What is the law about children riding in the front passenger seat of a vehicle in New York State?
You must be 100 to 110 pounds. You also have to be from 4 feet 10 to 5 feet 2. If you don't reach any of these requirements before you are 16 you must wait until then.
4 people found this useful
Answer . Found on HometownSource - Ask a Trooper:. There are no height or weight requirements, and it is legal for anyone of any age to sit in the front seat (except an infant in a rear-facing infant seat) in front of an airbag, so yes. However, nationally, we don't recommend that any child unde…r the age of 13 sit in the front seat of any vehicle, even if there is no airbag, but especially if there is one. As for the Mustang, seat belts are not required to be in any motor vehicle manufactured before Jan. 1, 1965, so assuming that your Mustang was manufactured before that date, seat belts would not be required. (He would be legal, but not safe).. Sgt. Curt S. Mowers Public Information Office MN State Patrol (MORE)
Does the 1999 Chevy Lumina have passenger air bags that can be turned off making it safe for children to ride in the front passenger seat?
\nwell I don't think that kids should even ride in the front seat at all
I've been trying to find out the same thing for myself. I found this "Safety Tip" on Brown County's website, but it doesn't actually state whether this is a law or simply a recommendation: http://www.co.brown.wi.us/sheriff/htmls/safetytips7.html With airbags having the expansive force behin…d them that they have, this seems a reasonable precaution. As I understand it, the force of an airbag is enough to kill a small child (or even some very small adults). But what if the car (or truck) is older and doesn't have airbags? And what about those vehicles where the airbags can be turned off? If I can find out more, I'll post here again. Michelle (MORE)
Height is not a factor in when children can ride in the front seat.Age is the determining factor and it varies from 6 and under insome states to age 13 in other states. In Maine it is age 12 andthey must weigh over 100 pounds. Some states have no laws at all onwhen they can ride in the front seat. C…lick the link to check thelaw in your state. (MORE)
In the state of North Carolina can a 4 year old child sit in the front passenger seat if the vehicle does not have an airbag?
In North Carolina, it is technically legal for a 4 year old childto ride in the front passenger seat if there is no air bag, but itisn't recommended. For vehicles with airbags, the law is that achild must be over 5 years old and 40 pounds to ride in the frontpassenger seat.
A.C.A. Â§ 27-37-702. Seat belt use required -- Applicability of subchapter. (a) Each driver and front seat passenger in any motor vehicle operated on a street or highway in this state shall wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat belt properly secured to the vehicle. (b) This subchapt…er shall not apply to the following: (1) Passenger automobiles manufactured before July 1, 1968, and all other motor vehicles manufactured before January 1, 1972; (2) Passengers and drivers with a physical disability that contraindicates the use of a seat belt, and which condition is certified by a physician who states the nature of the disability as well as the reason the use of a seat belt is inappropriate; (3) Children who require protection and are properly restrained under The Child Passenger Protection Act, Â§ 27-34-101 et seq.; and (4) Drivers who are rural letter carriers of the United States Postal Service while performing their duties as rural letter carriers. (c) Except as provided in subdivision (b)(4), each driver or passenger who is seated in a wheelchair in a motor vehicle shall: (1) Wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat belt properly secured to the wheelchair; and (2) Have the wheelchair properly secured in the motor vehicle. HISTORY: Acts 1991, No. 562, Â§Â§ 2, 3; 1997, No. 208, Â§ 34; 2003, No. 764, Â§ 1; 2003, No. 1776, Â§ 1. A.C.A. Â§ 27-34-104. Requirements. (a) Every driver who transports a child under fifteen (15) years of age in a passenger automobile, van, or pickup truck, other than one (1) operated for hire, which is registered in this or any other state, shall provide while the motor vehicle is in motion and operated on a public road, street, or highway of this state for the protection of the child by properly placing, maintaining, and securing the child in a child passenger restraint system properly secured to the vehicle and meeting applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards in effect on January 1, 1995. (b) A child who is less than six (6) years of age and who weighs less than sixty pounds (60 lbs.) shall be restrained in a child passenger safety seat properly secured to the vehicle. (c) If a child is at least six (6) years of age or at least sixty pounds (60 lbs.) in weight, a safety belt properly secured to the vehicle shall be sufficient to meet the requirements of this section. HISTORY: Acts 1983, No. 749, Â§ 2; A.S.A. 1947, Â§ 75-2602; Acts 1995, No. 1274, Â§ 2; 2001, No. 470, Â§ 1; 2003, No. 1776, Â§ 3. . (MORE)
The state of Wisconsin does not have a law that specifies when achild is allowed to ride in the front seat. The state doesrecommend that children ride in the back seat until they're 13.
