What would you like to do?
When does child support end in California?
In California the child support obligation continues past 18 years of age, as long as the child is unmarried, is a full-time high school student and is not self-supporting. In this case, the child support obligation will end when the child reaches 19 years of age or graduates high school, whichever of these occurs first.
8 people found this useful
Was this answer useful?
Thanks for the feedback!
Age 18 or high school, unless they enter secondary school within six months of graduating, and carry 5 credit hours, than age 23. I'm in KCMO. See Links Below
Child support must be paid until the child becomes 18, unless the child has not graduated from high school, in which case the child support continues until the child has gradu…ated high school or becomes 19, which ever occurs first. Presently, the law doe s not give judges the power to make a parent support a child beyond the age of 19, unless the child is physically or mentally disabled. However, the parents can agree that child support is to continue into the college years, and such an agreement will be enforced by the Family Law Court.Why is it then, that I keep hearing that if your adult-child starts college, your child support obligation could continue? Which, if true, is outrageous. It's child support, not adult support !
You have to file to terminate it No, it doesn't; you have to file to terminate it. In my case, my son turned 18 while he was still in high school. The court order… stated that support was to continue until he turned 18, or left high school, which ever was later. Even after graduation, child support payments continued until I filed proof with the court that he had graduated.
Generally, the obligation ends when the child reaches 18 years of age unless the child is still in high school - in which case the support ends upon the child's graduati…on from high school, or the child's 19th birthday, whichever occurs first. Generally, the obligation ends when the child reaches 18 years of age unless the child is still in high school - in which case the support ends upon the child's graduation from high school, or the child's 19th birthday, whichever occurs first.
I wouldn't think so, if your child is under 18. No, the matter of a minor having a child of their own does not release the non custodial parent from his or her financial oblig…ations.
No. If a child is disabled prior to the age of majority, most states have different child support guidelines. Check your state laws. In many cases it can actually continue pas…t the age of majority.
Child Support The age at which child support is ended is determined by the terms of the support order and nothing else. The order wil…l either state "at the age of legal majority" or a specific age. It will also include the terms applicable to health insurance, education, and so forth. In some states it is necessary for the parent paying the support to have the order officially rescinded when the child reaches the designated age. Here is other input: * At the age of 18 or until they graduate from college. My uncle had to pay child support for his daughter and then at age 18 she wanted to go to college. He had to contiune with his child support payments until she finished college. She is almost a dr now. * Usually at age 18, unless you're agreement provide support if the child is a full time college student.
Age 18, upon graduation from HS, or once emancipated. Which ever is the latter.
When the court says you can. You have a right to file a motion to stop when the child turns age 18, unless the child is handicap. see links below ---------------------------…----------------------------------------------------------------- Under California law, a parent's obligation to pay child support continues until, · the child becomes 18 years old, or · the child has not graduated from high school, in which case the child support continues until the child has graduated high school or becomes 19, which ever occurs first, or · the child is physically or mentally disabled, or · the parents of the child have agreed that child support is to continue into the college years and such an agreement can be enforced by the Family Law Court, or · the child has demonstrated freedom from parental control or support, and an ability to be self-supporting, a child that is on active military duty, or a child that becomes lawfully adopted by another party, or · if there were arrears owed on child support, a court order may enforce collection of the arrears until the debt is paid in full, including any interest that may have accumulated, even after the child becomes 18 years old
Child support ends when the child reaches the age of majority (18). See Louisiana Revised Statute 9:315.22 A. When there is a child support award in a specific amount per c…hild, the award for each child shall terminate automatically without any action by the obligor upon each child's attaining the age of majority, or upon emancipation relieving the child of the disabilities attached to minority. B. When there is a child support award in globo for two or more children, the award shall terminate automatically and without any action by the obligor when the youngest child for whose benefit the award was made attains the age of majority or is emancipated relieving the child of the disabilities attached to minority. C. An award of child support continues with respect to any unmarried child who attains the age of majority, or to a child who is emancipated relieving the child of the disabilities attached to minority, as long as the child is a full-time student in good standing in a secondary school or its equivalent, has not attained the age of nineteen, and is dependent upon either parent. Either the primary domiciliary parent or the major or emancipated child is the proper party to enforce an award of child support pursuant to this Subsection. D. An award of child support continues with respect to any child who has a developmental disability, as defined in R.S. 28:451.2, until he attains the age of twenty-two, as long as the child is a full-time student in a secondary school. The primary domiciliary parent or legal guardian is the proper party to enforce an award of child support pursuant to this Subsection.
To age 18 or high school, provided the child is not disable. see links below
18 Clarification: Child support laws vary from one state to another, and from one situation to another. For example, in some states child support is only required until the ch…ild reaches 18, but may go longer if the child is in school. There's not a single, definitive answer that applies to each state.
There are no published averages for child support in California, and it would be difficult to obtain such information. Child support in California can vary greatly and is ent…irely dependent on income levels of both parents. The minimum is $100 per month, but can reach very high numbers. For example, a parent earning $20,000 per month could end up paying $5000 or more per month in child support.
To get a child support release in California, you have to contact the child support agency and fill out a form. You will need to do this to start the process to petition t…he court for the release.
18 or 19 if still in high school (except disabled children), death of child, adoption of child, emancipation of child.