Why do you have to be a certain age to sit in the front seat?

already exists.

Would you like to merge this question into it?

already exists as an alternate of this question.

Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it?

exists and is an alternate of .

They're making an assumption, that a child of a certain age will be at or above a certain height and strength. You do not want a deployed airbag to hit them at the wrong place and cause damage. And, studies have shown that there is a better chance of surviving a passenger-side impact when you have a higher muscle-mass.
15 people found this useful
Ω

In the UK at what age can a child sit in the front seat of a car?

Any age, provided the child is using the correct restraint. . However, in the UK the combination of a front airbag and a rear-facing child safety seat is illegal. . If you are putting a baby in the front seat with a rear-facing safety seat, any front airbag in that seat must be deactivated.. see http://www.childcarseats.org.uk/law/fromseptember06.htm

What is the average age to sit in the front seat in the car?

In April 2008, Governor Deval Patrick (Massachusetts) signed Senate Bill 2018, dubbed the Booster Seat Bill, into law. This law went into effect on July 10, 2008. This enhancement of the Massachusetts Child Passenger Safety Law requires that all children riding in passenger motor vehicles must be in a federally approved child passenger restraint that is properly fastened and secured until they are 8 years old or over 57" tall. Added: This law is not uniform in all states , and in some it is the age, or weight, or height of the child that determines the answer. Check your own states DMV, or local law enforcement agency.

In NJ at what age can a child sit in the front seat of a car?

Apparently, the legal requirement is over 80 pounds/age 8. However, kids should sit in the rear seat with a seat belt on until they are at least 13 years old. Some experts say older, but no younger than 13 in the front seat. Keep in mind what is the minimal "legal" requirement is not necessarily the best safety practice. The 80 pounds/age 8 restriction is for a child seat/booster requirement. A lot of cars with passenger side airbags are not going to be safe unless minimal height requirements are also met. Maybe someone can weigh in on what these would be, but personally, I still drive with my 12-year old in the backseat. Please refer to the related link for more information

In Florida what age can a child sit in the front seat of a car?

On this website: http://www.floridadrivers.com/traffic_safety/frequently_asked_questions.php it says that children ages 10 and up can sit in the front seat in Florida. However, most car manuals strongly recommend age 12 due to the airbag. People under a certain height can be seriously injured by the airbag.

Age to sit in front seat of car?

Every state has different laws about this concept. On average, achild must be at least 7 years old and over 40 pounds to sit in thefront seat of a vehicle.

What age do you have to be to sit in the front seat of a car in OR?

you have to be at least 10 years to sit in front of a car Actually I have read that you have to be 12 years of age to sit in the front seat of a car due to the airbag. Well, I actually don't live in OR so the person who said 10 may be correct, 12 is just the age in my state.

What age in Maryland when can child sit in front passenger seat?

Taken from the Maryland.gov site : "Maryland's child passenger safety laws do not prohibit children from riding in the front seat. The exception is placing a rear-facing child in the front seat with an active air bag. If a driver is unable to turn off an air bag, it is a violation of law (as well as a terrible danger to the baby!) to place a rear-facing child in the front seat."

What is the legal age a child can sit in the front seat of a vehicle in California?

at least 7yrs old or 60pounds or more. at least 7yrs old or 60pounds or more. at least 7yrs old or 60pounds or more. at least 7yrs old or 60pounds or more. at least 7yrs old or 60pounds or more. at least 7yrs old or 60pounds or more. at least 7yrs old or 60pounds or more. at least 7yrs old or 60pounds or more. at least 7yrs old or 60pounds or more. at least 7yrs old or 60pounds or more. at least 7yrs old or 60pounds or more. at least 7yrs old or 60pounds or more. at least 7yrs old or 60pounds or more

What age is it leagal for a child to sit in front seat of the car in California?