The child has to be at least 13 years of age and over 80 pounds. (law)
Any child under the age of 13 years old should stay in the backseat of the car. Children from 6 years old until 13 may ride in theback using just a seatbelt.
No special law exists to children riding in the front seat. Texas requires all children under 8 years of age or under 4'9" to ride in child safety seats. Texas law requires front seat occupants drivers and passengers to be in seat belts.
Not prohibited unless not secured in safety seat or with the following conditions. . Texas Occupant Restraint Laws . Relevant statutes: . Child passenger safety seats . Safety belts . Riding in open beds . Vernon's Texas Statutes and Codes Annotated Transportation Code . Chapter 545. …Operation and Movement of Vehicles . Sec. 545.412. Child Passenger Safety Seat Systems; Offense. . Text. (a) A person commits an offense if the person operates a passenger vehicle, transports a child who is younger than five years of age and less than 36 inches in height, and does not keep the child secured during the operation of the vehicle in a child passenger safety seat system according to the instructions of the manufacturer of the safety seat system.. (b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $200.. (c) It is a defense to prosecution under this section that the person was operating the vehicle in an emergency or for a law enforcement purpose.. (d) Use or nonuse of a child passenger safety seat system is not admissible evidence in a civil trial, other than a proceeding under Subtitle A or B, Title 5, Family Code. . (e) This section does not apply to a person:. (1) operating a vehicle transporting passengers for hire including third party transport service providers when transporting clients pursuant to a contract to provide nonemergency Medicaid transportation; or(2) transporting a child in a vehicle in which all seating positions equipped with child passenger safety seat systems or safety belts are occupied.. (f) In this section:. (1) ``Child passenger safety seat system means an infant or child passenger restraint system that meets the federal standards for crash-tested restraint systems as set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.(2) ``Passenger vehicle means a passenger car, light truck, sport utility vehicle, truck, or truck tractor. (3) ``Safety belt means a lap belt and any shoulder straps included as original equipment on or added to a vehicle.(4) ``Secured, in connection with use of a safety belt, means using the lap belt and any shoulder straps according to the instructions of:. (A) the manufacturer of the vehicle, if the safety belt is original equipment; or(B) the manufacturer of the safety belt, if the safety belt has been added to the vehicle.. (g) A judge, acting under Article 45.0511, Criminal Procedure Code, who elects to defer further proceedings and to place a defendant accused of a violation of this section on probation under that article, in lieu of requiring the defendant to complete a driving safety course approved by the Texas Education Agency, shall require the defendant to attend and present proof that the defendant has successfully completed a specialized driving safety course approved by the Texas Education Agency under the Texas Driver and Traffic Safety Education Act (Article 4413(29c), Vernon's Texas Civil Statutes) that includes four hours of instruction that encourages the use of child passenger safety seat systems and the wearing of seat belts and emphasizes:. (1) the effectiveness of child passenger safety seat systems and seat belts in reducing the harm to children being transported in motor vehicles; and(2) the requirements of this section and the penalty for noncompliance.. (h) Notwithstanding Section 542.402(a), a municipality or county, at the end of the municipality's or county's fiscal year, shall send to the comptroller an amount equal to 50 percent of the fines collected by the municipality or the county for violations of this section. The comptroller shall deposit the amount received to the credit of the tertiary care fund for use by trauma centers. . History . Leg.H. Stats. 1995 74th Leg. Sess. Ch. 165, effective September 1, 1995; Stats. 1997 75th Leg. Sess. Ch. 165, effective September 1, 1997; Stats. 2001 77th Leg. Sess. Chs. 618, 910, 1042, effective September 1, 2001. . Annotations . 2001 Notes: (a) The change in law made by Ch. 618 applies only to an offense committed on or after September 1, 2001. For purposes of this section, an offense is committed before September 1, 2001 if any element of the offense occurs before that date.. (b) An offense committed before the effective date of this Act is covered by the law in effect when the offense was committed, and the former law is continued in effect for that purpose. Stats. 2001 77th Leg. Sess. Ch. 618 Â§ 3.. (a) The changes in law made by Ch. 910 apply only to an offense committed on or after September 1, 2001. For the purposes of this section, an offense is committed before September 1, 2001 if any element of the offense occurs before that date.. (b) An offense committed before September 1, 2001 is governed by the law in effect when the offense was committed, and the former law is continued in effect for that purpose. Stats. 