Which languages use the Cyrillic alphabet?

already exists.

Would you like to merge this question into it?

already exists as an alternate of this question.

Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it?

exists and is an alternate of .

The Cyrillic alphabet is used for many languages of Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union, including Russian, Ukrainian, Belorussian (Belarusian), Serbian, Macedonian and Bulgarian, as well as Mongolian. During the Soviet period, most of the Soviet republics used the Cyrillic alphabet for their national languages; since the breakup of the Soviet Union, some of those languages have switched to the Latin alphabet (Azerbaijani, Moldovan, Turkmen and Uzbek), while others have stayed with the Cyrillic alphabet (Kazakh, Kyrgyz and Tajik). Many of the minority languages in Russia are also written in the Cyrillic alphabet.
2 people found this useful

What is the Cyrillic alphabet?

It is the alphabet used in Russia and other countries. It is based upon but not identical to the Greek alphabet. See link for more.

Which languages use the Latin alphabet?

There are over 6000 Languages in the world, and the majority of them use the Latin-based alphabet. Here is a partial list: . Afrikaans . Albanian . Aragonese . Asturian .

What two languages that use the Latin alphabet?

Many languages use the Latin Alphabet. Here is a partial list: Afrikaans Albanian Basque Catalan Croatian Czech Danish Dutch English Esperanto Estonian Finnish French Frisian
In Poland

Was cyrillic alphabet used in Poland?

Generally - no. Poland is in the Latin cultural sphere, but inRussian partition (1795-1918) cyryllic was compulsory.