When a new car is purchased how long is it covered under an existing policy without being added to the policy?
You should read you existing policy. Most allow 30 days.
25 people found this useful
Yes, but in order to avoid coverage issues, you need to consider a few things: 1. If you and your mother live together, it would be best if your mom listed your vehicle on her policy. Otherwise, her carrier will most likely deny coverage because the vehicle is a owned by a resident relative (you). T…he reasoning behind this is that insurance carriers have a right to know about the risks they're insuring, which in this case would be your mom's access to a different vehicle. 2. If you two don't live together, and your mom just borrows your car occasionally, you might run into some problems, but it's not as serious. Still, your own coverage on the car will be primary (insurance almost always follows the car). So, if your mom rear-ends somebody in your car, and you have insurance on the car, your carrier will pay for the damages. Your mom's carrier would only pay if you don't have insurance, and even then, her carrier would probably come after you if you're legally required to carry insurance on the car in your state. So, simply put, have your mom contact her carrier and advise them that she will be driving a car owned by you, either all the time or just occasionally. They can make the adjustments to her policy and she'll be covered. Keep in mind, however, that if you also carry insurance on the car, that insurance will also be primary. (MORE)
When a new car is purchased in Georgia does it need to be insured right away if the purchaser has an existing policy that covers their other vehicles or is there a grace period?
Answer . I can't say specifically for Georgia, but almost any insurance policy will cover a different/additional car for a "reasonable" amount of time. Call your agent and check, preferrably BEFORE you go car shopping..
If an auto policy is canceled due to nonpayment how long you can be without auto insurance without being penalized for being terminated?
In my state Michigan its usually about 6 months, but i would get insured before the experation date on your proofsincase the new isurance agency wants to see proof
Answer . \nCheck your policy for specific coverages. In general, she can drive the vehicle, but is not the primary insured person. This means that she MAY not get 100% of the coverage. Your policy will have the answer. If you can't find it or don't understand the policy call your agent.
If you takeover payments on your daughter's car without changing the title from her name in Arkansas but live in Texas can you get insurance by being added to her policy in Arkansas?
you can not be added to her policy in the state of Arkansas and live another state and have total possession of the vehicle. you would have to find a company who will let you insure your daughters vehicle in your name. Progressive will do so and i am sure others will too. you just have to research i…t. (MORE)
Can you insure a new car that is titled in your name under your girlfriend's policy if you live together?
Answer . \nYou may be able to declare that you are common law married and as long as both of you are listed as named insureds on the policy you can insure vehicles just as if you had said your I do's for real.
Answer . \nThe term "Full Coverage" can mean many different things to different people. Typically though it means that you have Liability Bodily Injury, Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury, Collision, and Other Than Collision coverage. In states where Personal Injury Protection is mandatory then y…ou would have that too. Beyond that I would not assume that a person has any additional coverage under a "Full Coverage" policy. This includes towing, rental car reimbursement, or medical payments coverage. In addition to that there are exclusions involved with all of the above mentioned coverage's. Be very carefull in making assumptions about what full coverage means. (MORE)
Answer . Yes, if she has not been previously excluded in writing. If she is going to be a regular operator of the vehicle then she needs to be listed as an operator on the policy.. Answer . An automobile insurance policy coveres named insured, family and anyone who with PERMISSION drives the …vehicle. (MORE)
How long is a new car covered for automatically without you calling the agent to report the purchase?
Answer . \nProbably anywhere from 0 to 30 days depending on your insurance company. Some of the coverage for the new car may be determined by the coverage on policy for the previous or other current vehicles. You should be able to call the agent and get the answer.
If you are a first time car buyer but are covered under your parents policy for their car will you need to purchase new insurance before you pick up the car?
Answer . every car has to be insured separately, so the new car has to have its own insurance on it.
Answer . \niS IT AN ADDITIONAL VEHICLE OR A REPLACEMENT FOR THE ONE ON THE POLICY. tHIRTY DAYS IS THE NORM, BUT i WOULDN'T FIDDLE AROUND WITH TIME! iT ONLY TAKES A PHONE CALL TO YOUR aGENT. hAPPY dAY!
Can an 18-year-old covered under his parents' insurance policy be sued for an accident if his parents allowed the policy to lapse without his knowledge but he had given them his monthly payment?
Answer . \nYes, the person is an adult and if the accident was his fault is responsible regardless of the status of the insurance coverage.
Answer . \nYou open a phone book and get quotes from different companies and then purchase the one most appealing to you.
\nI would think that you would have called your home insurance claims department 1st thing rather than turning to the computer! Call them!