A child under the age of six weighing less than 60 pounds may ride in the front seat of a vehicle when: . There is no rear seat or the rear seats are either side-facing jump seats or rear-facing seats. . The child passenger restraint system cannot be installed properly in the rear seat. . All rear seats are already occupied by children under the age of 12 years. . A medical reason requires the child to ride in the front seat. . A child may not ride in the front seat of an airbag-equipped vehicle if the child: . Is under one year of age. . Weighs less than 20 pounds. . Is riding in a rear-facing child passenger restraint system.

At what age can a child sit in front seat in Alberta?

Kids 12 and under should always be in the backseat. Most cars have front seat air bags, and these canhurt small children if the bags inflate during a crash or suddenstop. The safest place in the car for children is always in theback seat...Transport Canada

What age can a child sit in the front passenger seat of a car?

Laws change form place to place but the average age is 12-13 years. It is not so much a factor of the weight of the child. DiamalerChrysler like any other car company, states that the children under12 years old need to stay in the back seat with a seat belt and orproper child restraints. The airbag deployment on a child can causedeath or injury. Children age thirteen and older should be safe tosit in the front seat of a vehicle equipped with airbags. If yourchild is over the age of thirteen and you are worried that theymight not be the correct weight to keep them safe in case of avehicle accident, or any other questions with your vehicle's safetyequipment, call your local car dealership.

Age limit to sit in front seat?

It depends on what state you are in. In Washington state, you cannot sit in the front seat until you are 13 years old (RCW 46.61.687(c))

What age can a child sit in the front seat in UK?

As of 2006, it is now illegal for any child under the age of 12, or less than 135cm tall, to travel in a car without a booster seat. Since the new laws came into force, Police have been carrying out spot checks on children in cars and if they are not securely fitted following the legal guidelines, the driver can be given an on the spot fixed penalty fine of £30 with a maximum fine of £500. Where do they carry out these checks? Outside schools. The morning and afternoon school runs are perhaps unsurprisingly the peak times for injury to children in cars. Often parents are parked illegally for a start so the element of rush and 'just get in, will you' creeps in. For more details of the new laws regarding child car seats, please check out the article about New Car Seat Laws for 2006 on our sister site

What age can a child sit in the front passenger seat of a vehicle?

This question or versions of it, have been asked over-and-over-and-over again DOZENS of times on this site. Without knowing the individual state or country being asked about the only answer that can be given is that this answer varies in ALL jurisdictions. Some go by age - some by height - some by weight - and some a combination of several of these factors. The reason for the law is that should there be an accident, a small person could be injured if the airbag is deployed. Safety is dependent on being the right size for the seat belt to act properly, which is around a height of 4'9". Typical 13 year olds are the right size. The back seat is safest for everyone.

What age is legal for a child to sit in front seat of car in Maryland?

In many states children are allowed to sit in the front seat when they weigh 88 pounds (if i am correct). Personally, your kid might be over 88 pounds but is extremely short and the seat belt might not fit correctly on his shoulder. It would be best not to compromise his/her safety by putting them in the front seat.... Anyways, if your not worried about the states law and you feel your child will be safe, go head and let them enjoy the comforts of being in the front seat.

What age should a kid be to sit in front seat in ny?

In New York, US, it is illegal for a child to not be in the backseat in a child restraint until they are 8 years old. In other words, in New York, by law, children udner the age ofeight must be in the back with child restraints. Under the age of eight, they are under 57 inches tall. Which willmean that they will slip right through ordinary American seatbeltsif the driver slams on the brakes.

At what age are you allowed to sit in the front seat of a vehicle in Illinois?

There is no law in Illinois regarding an age limit for front seatpassengers. However, the Illinois Department of Transportation andChild Safety Agencies recommend the following: . All children under the age of 13 should ride in the backseat of the vehicle. If you must put a child under the age of 13years in the front seat, be sure the seat is all the way back andthe airbag is shut off. The biggest (usually the oldest) childshould always be the first choice when having to position a childin the front.