2001 77th Leg. Sess. Ch. 910 Â§ 4. Sec. 545.413. Safety Belts; Offense. Text. Sec. 545.4121. DEFENSE; POSSESSION OF CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY SEAT SYSTEM. . (a) This section applies to an offense committed under Section 545.412. . (b) It is a defense to prosecution of an offense to which this section applies that the defendant provides to the court evidence satisfactory to the court that the defendant possesses an appropriate child passenger safety seat system for each child required to be secured in a child passenger safety seat system under Section 545.412(a). . Sec. 545.413. Safety Belts; Offense . . (a) A person commits an offense if the person:. (1) is at least 15 years of age(2) is riding in the front seat of a passenger vehicle while the vehicle is being operated;(3) is occupying a seat that is equipped with a safety belt; and(4) is not secured by a safety belt.. (b) A person commits an offense if the person:. (1) operates a passenger vehicle that is equipped with safety belts; and(2) allows a child who is younger than 17 years of age and who is not required to be secured in a child passenger safety seat system under Section 545.412(a) to ride in the vehicle without requiring the child to be secured by a safety belt, provided the child is occupying a seat that is equipped with a safety belt.. (c) A passenger vehicle or a seat in a passenger vehicle is considered to be equipped with a safety belt if the vehicle is required under Section 547.601 to be equipped with safety belts.. (d) An offense under Subsection (a) is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $25 or more than $50. An offense under Subsection (b) is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $200.. (e) It is a defense to prosecution under this section that:. (1) the person possesses a written statement from a licensed physician stating that for a medical reason the person should not wear a safety belt;(2) the person presents to the court, not later than the 10th day after the date of the offense, a statement from a licensed physician stating that for a medical reason the person should not wear a safety belt;(3) the person is employed by the United States Postal Service and performing a duty for that agency that requires the operator to service postal boxes from a vehicle or that requires frequent entry into and exit from a vehicle;(4) the person is engaged in the actual delivery of newspapers from a vehicle or is performing newspaper delivery duties that require frequent entry into and exit from a vehicle;(5) the person is employed by a public or private utility company and is engaged in the reading of meters or performing a similar duty for that company requiring the operator to frequently enter into and exit from a vehicle; or(6) The person is operating a commercial vehicle registered as a farm vehicle under the provisions of Section 502.163 that does not have a gross weight, registered weight, or gross weight rating of 48,000 pounds or more.. (f) The department shall develop and implement an educational program to encourage the wearing of safety belts and to emphasize:. (1) the effectiveness of safety belts and other restraint devices in reducing the risk of harm to passengers in motor vehicles; and(2) the requirements of this section and the penalty for noncompliance.. (g) Use or nonuse of a safety belt is not admissible evidence in a civil trial, other than a proceeding under Subtitle A or B, Title 5, Family Code. . (h) In this section, "passenger vehicle," "safety belt," and "secured" have the meanings assigned by Section 545.412.. (i) A judge, acting under Article 45.0511, Criminal Procedure Code, who elects to defer further proceedings and to place a defendant accused of a violation of Subsection (b) on probation under that article, in lieu of requiring the defendant to complete a driving safety course approved by the Texas Education Agency, shall require the defendant to attend and present proof that the defendant has successfully completed a specialized driving safety course approved by the Texas Education Agency under the Texas Driver and Traffic Safety Education Act (Article 4413(29c), Vernon's Texas Civil Statutes) that includes four hours of instruction that encourages the use of child passenger safety seat systems and the wearing of seat belts and emphasizes:. (1) the effectiveness of child passenger safety seat systems and seat belts in reducing the harm to children being transported in motor vehicles; and(2) the requirements of this section and the penalty for noncompliance.. (j) Notwithstanding Section 542.402(a), a municipality or county, at the end of the municipality's or county's fiscal year, shall send to the comptroller an amount equal to 50 percent of the fines collected by the municipality or the county for violations of this section. The comptroller shall deposit the amount received to the credit of the tertiary care fund for use by trauma centers.. Leg.H. Stats. 1995 74th Leg. Sess. Ch. 165, effective September 1, 1995; Stats. 1997 75th Leg. Sess. Ch. 165, effective September 1, 1997; Stats. 1999 76th Leg. Sess. Chs. 316, 515, effective September 1, 1999; Stats. 2001 77th Leg. Sess. Chs. 618, 910, 1042, effective September 1, 2001.. Annotations (MORE)
It's not reccomended that children under 12 ride in the front seat, but it's not illegal, as long as they're in the proper child-restraint seat. 0-1, rear facing carseat, 1-3, forward facing carseat, 4-6 booster seat, 7+ seat belt.