How do you you secure auto insurance so you can purchase a new car you have only been previously covered on your parent's policy you are 22 years old?
Answer . Get quotes on what the new car will cost first? Once the financing is complete go to that insurance company and purchase the policy
The vehicle owner should have a policy on the vehicle. If you are an occasional permissive driver of their vehicle there would likely be coverage.
yes, it should if they had your permission and your policy doesn't include any 'excluded' drivers or users
If you are driving with only a permit and a licensed driver is in the car next to you but the car is under your parent's insurance policy will an accident be covered by your parents insurance policy?
Yes, unless you are listed as an excluded driver. To be sure in the future have your parents add you to their policy. Provided you are 18 or younger, most companies will not charge you to be on your parents policy with just a permit.
NO... You need to let the car insurance company know that you bought a new car.
I believe it is until 18 years of age, unless the child is a full-time student.
The state of Nevada does not have a grace period or return policyfor vehicle sales. You would have to check with the dealership tosee if they have one. It is important to not sign anything untilyou read the contract and completely understand it.Ã
That depends on the nature of the loss. Contact your Insurance Agent and he will be able to advise you on coverage.
Can i have a car and title under my name and be added to my fiance's insurance policy without the car legally becoming his?
yes, the insurance policy is different from the car title (title is government, insurance is business) in most states, if you live together, you are both required to be insured on the car.
Can your girlfriend be covered under someone else's policy if she has no car insurance on their car?
She would have to put that person's name on the registration. The other person (or girlfriend) would have to pay for the insurance.
When a homeowner dies and the home needs repairs are the contractors covered while working in the unoccupied home under the existing policy?
If the insurance premiums were paid up to date before the homeowner's death, and if the repairs are covered under the policy, then yes, the repairs should be covered by the insurance policy. If there is a dispute as to whether or not the repairs are covered, read the dec page (declarations page) of …the original insurance policy, which will give you more information as to what is covered, and what is not.There are different types of homeowner's insurance, some offering only minimal coverage, while others offer more comprehensive coverage. You need to find out what type of homeowner's policy the owner had purchased. Also, if the house is in probate, or if it has already been probated (gone to the one who inherited it), this may affect the outcome, as well. If it is still in probate, the insurance company may try to use this as a tactic to hold off on payment of repairs. However, they should not be able to do this, even if they try to. (MORE)
Depends on how your policy was set up. Some policies would not cover it because the garaging address for the vehicle is different than what is listed on your policy.
If you have your own auto insurance policy for a different car will you be covered if you drive a car not on your policy?
If the vehicle not listed on the policy is a new car that you have recently purchased, you generally have 30 to notify your insurance company of the change. If the vehicle you are driving is just a friends car then, no. Insurance is primary to the vehicle and it is important that the owner of the ca…r have insurance on it and that any drivers of the car be listed as covered on their policy. There are exceptions to everything and these rules will vary by company. It's best to check directly with your insurance company for questions like this. (MORE)
Unless there is a specified time frame in your families insurance policy there is no specific set time. That said, your families insurer could deny any claim you may have if you are not listed as a driver. Meaning you and your family would be paying out of pocket for any claim/damages you cause.
Well, according to my Civics teacher (since we are talking about the Health Care Bill Reform so much now) it is supposedly 26 years of age.
The lien to your car is in your grandmas name you have your own insurance policy so you added her as an authorized driver so the car is definitely covered correct?
Actually no. The owner of the car (name on the loan and title) is the ONLY person allowed to insure it. You have to have insurable interest to insure it. Here's a simple example: You can't take out an insurance policy on MY car even if I let you drive it every day. Also... just because the insuran…ce company didn't require proof of ownership (which is their fault) doesn't make it right even if you're driving it. She has to insure it in her name as the owner. That's what the bank requires anyway per their contract when they financed the car. They don't know you or care who drives it. They just want their client to insure it under their client's name...not yours (the allowed driver). The best thing to do is have HER get the policy in her name and let YOU be the additional driver. This way you get the benefit of her older status and possibly good credit score. (MORE)
To be straight to the point......No, there are certain conditions which will deny coverage for instance living with a gf and she drives your car regularly and she is not rated under your policy there is a chance your insurance company will deny your claim
How many days will State Farm cover auto insurance if you trade old car under state farm policy to a new car?
Most SF policies will extend coverage on the new car for 14 days. It may vary if a state has prescribed a different time frame. But normally you will get the exact same coverage as you had on the last car on the replacement car for 14 days.
