO www.nada.com and do a used car value for classic car
Classic cars are worth very much depending on their condition. If it still has the original parts that it has before, if it is still running, if the body is still complete, rusted or any, if it is modified or repaired. Cars with r…
Visit SmogTips.com for more smog check information. SmogTips.com is California's leading smog check support website!
According to California state law at least, the seller is responsible for making sure the vehicle he/she is selling has/can pass a smog check. The seller is sup…
All state require an office for a wholesale license. Many states such as California will allow the office to be in your home for a wholesale license only. A retail license usually requires a "car lot" where your customers go to conduct business. Some states will accept an office, other states requir…
That is a hard question to answer. Usually it depends on the area you live in. Some places that you may see is that Toyota and Hondas are very common for everyone to choose, because of the MPG and easy maintenance. Others you may find that Fords and Cevys are more common. The thing is that some buye…
Here is a reprint of the Florida state page linked to the right: In Florida, motor vehicle dealers are licensed and regulated by the Division of Motor Vehicles under Section 320.27 Florida Statutes. The Law Florida law states that any person, firm partnership, or corporation that buys, sells, offe…
How can I get dealer license in Toronto?
Too many to count!
Chrysler has a big portion with the minivan market, but General Motors caught up and exeeded them. Minivans from GM are the top-selling, currently, with Dodge Caravan not far behind. Ford also has a pretty big portion.
Current law for most states says that you have a physical
address as your business address in an area that is zoned and
approved by the state for such use. Now you can choose to have a
license as individual or as a corporation. The only difference is
on the amount of liability you are willing to tak…
I CURRENTLY WORK IN A DEARLERSHIP IN AUGUSTA GA AND I HAVE WORK FOR A LARGE FINANCING COMPANY FOR MORE THAN 13 YEARS, AND I TOTALLY AGAINST YOU HAVING TO FIND YOUR OWN FINANCING IF YOU ARE DEALING WITH A DEARLERSHIP, PLEASE UNDERSTAND NO DEAL IS COMPLETE UNTIL A CONTRACT EXIST BETWEEN YOU AND YOUR …
Maybe. Contact your local DMV and ask. I am assuming of course that this is your car :) Many times a new title is printed when the new owners go to get the paperwork done for new license and registration, so it may not be in fact "needed".However if you have it and you sell the car it would be best …
You must be kidding? Just try and sell it. You must know you can't sell what you don't own. It is illegal.
Really a lease is just another form of financing. Normally, it is fairly easy and allowed by the lease agreement (some, but very few, leases don't allow it).Just like any other car with a li…
10 days or they have to notifiy you in writing that they have not acquired financing.
The first step in obtaining a car dealer license in Mississippi is
completing and submitting a dealer application with the state. The
next step is paying the dealer licensing fee, biography and
financial statement for each principal of the company, bond letter,
and floor plan layout.
I think it 5 but call DMV to find out the know that one off hand
I called Jessie White's office and they said you can sell 5 per
YOU ARE WRONG! 5 is a dealer. 4 is the Max. I am not allowed to
post a link so go to
cyberdriveillinois.com departments>> vehicles/dealer >>
Unless it is 10 years old you will need to put exact odometer reading. And be sure to make copies of all SIGNED paperwork.
I am sure it varies by state law. my state says 3, i sold 5 and received a warning
Depends on the state you live in. In Ky it is 4. After that you must get a dealer's license. Not true: the number of vehicles only serves as prima-facia evidence that you are in fact a dealer. The real law is…
There are many options. You can avail free car advertisements using online car sites and let them advertise your car nationwide. Not all buyers are interested in buying brand new cars anyways, just be patient and a potential buyer would see your ad. You don't have to spend much on advertis…
Yes, but you are limited to how many you can sell in a year without getting a dealer's license. Check your state's regualations.
Current law for most states says that you have a physical address as your business address in an area that is zoned and approved by the state for such use. Different states have different regulations on how to qualify for a dealers license. So its a good idea to check with your local DMV to check. …
not unless the leinholder holds the title and the new owner doesn't want the title or doesn't mind someone oweing money on there car.
To get an automobile dealership license in Ky you must first establish Tax ID which can be obtained through your local county clerk's office. You must have a lot with a building that has a desk and place for filing. You must obtain dealership insurance which will cost $1900 per year or mor…
The seller will get the title. It may vary in different states, but I would suggest the buyer have a notarized document prepared which has a promise that the seller will turn the vehicle/title over. It a chance that buyer will take.
The company in Indiana will contact a collections co. in Illinois and have your vehicle picked up you can run but you cant hide so don't even go there all this will do is cost you more money silly willy.
Nissan micra 1.2litre petrol
volkswagen beetle 1.6litre petrol
ford Scorpio 1.3litre diesel
I wouldn't see why not if there not living up to there end of the deal and its still in your name then its still your car.
Depends on your location and the condition of the car. Go to www.nada.com
Yes, it does depend on your location and the condition of the car. There is what they call used car values. This are determined by the history of the car concerning damages, accidents, repairs or upgrades. If the …