If eating lots of wheat-based cereals gives you bad spots does that mean you have a gluten allergy and should take on a gluten-free diet to try and improve your skin?
If your "bad spots" are itchy bumps that are slow to disappear and NOT hives, and they seem related to your wheat/gluten consumption, then you might have the skin rash that sometimes accompanies Celiac Disease. It is called Dermatitis Herpetiformis (DH). If the spots are hives, then you might have wheat allergy or be allergic to something else in the cereals.
Your question caught my eye because I have Celiac Disease and Dermatitis Herpetiformis (DH). My DH shows up as itchy spots on the outer (extensor) surfaces of my elbows, though other locations are also common. Celiac Disease is a genetically related, autoimmune gluten intolerance that affects the small intestines, sometimes without obvious symptoms. Dermatitis Herpetiformis is an itchy, spotty skin rash that 1 out of 10 people with Celiac Disease also get. Only people with gluten intolerance get DH. It can vary in intensity. For some people, it's just a few minor bumps. For others, it can cover large areas of the body. For some reason, the people who get the DH spots don't seem to get as bad of symptoms in the intestines. For me, for example, I never had any abdominal pain from eating gluten. This is typical for someone with DH.
It might be important to you to get tested for Celiac Disease and DH prior to trying a gluten-free diet, because if you get tested while you are not eating gluten, your tests can come out falsely negative. Both conditions are autoimmune and are permanent conditions.
Many doctors are not that familiar with Celiac Disease or DH, so it is important to do some homework yourself. But if you ask, your doc should be able to order tests for antigliadin antibodies (IgA and IgG). If either of these come back positive, there may be other tests they want to run, such as endomysial antibodies (EMA). Your doc might refer you to a GI doc.
Some people test negative to all of the tests and still find that a gluten-free diet helps them.
If you have DH, it may take a while after going gluten-free for the rash to disappear. For some people, it's gone in a couple of weeks. For others with bad cases, it can take longer. Iodine (like in seafood or salty chips) can make the rash temporarily worse, but iodine is not the root of the problem, gluten is.
There are many good support websites online that explain more.
Check out the National Institutes of Health website info about Celiac Disease and Dermatitis Herpetiformis for reliable information:
There is also a good forum about DH at:
Oh, and if you think it's wheat allergy (hives), then you need to see a board certified allergist and get a RAST test or skin-prick test to confirm, and possibly an EpiPen. An allergist will not necessarily be the right person to ask about Celiac Disease, however.
Someone with DH
98 people found this useful
Allergies to grain products can be hard to pin down. Grain products are ubiquitous. Most allergic reactions are quite mild, but some can be quite severe. Usually the symptoms …are a runny nose, red eyes, and such, but grain allergies can also cause digestive troubles. A common allergy is to gluten, a mixture of proteins found in wheat and other grains (rye, oats, barley etc.). Gluten is the portion of flour that gives a porous, spongy texture to bread. It is also used as a base in cosmetic powders and creams. Reactions range from runny nose and itchy eyes to upset stomach to severe gas. In children (and adults!), personality changes can be a symptom -- inability to concentrate, irritableness, crankiness, difficulties with mental alertness and memory. Some research indicates there may be a connection between attention deficit disorders and undiagnosed gluten allergies. Gluten allergies can also cause dermatitis herpetiformis (D.H.), a chronic benign, skin disorder characterized by an intense burning and itching rash. A new unscratched lesion is red, raised, and usually less than 1 cm in diameter with a tiny blister at the center. However, if scratched, crusting appears on the surface. The "burning" or "stinging" sensation is different from a "regular" itch, and can often occur 8-12 hours before a lesion appears. The most common areas are the elbows, knees, back of the neck and scalp, upper back, and the buttocks. Facial and hair-line lesions are not uncommon; the inside of the mouth is rarely affected. The rash has symmetric distribution. Medications are available to treat the problem, but elimination of gluten is a long-term answer. Severe reactions to wheat occur in the condition known as Celiac-Sprue [note: this may not be a true allergy, but I will include it here.] For people with this condition, the intestine reacts strongly to gluten products. The small cilia on the intestinal wall gradually flatten, reducing the ability of the intestines to absorb nutrients. This is a serious condition leading to malnutrition. The treatment consists of avoiding wheat and gluten in any form. In Western cultures, this can be VERY difficult. Remember that other grains such as rye and oats can cause problems, since they contain small amounts of gluten. It is unknown whether a child will outgrow this condition, but the current safe opinion is that gluten must be avoided for life. More information is available from several support organizations. It can be difficult to avoid gluten in processed foods. It's used as a starch, binder, bulking agent, formulation aid, stabilizer, shaper, thickener, emulsific filler and as a glaze. Some foods labeled "wheat free" may still contain gluten. Even things like lip gloss, make-up, shampoo and hand cream can contain gluten. It is possible to have good food without eating a wheat based diet. You will have to investigate the various options and see which suits your situation best. A number of cuisines are not based on wheat and provide alternatives around which to center your diet. Chinese, Indian, and other Asian countries often center the diet around rice. Some Eastern European countries use other grains such as millet, barley and buckwheat. A number of substitutes for wheat in baking are available. If you can tolerate some gluten, rye and oats can be used. These do not make a baked product exactly like wheat, but do make an acceptable one. For gluten free baked products, a mixture of rice flour, potato starch flour, and tapioca flour can be used. Any baking done without wheat will take practice; you have to learn a whole new way of doing it. The