What would you like to do?

Is there an actual rule in the MLB rule book that states that a tie does in fact go to the runner?

already exists.

Would you like to merge this question into it?

already exists as an alternate of this question.

Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it?

exists and is an alternate of .

The rule is rule 6.05 the subsection is (j). Here is what it says, "After a third strike or after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base" In a tie the runner or the base is not tagged BEFORE the runner touches first so it can be interpreted as a tie goes to the runner. But it really is that the base or runner must be tagged before the runner reaches the base.
Rule 6 applies specifically to the batter. Rule 7 applies to all runners. Rule 7.08 subsection (e) states that:
Any runner is out when He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner.
In this situation, the "tie" goes to the fielder. So putting these two rules together, a tie goes to the batter/runner at first and to the fielder for all other bases. In actual practice, umpires are instructed that there is no such thing as a tie and that they must determine what has happened first.


Well actually according to Tim McClelland, MLB Umpire Crew Chief, a tie does not go to the runner, in the rules it states that a runner must beat the ball to the base so in fact the tie does not go to the runner.
89 people found this useful
Thanks for the feedback!

What are the MLB overtime rules?

  If the teams are tied after 9 innings, they have as many innings as they need until the other team scores a run. However, if the visitor team (the team that bats first i

Is there an actual rule in MLB that states that the first baseman must contact first base either with his foot or can first base be touched with his hand as well?

There is no such rule. On a force play, which is what a throw to first base to get a runner that hit a ground ball is, the player must have full possession of the ball and tou

In baseball does a tie go to the runner?

Essentially, yes, the tie goes to the runner. However, there is no rule that states that a tie goes to the runner, in those exact words. The portion of the rule in section 6.

Does a tie go to the runner in baseball?

  No - this is a "Sandlot" rule. In pickup games, with no umpire, you just say on a close play, the call goes to the runner. In real life, the umpire has to make the call

What is the Official Baseball rule when there is a tie between the runner and first baseman at first base?

There is no official rule covering a tie between a batter/runner and a thrown ball to first. Baseball rules do not recognize a tie between a base runner and a force out at any