answersLogoWhite
Baseball
Softball
Baseball Rules and Regulations

Bases loaded 1 out ball hit to SS runner scores SS tags man going to 3rd throws to 2nd for the force and last out does the run count?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2011-05-04 21:39:52
2011-05-04 21:39:52

The run does not count. This is a force out, not a "time" play. The tag by SS on runner going to 3rd is still a force. Regardless, the throw to 2nd is force out for the 3rd out. No run can score on a play in which the 3rd out is a force out. The time when the runner touches home is irrelevant. If the 3rd out was a "tag" play (not a force), then the run would count since the runner touched home before the 3rd out.

Related Questions

User Avatar

bases loaded means that there is a runner on 1st base, a runner on 2nd base, and a runner on 3rd base, all of the bases.

User Avatar

If bases are loaded and it is ball four, yes. Otherwise, no Rule 10.04(a) explains part of this answer.

User Avatar

No the run does not count. An out at any base would be a force out and no runs can score, If the runner scored and the third out is made because a runner is called out on an appeal play such as failure to retouch on a fly ball out or a runner missing a base the run would count

User Avatar

By tagging a trailing runner, the force has been removed, so there is no force at home.

User Avatar

Yes, a batter gets a RBI through a Hit-by-pitch, walk, or hit if a runner scores on the play due to their plate appearance


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.