products are not exactly like wheat products but are tasty and satisfying. Most are as easy to make as the wheat version (after a few initial failures while learning). For many cookies and cakes, the results are very good. For breads, the results are better termed satisfactory but still quite good in their own way. Corn is another potential allergen, distinct from gluten allergies. As with wheat, corn products are found in any number of products. Corn starch is used as a thickener for many foods, as a base for cosmetics, and to prevent sticking. Corn sugar is used as an ingredient in many sodas, bottled fruit drinks, baking mixes, and such. It is also used in the glue for envelopes and stamps, in cosmetics, as a pill coating, in processed foods, and spice mixes. Symptoms range from skin rashes, runny nose and itchy eyes, to asthma. Many people can have an allergy to wheat and associated products but don't think that you do unless you have seen an allergist and colon specialist. Gluten problens along with gliadin intolerance is not an allergy to wheat. Your body does not tolerate it because ,what is called an intrinsic factor in your upper colon is not there to break down the make up of the wheat products. Symptoms of celiac disease,as this is what it is known by often takes years to develop. Symptoms can often be confused with irritable bowel syndrome and other digestive disorders. A blood test will tell you if this is the case and also having a colonoscopy, you are put into a light sleep. where a biopsy is done of the celia in the intestines. If celiac disease is presnt these celia will be laying down flat and will look almost gone. Celia literally grab the food as it is broken down and takes in the nutrients your body needs.This happens to them because of the wheat products someone injests that can't be absorbed because the intrinsic factor is missing. People often experience bloating, cramping, and after awhile continuous diarrhea non stop .This often leads to extreme weight loss. terrible fatigue, possible dizziness, and pernicious anemia, if not diagnosed soon enough, you can suffer permanent nerve damage. Such as peripheral neurophey, and other problems. I know as I have it and was told it was an allergy but it is not. Even though people can be allergic to different foods. The diet is very expensive and difficult to get use to but eliminates all products that contain wheat, gluten and gliadin. Must see a nutritionist and have blood work done and allergy testing done to see if there is a specific allergy or whether it is celiac disease.
No it is not. Cheerios contains wheat starch which is a gluten. Oats can be tolerated by some people with Celiacs disease but usually in the organic steel cut form. Just to …clarify: There is no form of wheat or wheat starch listed as an ingredient of Cheerios. Cheerios are made from whole-grain corn and oats. In theory, those grains do not contain either of the proteins that combine to form gluten in the presence of water (or milk). The label on the Cheerios box says, "May contain wheat ingredients", but that may just be a lawyer's way of saying that they may have been baked in the same facility that makes Wheaties or Chex.
A gold ring will have the gold content inscribed inside. It mayalso have the manufacturer's mark inside. 5C would be themanufacturer's mark.
Someone with Celiac Disease
No, it is not. New Ingredients List (as of 2017): Corn flour, sugar, whole grain oat flour, modified cornstarch, cornsyrup, honey, salt, turmeric (color), wheat starch. Vi…tamins and Minerals Ferric orthophosphate (source of iron), niacinamide (vitamin B3),zinc oxide (source of zinc), thiamin Mononitrate vitamin B1, Calcium pantothenate (a B-vitamin),pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), folic acid Contains wheat. Old Ingredients List: Corn Flour, Sugar, Whole Grain Oat Flour, Whole Grain Corn Flour,Honey, Salt, Yellow 5. Bht Added To Packaging Material To PreserveProduct Freshness. Vitamins And Minerals: Niacinamide (B Vitamin),Reduced Iron, Zinc Oxide (Source Of Zinc), Vitamin B6, Vitamin APalmitate, Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Thiamin Mononitrate (VitaminB1), Folic Acid (B Vitamin), Vitamin B12,Vitamin D. Manufactured On Equipment That Processes Wheat.
All things in moderation. Don't overdo cornbread. It could cause you to gain. Limit your servings of grain products. Eat lots of green, red, yellow vegetables. Limit meats and… use only a little dairy. To lose cut your food intake to about half of what you have normally been eating.
\nSeems like it is. I just found out I was gluten sensitive and just bought some KIX. Ive read several posts (potentially DATED posts) that said Kix is NOT gluten free because… it contains whole grain oats... BUT they must have changed the recipe, because I just read the ingredient list and there are NO Oats whatsoever. mostly corn products.
yes. flour, wheat, oats, rye, and barley are the only items you shouldn't eat. Not so sure this answer is true or accurate. chickens are fed on all kinds of mixed seed and c…ereal feed and their eggs contain gluten. So we need a new food descriptor for eggs to say they are guaranteed gluten free.. And preferably rapeseed free as there are some (myself for one) who are allergic to rapeseed oil toxicities.
Whey contains dairy, but not gluten. However,brands of whey powder may come in contact with gluten containingingredients and carry tiny particles of gluten. You should checkwi…th the manufacturer of any product containing whey, to find outif they avoid cross-contamination of gluten in their manufacturingprocess.
Yes if it has not been cotaminated with something like bread crumbs.
The answer is white meat.
Yes because Celiac Disease is only found in wheat (gluten). Corn is a grain that does not have wheat in it.
certain parts of the body react to different things. i cant eat bread because it makes my stomach bloat.
Yes a celiac can eat chicken as long as the sauce that is on top (if any) is gluten free. Some sauces such as terriaki are usually NOT ok. But some are according to the ingred…ients. Wheat, rye, oats, barley and malt are not ok in any food for a celiac. Chicken sold unfrozen may contain Gluten in the preservatives they use. Also, Chicken unfrozen my have chicken broth added and that may contain gluten.
Some good starch substitutes for wheat are quinoa, rice and potatoes. There are several cook books avaialable that have entirely gluten-free recipes, and most groceries have g…luten-free products in their natural foods section.