I am also researching this question. So far, I can only find information that says there is "no law" mandating this, but "children are always safer in the the back seat," and it is "recommended" that children ride in the back through age 12. If you have a truck, I do think you have to disable the pa…ssenger side airbag if transporting a child in a rear-facing safety seat. If using the airbag with older children, they should sit with the seat as far back as possible b/c a deployed airbag can do serious damage when it hits the face or neck of a shorter passenger. (MORE)
I found a really helpful PDF put out by the Utah Safety council. According to it, there is no law regarding children riding in the front seat of the car: http://www.utahsafetycouncil.org/assets/pdf/utboosterlaw.pdf It is recommended that children under age 12 ride in the back seat, or to turn the… airbags off if a child under 12 is in the front seat, but there is no law saying you have to. (MORE)
Â§ 27360 of California's Vehicle Code requires that children under the age of 8 must remain in the back seat and be restrained with an "appropriate child passenger restraint system." There are some exceptions: for children above a certain weight and height, if the car has no back seat, etc.
What is the law in Illinois about children riding in the front seat of a vehicle particulary in a pickup truck that is not extended cab?
The law states that children under the age of 8 must be secured in an approved child safety seat. 8 years and older just need to be secured with a seat belt. There is no specification as to front or rear row seating.
age im not certain i believe its over 10 but i know they have to be over 4,9 feet
It is 12 years and older. This is because of some hazards with the air bag. If a car crashes the air bag will come out with great force on the chest. This force can injure or kill a child. So that is the answer to your question.
They have to ride in a car seat in the back until they are 49 pounds +
Maryland does not impose any restrictions on children in the front seat, with the exception being rear facing infant seats. However, the best interests of the child may be best suited in a seat which will protect them from the dangers of an adult sized lap and shoulder belt - a belt which goes acros…s an adult's shoulders could be at an angle which would severely injure a child (think decapitation) in a collision. Here's a synopsis of the current MD law: Transportation Article 22-412.2 (Child Restraints) Maryland's current law (effective June 30, 2008) requires that children under eight years old to ride in an appropriate child restraint,* unless the child is 4'9" or taller or weighs more than 65 pounds. (MORE)
They can ride in the front seat at any age, but for safety reasons, it is not recommended that children sit in the front seat until they are around ten years old.
A child must be 11 and above to sit in the front seat. Any child under the weight of 75 lbs should be in the back seat. If you are under the age of eight you should be in the back seat with a booster seat. If your car does not have a back seat, then your child should still sit in the front but still… with a booster seat. You should also get your air-bag de-activated if you need a child to sit in the front that is under the age of 11. However, you should read your car's owner's manual as well. Some vehicles automatically turn off the airbag AND seat belt tensioner if the weight in the seat is under 66 pounds. Therefore, the seat belt would not work in an accident and it would be unsafe to ever have a live person even with booster seat in the front if the total weight is under 66 lbs. This is just one example from our Mazda 3. Your vehicle may have a different weight limit and may or may not shut off the seat belt tensioner if the passenger's weight is under the specified limit. (MORE)
I think its that they have to be over 4'9", and if you're looking for age I would say 10. I'm not positive but I'm pretty sure.
Massachusetts state laws state that any child under the age of 12 must ride in the backseat
You may not ride in the front seat of a car till you are 13 or older and must be over 85 pounds but this does not apply to cars without a back seat.
Every state has different laws and regulations about when a childcan legally sit in the front seat of the car. On average, a childmust be at least 8 years old to sit up front in a vehicle.
England does not have any law relating to the height of passengersin the front seat.
It depends. If you have an airbag, they recomend you do not put them in the front seat until they are atleast 12. The absolute safest place for your child is the middle of the back seat. ------------------------------------------------------------------ do not matter I went in the front when I was …0 (MORE)
Children under 12-years of age must be restrained in the back seat of a car in the State of Texas.
Children under 12-years of age must be restrained in the back seat of a car in the State of Texas.
