What would you like to do?

How can you get a free divorce in North Carolina?

already exists.

Would you like to merge this question into it?

already exists as an alternate of this question.

Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it?

exists and is an alternate of .

If you and your spouse do not have children, or hold property, there are some "boilerplate" divorce forms that you can buy at an office supply. Both of you sign, then get your signatures notarized and then file it at the courthouse. You will have a court date that they will notify you both about. It will cost you some money to do these things, but not as much as if you did it the other way with a lawyer.

Make sure you don't forget to close joint credit card accounts, quit claim the cars and house and so on, so that your affairs are truly separate.

However, if there are any areas of contention or question, it would be a good thing to have a lawyer check over your agreement before you file. It may cost, but it will save you grief in the long run.
Thanks for the feedback!

How can you obtain a divorce from an incarcerated spouse in North Carolina and will you have to pay?

    Answer     Best bet would be to call up a lawyer and have them help you out. You can get a divorce from someone who is in jail. As for it being free, I am

I was married in NY can I get a divorce in North Carolina?

You can apply for divorce in any jurisdiction you wish, as long as you meet the requirements for that state or country.

How do you divorce an inmate in North Carolina?

You must first file for divorce, then the papers have to be served  to the inmate. If you use the sheriff or a professional to serve  the papers, or if you serve them yourse

How do you file for divorce in North Carolina?

In North Carolina, divorces are usually obtained based on one year's separation. After you and your spouse have lived separate continuously for one year, without resuming the

What are the divorce laws of North Carolina?

  The first thing you need is a solid understanding of how divorce law works in North Carolina. This article describes the basic substance of separation and marital dissol

Can you get a divorce if you are pregnant in North Carolina?

Yes, although there will have to be a child support and custody settlement.  In North Carolina, divorces are usually obtained based on one year's separation. After you and y

Can you get a divorce in thirty days in North Carolina?

It all depends on the specifics of your case. To get a no fault divorce in NC. you will need first to have been separated for 1 years and 1 day; and the plaintiff must have

How long do you have to respond to divorce papers in north carolina?

Apparently, you have 31 days to respond. (verify with your local authorities) The partner who does not want to get a divorce may not be able to stop the process by refusing