Best Answer

As Pluto, a dwarf planet, is no longer counted as a planet, there are now only 8 known planets in our solar system.

It remains to be seen if the discovery of extra-solar planets affects how we classify objects within our solar system. Several hundred likely planets have been detected orbiting other stars, with the possibility that there are other solar systems like our own. By late 2011, a total of 599 exoplanets had been identified and another 1235 were pending corroboration.

Status of Pluto

Pluto is a dwarf planet in the solar system and the prototype of a yet-to-be-named family of Trans-Neptunian objects. From its discovery in 1930 until 2006, it was considered the ninth and smallest of the planets of the Solar System, both by the International Astronomical Union (IAU) and the general public. After much debate, the IAU decided on August 24, 2006 to reclassify Pluto as a dwarf planet, requiring that a planet must "clear the neighborhood around its orbit." Further observations may also affect the definition of Charon as a moon of Pluto, possibly the classification of the two as a binary planet.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2011-09-06 00:29:00
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


20 cards

How long does it take for the solar system to make one orbit around the Milky Way galactic center

What layer of the sun moves heat from the radiative layer to the photosphere

Which of these determines the intensity of a volcano

During earthquakes which type of fault results when one plate is compressed up onto another plate

See all cards
44 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Are there now eight planets instead of nine due to Pluto being stripped of its planetary status?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Are there 8 plants or 10?

There are eight planets in the solar system. For a brief period, the newly-discovered object, Eris was considered for planetary status, but the discovery led to a debate that ended with Pluto losing its status as a planet.

Who changed the planetary status of Pluto?

Pluto is the second most massive dwarf planet. Initially it was considered 9th planet of our solar system but a debate raged for 75 years over its legitimacy as a planet. Discovery of Eris a much bigger body urged International Astronomical Union to describe in 2006 what a planet is. According to the definition Pluto was stripped of its planetary status.

What things come in groups of nine?

-- a cat has 9 lives -- "a stitch in time saves 9" -- 9 planets in our solar system (Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto) except that poor Pluto has now been stripped off its planetary status! ALSO: "Eight tiny reindeer & Rudolph" = 9 reindeer for Santa's Sleigh!

What is mercury's size compared to other planets?

Mercury has a diameter of 4,879km and a mass of 0.330x1024kg. This is 1/18 the mass and 1/3 the diameter of Earth. Compared to other planets in our solar system, Mercury is the smallest - at least now that Pluto has been demoted from planetary status.

Who found out that Pluto was no a planet?

It was not "found out" but a decision that was made by a panel of planetary experts to define what is a planet and what is not which "degraded" Pluto from planet status of "dwarf planet" on August 24, 2006.There are at least 44 dwarf planets known.

Why people no longer regard Pluto as a planet?

Technically, the planetary status of pluto is no longer a planet, but the term "planet" is simply a name. Scientists have decided that Pluto is no longer a planet mainly because it is just too small. Larger planetary objects have been discovered, and those are not considered planets, so just to keep things simple, Pluto is not considered a planet but as a large planetary object.

Which are not a planets in our solar system?

Here is a list of planets in our solar system, in orbital order:MercuryVenusEarthMarsCeresJupiterSaturnUranusNeptunePlutoCharonHaumeaMakemakeErisOrcusQuaoar2007 OR10SednaSome say that Vesta should be listed after Ceres. However, Vesta has certain features that limit it to planetesimal status, instead of Dwarf Planet.

Is Venus an inner planet or outer planet?

Venus is one of the "Inner" planets, along with Mercury, Earth and Mars. The "Outer" planets are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto (which has recently been stripped of it's true "planet" status!) Inner planets are also known as "Terrestrial Planets" because they have a rocky surface. The difference between inner and outer planets is there location within or beyond the asteroid belt. Of course, inner planets are within the belt, while the outer ones are beyond the belt.

Why is there 8 planets?

In 2006 the international astronomical union changed the definition of what a planet was. This meant that Pluto no longer met the definition of what a classic planet was and it was demoted to a dwarf planet status instead.

What is the organization that decides the status of planets?

International Astronomical Union (IAU

Are there 11 planets in solar system?

No. Officially there are eight planets in the solar system. In 2006 the International Astronomical Union convened do come up with a definition of a planet. The first definition they developed would have brought the total number of planets to 11; Pluto would remain a planet and Ceres and Eris would receive planetary status. This definition was discarded in favor of a stricter one which demoted Pluto from planet to dwarf planet.

Is Moon coldest planet in the universe?

Moon is not a planet - It is a satellite. Several planets in our solar system have moons (one or more) that happen to have names. Our moon doesn't have one. The coldest planet in our solar system used to be Pluto until it was demoted from the planetary status. Now it is Uranus.

People also asked