Occupant restraints law in New York states: Each passenger under age 16 must wear a seat belt or use an appropriate child safety restraint system. The restraint system must comply with the child height and weight recommendations determined by the manufacturer. Depending on the size of the child, t…he restraint system may be a safety seat or a booster seat used in combination with a lap and shoulder belt. Further: For maximum protection, children under the age of 12 should sit in the rear seat of the vehicle. This imply that there is no age-limit regarding children to legally be allowed to sit in the front seat. Age as such does not always apply. Size however (below age of 16) does: A child more than four feet nine inches tall or more than 100 pounds is allowed to use a seat belt that has both a lap belt and a shoulder harness. To use the seat belt, the child must be able to sit straight up against the vehicle's seat back with his or her knees bent comfortably over the edge of the seat. The lap belt should be placed low and tight across the upper thighs; the shoulder belt should rest tightly but comfortably across the child's chest and shoulder (collar bone) without touching the throat. If the seat belt does not fit properly, the child should use a booster seat with a lap and shoulder belt. References: New York State's Seat Belt Law, see below related link. Although the above text have mostly been cut and pasted, this information is not protected by copyright's. The information provided is accurate as of 16'th of April 2010 but may be subject to later changes. (MORE)
New York State notes that although NYS does not have a law preventing children from sitting in the front seat, it is highly recommended that all children age 12 and under ride properly restrained in the back seat. Researchers estimate that just by putting a child in the back seat instead of the fro…nt seat reduces the chance of injury and death by more than 30 percent. NYS also says that infants in rear-facing car seats should never be placed in the front seat of a car with a passenger-side air bag. While air bags provide effective protection for adult passengers, the great forces produced by an inflating air bag can injure or even kill a child. In fact, the safest place for children of all ages to ride is in the rear seat of the vehicle. If there is no other option, children in forward-facing child seats can ride in the front seat, but the passenger seat should be placed as far back from the dashboard (and air bag) as possible. (MORE)
Laws vary by State. In Texas children must be 12 years old to ride in the front seat of a car.
The Colorado Department of Transportation Frequently Asked Questions web page states that "Colorado law stipulates that children under 1 year & under 20 lbs. must ride in the back seat; however, the safest practice is to keep children in the back seat until they turn 13." Being able to sit in the f…ront seat is different from being able to sit there without using a booster seat. The same FAQ page states that "Colorado Law requires children to be in boosters (or other appropriate car seats) until they are 8 years old" Best practice, however, also considers the child's height and weight, among other factors, in determining whether a child needs to use a booster seat. (MORE)
Per the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Maryland has no law expressing a preference for the rear seat. Maryland's laws pertain only to child restraint and adult safety belt usage.
There is no law stating that a child has to ride in the rear seat of a vehicle. For safety reasons, it is better for a child to ride in the rear seat due to the fact of many recorded deaths involving children and airbags.
I am sure that they must be 48" and must be wearing a seat belt at all times. Remember that I said I think this is the answer. Make sure you check before doing this.
Depends really because in an accident the five year old could be crushed. i think its your opinion but i would advise him to sit at the back. You will also need to check with your local police or traffic authorities to learn what legislation affects children travelling in motor vehicles. They will …also be able to advise you on safety issues regarding children's seating while traveling. (MORE)
This question or versions of it, have been asked over-and-over-and-over again DOZENS of times on this site. Without knowing the individual state or country being asked about the only answer that can be given is that this answer varies in ALL jurisdictions. Some go by age - some by height - some by w…eight - and some a combination of several of these factors. The reason for the law is that should there be an accident, a small person could be injured if the airbag is deployed. Safety is dependent on being the right size for the seat belt to act properly, which is around a height of 4'9". Typical 13 year olds are the right size. The back seat is safest for everyone. (MORE)
There are no laws concerning children and front seats. There is a law about children and the use of child safety seats.
I do not know if this is universally true but I just received a fine for $150
children younger than 1 and all children who weigh less than 20 pounds are required to be in a rear-facing infant seat; children 1 through 3 years who weigh at least 20 pounds but less than 40 pounds are required to be in a forward-facing child safety seat; children 4 through 7 who both weigh at lea…st 40 pounds but less than 80 pounds and who are less than 57 inches tall are required to be in a booster seat (MORE)
You have to be 12 or over but you can have a booster seat and sit on that. Added: In many states there is a minimum HEIGHT which must be met also.
What age or weight must a child be to ride in front passenger seat with an air bag in the state of Washington?
8 through 15; 7 years and younger and 4'9" or taller; children who weigh more than 40 pounds in a seating position where there is only a lap belt available 8 through 15;
The Colorado law says that children under 1 year and 20 pounds mustride in the back seat. It is recommended, however, that childrenunder the age of 13 ride in the back seat.
A cracked windshield is a deficiency which you can be cited for in a CMV - in any state. It wouldn't be enough to put you out of service, but, with the 72 hour annual DOT blitz currently under way, and the CSA2010 system in place, being cited for it will add points to one's CSA score, even if only a… warning ticket is issued for it. (MORE)
They can ride in the front seat if their feet touches the floor when they are sitting straight up.
If they are TRULY practicing the Amish religion, they do not need to have child seats installed in horse-drawn carriages.
Anybody can ride in the front seat in New York, but New York government recommends that nobody under 12 sits in the front seat.
it is a height requirement now. pretty much if they can sit in the vehicles seat and touch the floor with their foot flat on the floor they are safe