answersLogoWhite

0

  • Judaism
  • Tanakh and Talmud
  • Kosher Food

At what point did the kosher food requirement begin in Judaism?

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2013-09-15 09:23:28

Best Answer
Copy

The earliest written text concerning kosher food and food preparation appears in The Bible, specifically the book of Leviticus (ch.11), which lays out all the religious laws.

It started when the mandate of the Torah was given to Israel. According to tradition, the Torah was given in 1312 BCE.

Answer 2- Rather than edit the above, I would like to give a second perspective. Leviticus has some of the kosher laws, but not all of them. It lists the foods that God named as ritually permitted, and the foods that aren't.

The rest of the kosher laws are in the Oral Torah. They reiterate the laws of the Torah but add further details as per rabbinic tradition. For example, according to the literal verse of the bible, we are not to cook a kid (baby lamb or goat) in its mother's milk. Kosher law (which is recorded in the Talmud and other rabbinic writings) adds that a Jew cannot mix meat and dairy at all. This is why an Orthodox Jew will have two separate sets of utensils.

AnswerAccording to Judaism, kashrut became a part of Judaism the moment the Torah was received. This is why during the holiday of Shavuot the tradition is to eat dairy only; because right after the Torah was received, the cooking utensils of the Israelites could not be used because they weren't yet kashered, so no meat was eaten until this situation was resolved. Of course, the laws of kashrut have evolved over the last 3500 years so they are more detailed today than they were as listed in the Torah.
2013-09-15 09:23:28
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Related Questions

Why is Muhammad the father of judaism?

Muhammad plays no role in Judaism. At the point he lived, Judaism had existed for almost 2000 years.


When should you cook with kosher salt and when should you use iodized salt?

Most salt is kosher by default unless additives such as flavourings are added, at that point the salt would have to be certified kosher. 'Kosher salt' refers to a large grain salt that is used during the process of kashering meat. Iodized salt is kosher.


At which point in the action does this story begin?

(Apex) The middle.


What is the weight requirement to get into west point?

185


Are kosher and non kosher foods eaten on Shabbat?

Religiously observant Jews will never eat non-kosher foods, regardless of which day of the week it is. Less observant Jews will make a point to eat kosher food during Shabbat. Non-observant Jews usually don't pay any attention to whether or not the food they are eating is kosher.


Is this Judaism monotheistic or polytheistic?

Monotheism is one of the most fundamental principles that define this Judaism, to the point that this Judaism is considered possibly to be the ancient source of the very concept of monotheism.


Does kosher meat contain antibiotics?

Unless you wish to purchase "organic" antibiotic free kosher meat, it's pretty much as sure thing that the kosher meat and poultry you purchase comes from an animal that had been dosed with antibiotics at some point in its life.


Why is spaghetti not kosher for Passover?

Spaghetti is not kosher for Passover because it is made by mixing wheat flour with liquids at which point it is dried without cooking. Wheat is one of the forbidden grains for Passover.


The point underground where rocks first begin to move?

The point where rocks first begin to move is the Epicenter


What is two wholes in decimal form?

It is 2: and there is no requirement to have a decimal point.


How would you put your beliefs into practice if you were a Jew?

It is a fundamental point of judaism that you have to act. Jews follow the commandments in the bible, and later additions added on by the talmudic rabbis. There are many rules about every aspect of life, but a few of the more notable ones are: -Keeping kosher -keeping the sabbath -donating to charity


What is a point to point connection?

depending on requirement either a permanent or disconnectable connection is selected when connectin optical waveguides


What is kosher chicken?

For a chicken to be considered kosher, it must be slaughtered by a shochet, a ritual slaughterer. The point of a kosher slaughter is to cause the animal as little trauma as possible. So the chicken has to be cut across the neck in the right spot with an extremely sharp knife. If this process is carried out successfully, the meat of the chicken needs to have its blood drawn out by means of salt. This chicken would be kosher.


What is the meaning of poo in judaism religion?

No meaning. The only point is not to pray in its presence.


Did Islam come before Judaism and Christianity?

From a Muslim point of view, yes, because Islam began with the creation of Adam. From a secular point of view, Islam was founded in 622 CE, after both Judaism and Christianity, so no.


At which point in the sequence of events does The War of the Worlds begin?

(Apex) The end, recounting events that happened in the past.


The common starting point among Judaism Islam and Christianity is?

The belief in one God


When was the height of the presence of Jews in Asia?

The highest point presence of Judaism in Asia is current.


What is a location on the globe that is 0 degrees latitude?

Every point on the equator meets that requirement.


What is the sum between 124 and 127 In decimal form?

It is 251 and there is no requirement for a decimal point.


In which region of the Earth's interior does the heat increase to the point that rocks can begin to melt?

In which region of the Earth's interior does the heat increase to the point that rocks can begin to melt?


At what point does the vehicle begin to move when you slowly release your foot from the clutch?

At the friction point


What is kosher wine?

Kosher wine means that the equipment that the wine was made on is kosher. It also probably means that it was handled by Jews. (Because at one point, when most gentiles served idols, there was a suspicion that it was poured in front of their idols as a offering, and Jews would not be allowed to drink it. Although that aspect isn't much of a problem today, especially since many kosher wines are now cooked, and therefor there is no concern that it was an offering, we are still careful.)


How can you tell that a solution of water and kosher salt reaches a saturation point?

When it is impossible to dissolve any salt further at a given temperature.


How can you tell that a soution of water and kosher salt reatches a saturation point?

The solubility of water at 20 0C is 360,9 g/L.