What would you like to do?
Florida does not have a specific law about when children can be left home alone. Instead, Florida expects parents to evaluate their child's capabilities. The National SAFE KIDS campaign recommends that children not be left alone before the age of 12, however, some children may not be ready until later than that.
25 people found this useful
Was this answer useful?
Thanks for the feedback!
Answer In Canada it's 12 years of age. You would have to ask this question on www.google.com and put the name of your State in. If you can leave… your child home alone at 12 years of age, then it's advisable to have a neighbor check in on them and also leave the neighbors phone number handy for your child. There are rules and regulations about not answering the door to ANYONE and the only person coming through that door is you and your husband or an older sibling (all of you would have keys.)
Answer 12 Answer California as the majority of states does not have established "home alone" laws. As difficult as it may be to understand the g…eneral criteria used when incidents are brought to the attention of investigators is; "Can this child take care of themselves?" and "Was the child left in a dangerous or unsuitable environment?" States that have "home alone" laws have made them so vague and difficult to enforce that the reality is, a child of any age can be left at home for any length of time and it is not against the law unless (until) the child is injured or worse.
the age for an older child to watch younger children in Florida is 13, but that also depends on how mature and respondsible the 13 year old is, generally it is up to the paren…t of the child, if they feel that the child is respondsible enough to leave them at home for the night, as long as they are 13 and older.
Legal Age There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia, Illiniois, …Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages mentioned in their laws. 12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. Below in Related Links is an article entitled Home Alone Children Legal Age Limits which provides a state by state comparison with references. One guideline from a California child welfare representative suggests that 8 year olds and over can be left at home for a brief period of time (usually just after school).
Legal Age "There is no Minnesota law that states at what exact age a child must be before he or she may be left home alone or left under the care of another child…." - Dakota County Attorney's Office There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages mentioned in their laws. 12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. Below in Related Links is an article entitled Home Latchkey Kids Age Limits which provides a state by state comparison with references. One guideline from a California child welfare representative suggests that 8 year olds and over can be left at home for a brief period of time (usually just after school).
I don't see why not because when i was 16 years old my family left me a lone all night and it was not a problem though you may want someone to check up on that 17 year o…ld.
Residents of Indiana who have a child should know the state does not have an age minimum for leaving your child home alone. However, it is important to consider the exact …length of your trip as well as how responsible your child is before deciding whether or not they can handle this responsibility.
There is no law in Florida that dictates how old a child must be to be left in a hotel room alone. The hotel itself may have a policy in place.
There is no legal age when a child can be left home alone and it is down to the parent/guardian/carer to make that decision. However common sense would suggest the …child would have to be of an age where they could look after themselves. It would not be appropriate to leave a young child for long periods of time or during the night. camridge constabulary
There is no legal minimum age in which a child can be left home alone overnight in Missouri. However it is never recommended that a child younger than age 12 be left home alon…e at all.
Alone in the house? 13 years old with another kid(baby brother/sister etc.) 18 Overnight? overnight? probably 18 i have been alone wit…h my bro and he was 10 overnight and i was 8
It doesn't matter what age, you can't leave them alone. Might want to hire at least someone to look after them.
NJ does not specify an age when a child can be left alone overnight. In most states, a child must be at least 12 years of age to be left home alone for any period of time.…
In Child Abuse
16 because you would know the difference between right and wrong
In Child Safety
From the NCCIC: States do not have regulations or laws about when a child is considered old enough to care for him/herself or to care for other children. States may have guide…lines or recommendations. These guidelines are most often distributed through child protective services and are administered at the county level.Contact the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information (NCCAN) at 800-394-3366, and staff there will refer you to your local child protective services agency to learn about age guidelines in your area.