Yes, although most lenders won't do this. If you are buying a car and financing it through a bank such as Bank of America (or any other prime-rate lender), the bank isn't going to keep a key to your vehicle.
Usually when a bank or finance company wants to keep a key to a vehicle, it's because it's a high risk loan usually done through a buy here pay here lot, or a vehicle that has a loan on it through a title loan company. Anytime any bank asks for a key to your vehicle, there's usually some type of agreement that you sign giving them permission to enter your vehicle if they have to. Usually they keep a key because they know the chances of them having to come and get the car are pretty substantial.
Something else that some buy here pay here lots and secondary finance companies do is to "black box" the car. They install an ignition cut off that has to be reset with a pre-programmed code every payment cycle. If the code is not put in the box usually after the grace period of about five to ten days, the ignition is disabled and the car won't start.
The Utah vehicle exemption is $2,500.
There is no prohibition on dating.
I believe if you haven't paid in three months they can repossess your vehicle in Utah. *The state does not require a Right To Cure notice be sent to the borrower. The lender may recover the vehicle whenever the contract is in default. UCC laws apply, and the vehicle can be recovered by any means that does not constitute a breach of peace. The plates remain with the borrower/debtor.
You can legally move out of your parents' home when you are no longer a minor. In Utah, that is 18.
In Utah I think the law says 50 feet.
The Utah stores are allowed to sell liquor. However, they are not allowed to promote the sale of liquor or sell to minors.
The legal age in Utah is 18 so before that you will need parental consent.
In Utah, a car can legally carry as many passengers as there are factory-installed seatbelts.
You have to be 16 years old
A 16 year old girl in Utah can move out of her home legally when she receives the proper paperwork. She must apply and be approved for emancipation documents.
Yes. Same-sex married couples may now adopt children in Utah, pursuant to a decision of the Utah State Supreme Court dated October 23, 2014.Yes. Sexual orientation does not prevent single-parent adoption in Utah, but cohabitation outside of a legal relationship is a bar to adoption. Following the legalization of same-sex marriage in Utah, same-sex married couples should legally be allowed to adopt children.
As far as states go I know in Utah it is the vehicle not the driver that is insured.
In Utah, the motorcycle license plate placement law is characterized by making sure the plate is horizontally positioned to the vehicle. It also must be securely placed onto the vehicle.
Yes. If you had worked in Utah and qualified for your unemployment there, you can move to another state and collect unemployment benefits from Utah as long as you complied with Utah's requirements. It is an interstate agreement that is allowed.
Yes, for example my daughter and I bought and registered a vehicle in Oklahoma even though we are residents of Utah.
No. Like MOST states in the US, Utah does not require a license to own a firearm. They do require a license to CARRY a concealed firearm.
No, biking on any interstate is not allowed (At least in Utah.)
In Utah, there is a a 30 day used car warranty. This means a person can return a vehicle if it is deemed to be defective.
Keep a WORKING copy of the keys, get and VERIFY the debtors info.
Ask questions, submit answers, leave comments
Earn points for using the site
Customize your profile
Already have an account? Log in