What would you like to do?

Is there an actual rule in the MLB rule book that states that a tie does in fact go to the runner?

already exists.

Would you like to merge this question into it?

already exists as an alternate of this question.

Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it?

exists and is an alternate of .

The rule is rule 6.05 the subsection is (j). Here is what it says, "After a third strike or after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base" In a tie the runner or the base is not tagged BEFORE the runner touches first so it can be interpreted as a tie goes to the runner. But it really is that the base or runner must be tagged before the runner reaches the base.
Rule 6 applies specifically to the batter. Rule 7 applies to all runners. Rule 7.08 subsection (e) states that:
Any runner is out when He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner.
In this situation, the "tie" goes to the fielder. So putting these two rules together, a tie goes to the batter/runner at first and to the fielder for all other bases. In actual practice, umpires are instructed that there is no such thing as a tie and that they must determine what has happened first.


Well actually according to Tim McClelland, MLB Umpire Crew Chief, a tie does not go to the runner, in the rules it states that a runner must beat the ball to the base so in fact the tie does not go to the runner.
+ 10 others found this useful
Thanks for the feedback!

What are the Masters rules if there is a tie?

The rules call for a Sudden Death Playoff. The tied golfers play the 18th hole and if they are still tied after playing the 18th, they play the 10th hole. If they are still ti

What are the MLB overtime rules?

  If the teams are tied after 9 innings, they have as many innings as they need until the other team scores a run. However, if the visitor team (the team that bats first i

In the Cal Ripken league can a runner jump over the catcher making a play at the plate if not where is it in the rule book?

Absolutely, the runner should be allowed to jump over ANY fielder if he so desires. As long as he is still on the base path and touches the plate without being tagged, he is s

What is the difference between fact and rule?

Fact is the thing ican't change it and explain itself as parent relation such that (Ahmed is parent of Ali). this statement explain itself and never changed. But rule is more

What are the tie game rules in the Super Bowl?

there can not be a tie in a play-off or championship game. They simply go back to the coin toss and start over. I know this. Is it still sudden death or do they play a comple

What is the Texas tie breaker rule for softball?

Texas tiebreaker is when a game goes into overtime due to a tie. It is used instead of International tie breaker based upon the umpire's judgement. Basically, how Texas Tie

In baseball does a tie go to the runner?

Essentially, yes, the tie goes to the runner. However, there is no rule that states that a tie goes to the runner, in those exact words. The portion of the rule in section 6.