Time Zones

Arkansas has belonged at different times to what three countries?


User Avatar
Wiki User

The area that includes modern Arkansas was settled by the French in 1682.

On November 16, 1762, France ceded the land to Spain.

On October 1, 1800, Spain gave the territory back to France.

On April 30, 1803, France sold the territory to the United States.

The land including modern Arkansas remained unorganized until 1805. It was organized as the Louisiana Territory in July 1805, then as the Missouri Territory in June 1812, and finally the Arkansaw Territory in March 1819. At some point during the early 1820s, the name was changed from Arkansaw to Arkansas. The borders of the Arkansas Territory changed in July 1821, in November 1824 and in May 1828, when it took on its present borders. The territory became a state of the United States on June 15, 1836.

On May 6, 1861, Arkansas seceded from the United States, and on May 18, 1861, it was admitted as a state of the Confederate States of America. The CSA dissolved after losing the Civil War to the USA in 1865, and on June 22, 1868, Arkansas was readmitted as a state of the United States of America.