The four types of chromosomal mutations?

already exists.

Would you like to merge this question into it?

already exists as an alternate of this question.

Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it?

exists and is an alternate of .

There are four basic types of point mutations that can occur:

Substitution: This kind of mutation switches with another base to create an irregular sequence.

Insertion: This kind of mutation involves the insertion of an extra base to the sequence.

Deletion: This kind of mutation deletes or loses one of the bases in the sequence.

Frameshifts: This kind of mutation is where a sequence has an insertion or deletion, altering it. Since the sequence is divided into three bases to each section, which are called codons, the insertion or deletion of one of the bases can alter the codons completely, creating a different sequence, known as a frameshift.

Those are the four basic types of point mutations, however there are other known mutations.
+ 44 others found this useful
Thanks for the feedback!
In Biology

What do the four types of chromosomal mutations do?

The four types of chromosomal mutation are deletion, duplication, inversion and trasnlocation. Deletion is the loss of all or part of a chromosome. Duplication is where a segm (MORE)

Four types of alterations of chromosome structure?

  The four types of alterations of chromosome structure are deletion, duplication, inversion, and reciprocal translocation. Deletion is the loss of one or more nucleotides (MORE)

What is a Genetic Mutation?

Genetic mutations are changes in the DNA code of organisms. When mutations occur in the DNA code, the structure and function of cells can change, and lead to negative conseque (MORE)

A Lesson in Genetics: The X Chromosome and Its Function

In your cells, the material that makes up your genetic material is known as a chromosome. Chromosomes are organized DNA structures found in the cell nucleus. The genetic code (MORE)

Genetics 101: The Role of the X Chromosome

The X chromosome is a factor in determining sex in humans. Along with the Y chromosome, the appearance of an X chromosome determines whether babies are born male or female. Th (MORE)

X and Y Chromosomes and Their Genetic Function

Chromosomes are long combinations of genes that contain information about your heredity. They are made up of proteins and DNA that determine everything about you, including th (MORE)

The Screening Guidelines For BRCA Mutations Have Changed

Most breast cancers occur by chance, but some tumors are the result of inherited mutations of the BRCA gene. Guidelines for screening women who may have a BRCA mutation have (MORE)
In Biology

What are the 5 types of chromosome mutations?

1. Duplication - Where a portion of a chromosome is duplicated, resulting in multiple copies of the region. 2. Deletions - When a deletion of a nucleotide (nitrogen bases of (MORE)

What are the four types of mutations?