Children and the Law
Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
Age of Consent & Underage Relationships

Can a 14-year-old girl get emancipated if she is being mentally abused and neither of her parents have a stable house for her to live in?

567

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2005-10-15 02:06:43
2005-10-15 02:06:43

In states that offer emancipation for minors the minimum age is sixteen. If your situation is one of abuse and/or neglect you should contact the state social services for assistance. Or if you prefer you can call any of the following organizations for help, National Child Abuse Hotline 1-800-392-3738, Youth Crisis and Runaway Hotline 1-800-448-4463, Youth Emergency Services Hotline 1-800-899-5437. You might also like to visit http://www.teenlineonline.org, an organization of teens helping teens with mutual problems. If you believe you are in physical danger contact your local police or 911 immediately!

1
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Related Questions

User Avatar

In the state of Florida a minor must be at least 16 in order to be emancipated. Even once they meet the age requirement, a minor who has been determined to be mentally unstable is not going to be able to get emancipated.

User Avatar

Unless you're mentally disabled somehow, you shouldn't need to be "emancipated", since you're no longer a minor (in most states, anyway).

User Avatar

NO, you petition the court to be emancipated against your parents will. You will however have to show that you are Mentally, Physically and Financially able to cope with life just as you would be required to as an adult.

User Avatar

Do you have to be emancipated to move out from your parents at the age 16 in alberta?

User Avatar

Yes. You have to have parental consent to be legally emancipated, unless you are being mentally/emotionally abused, physically abused, or their living arrangements are unstable.

User Avatar

No. An emancipated minor is required to support themselves through gainful employment and not by their parents or public assistance.

User Avatar

No and neither are the mothers who also have to support them. You don't have to be emancipated to get a job. In some cases if the father can not pay, the mother can petition the court for his parents to pay in his place until he is 18.

User Avatar

Emancipated minors are minors who have been legally released from the control of their parents.

User Avatar

If your parents give you permission or if you are emancipated. If you are not emancipated, your parents will have to sign any legal documents, such as a lease, for you.

User Avatar

I'm 16 and emancipated. I'm married. But here's the catch you DO need parents consent.

User Avatar

No. Emancipated children have no legal ties to their parents.

User Avatar

You don't have to do anything. You were emancipated when your reached the age of majroity in your state or country.

User Avatar

No, not in any state are you emancipated because you are pregnant or had a baby.

User Avatar

No. A divorce is the dissolution of a marriage.

User Avatar

you can get emancipated then move out but that requires having a good case to get emancipated

User Avatar

In the state of Kansas a person who is 16 years old can be emancipated with permission from their parents. The only exception to this is if the parents are ruled incompetent or are physically abusive.

User Avatar

When you are 18 and emancipated.

User Avatar

usually yes, as long as the 18 year old is mentally compentant. even if they aren't, they could be wards of the state.

User Avatar

Emancipation is done by petitioning a court. Parental permission is not necessary.

User Avatar

You don't get emancipated just because you are pregnant. You are the guardian of your child but your parents are the guardians of you.

User Avatar

No. The requirements for being getting emancipated is that the teen can handle these things themselves.

User Avatar

You have to get emancipated, but you might want to think hard before doing so. In order to get emancipated your parents have to sign off giving you permission. You have to get emancipated, but you might want to think hard before doing so. In order to get emancipated your parents have to sign off giving you permission.


Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.