Assuming you stay with the same insurance company, the existing policy will remain in effect. However, you must notify the company of the change in vehicle make, model, year. If there is a difference in premium, your policy amount may be prorated for the month in which you purchased the car, then th…e new policy amount is required. (MORE)
if son is a resident yes - depending on cause of loss if son is non resident - no not covered - he needs his own policy
You can purchase temporary coverage for your vehicle for as long as you need it. There are policies for 1 day to many months depending on your specific needs.
That depends on what your talking about. If your dependents are driving your vehicle then they are required to be scheduled as a driver on your policy before they are considered an insured driver. Failure to schedule known drivers on your insurance policy is well known form of Insurance fraud and… can void any coverage from your policy should they be involved in an accident while driving. Your insurance company can deny liability and refuse payment. Of course if your dependent is your minor child then you as the parent are still liable but you will have to pay out of pocket should this occur. If you mean are they covered for injury while a passenger in your vehicle when you are driving then yes. (MORE)
"Celtic health insurance covers different things depending on where you live, so it depends on the state. The states that have Celtic health insurance are Colorado, Arizona,California,Connecticut,Florida, Georgia,Ohio,Illinois,Maryland,Missouri,New Jersey, Pennsylvania,Texas, and Virginia."
It may and it may not. It depends on the definitions of an "insured" driver under the terms of your insurance policy and the type of insurance policy you bought. Most standard policies will extend coverage to certain drivers you have given permissive use while others such as low cost "Named Drive…r" policies extend coverage to no one other than those named on the policy. Contact your insurance agent if you need assistance with your policy language. (MORE)
no, but if your friend has ins on their car, it will transfer to cover you as long as you're over 25
You need to read your policy for the details of what is covered as there are special limits on many items including, jewelry, art, collectibles, firearm among many other items. I recommend that you go through this part of your policy in DETAIL to see the coverages that are provided, if they do not a…ppear to be enough contact your agent and see if they can sell you additional coverage for those items. (MORE)
As long as the business has the driver listed as a driver/employee of the automobile, they should be covered.
An "Endorsement" is industry speak for a change to a policy. An endorsement can be adding or removing coverage from your policy. It just depends on what is being endorsed.
More than likely they will not pay the claim as you violated the terms of the policy by not making them aware of all drivers and household residents. This is called material misrepresentation of the contract. If you don't pay the premium for your son to be on the policy why should the insurance comp…any be liable for an accident with him driving. (MORE)
Does a household member need to be specifically added to an auto insurance policy in Minnesota even if they do not own any vehicles covered under the policy?
I'm not sure about Minnesota in particular but most policies state that you are required to list all household members and regular drivers on your policy. This means that everyone needs to be listed.
The best way to determine what Blue Cross Anthem does not cover is to contact your local health insurance agent. Much of the insurance industry is in flux right now due to the Affordable Health Care act.
There are three categories covered under a MetLife Critical policy. Category one covers certain cancer related conditions. Under this category there is a full benefit, which is paid if the cancer is invasive and has spread to others parts of the body. The second, which is a partial benefit coverage,… is a localized cancer, which has not spread. The third condition in category one, is bone marrow transplant. Category two covers heart related conditions, including heart attack, stroke, heart transplant, and coronary artery bypass graft. The third covered category called "certain other conditions", includes organ transplants (other than the previously mentioned), and kidney failure. (MORE)
Yes, you can borrow your parents' car without being a named driver on their insurance policy. Depending on the type of policy and its actual rules, you might or might not be covered in case of an accident.
This policy is not possible to be answered. One reason is that policies vary from one state to another. Another reason is that policies from one company to another vary as well. Within one state there may be several different policies available from different companies. ISO produces a standard perso…nal auto policy in each state. Many companies use the standard ISO policy but some do not. (MORE)
What if vehicle owner allows insurance policy to cancel and purchases new policy without lien holder listed?
When you purchase a vehicle and fiancÃ© it you sign a contract stating that you will carry certain insurance coverages and provide the finance company with the proper notification of such coverage. If you let your policy cancel you have violated the contract. If you do not list them as lienholder …on your insurance policy you have also violated the contract. If you do not fix this situation when you finance company send you letters about this they have the right to repossess your vehicle and screw your credit up for life. You have obligations and the finance company has obligations under these contracts. If you have period of time when you cannot prove you have insurance then they will put forced place coverage on your vehicle to protect themselves and will charge the premiums to your account. (MORE)
Is my little brother who is covered under my policy still covered by my policy while driving someone else's car?
If you are asking about the automobile insurance policy, it dependson the specific policy. Most policies include protection whendriving another vehicle as long as it is with permission of theowner.