I am the mother of a 17 year-old daughter wanting to move out on her own in September. If she posted this question, Jen, know that I love you, and I don't want to see you in a financial/emotional struggle so early in life. While I believe the laws say that a 17 year old in Texas who has not been in trouble with the law CAN move out on their own, and may not have the truancy laws apply to them - the "freedom" picture in their head is not truly what it appears. Consider getting an apartment. Say you have a bud that has the same thing in mind, and you're going to share rent/food/elec/water, etc. Fine. First realize it may be difficult - if not impossible - to find an apartment complex that will rent to minors. If you do find one that's decent, a security deposit (first and last month's rent) will be required. To get electric hooked up, expect to spend about $150 in a deposit - and there may be similar deposits required for water. So, walking into that apartment (if you want lights and water) may cost around $1500. There will probably be a lease required - like 6 months to a year. If you break that lease, expect to have your credit record ruined, and possibly be taken to court. Consider that most partnerships start out great - but each person has their expectations of the other. What if your new roommate eats your food, leaves the lights on all the time, brings loud friends over when you want peace and quiet. What if your new roomie doesn't mind trashing the place out, and if you want it nice, you have to clean up? What happens when your new roomie decided that going out and having a good time was more important than saving up their portion of the rent/elec/water? What happens when YOU want to bring a friend over to hang out, but when you get home, roomie already has three friends over, and the place is a mess? I've said that one twice, because having a few years under my belt, about 90% of the situations I've seen, this is one of the biggest complaints. You think living under a parent's roof is hard because you've lose your "freedom" to make your own decisions? Because you don't get to do all the things YOU want to do when you want to? Because it's boring? Because it's a drag? Well, you're probably in for a painful lesson: getting out on your own is a bigger drag. It might seem fun in your head, but landlords and electric companies couldn't care less what it takes for you to pay bills, and they will kick you out and turn your lights off - without hesitation, without feeling, without remorese. You're a figure on their accounts ledger - period. And the chances of you finishing high school? Not so good. You'll be far too busy working to pay for the freedom you wanted so bad. School may become your second priority, and then your third, fourth, until it's just too big of a drag... you may find that you've sabotaged your future for a little "freedom" right now.
In the state of Texas you can leave home at the age of 17. (without parental consent; meaning with their permission)
In Texas without parental consent, they many not marry. They will have to wait until they turn 18.
Certain minors can get a vaccination without parental consent in Texas per a law passed in 2013. Only minors who are pregnant, or are a parent with custody of a child, can receive a vaccination without parental consent.
No, the legal age to get a tattoo is 18 in any state, with or without parental consent.
You need to have parental consent.
No. The only way to get married without parental consent is by being emancipated and going to school does not do that.
A minor cannot move out without parental consent or a court order. They have to wait until they become an adult.
No. Pregnant or not, you have to have parental consent if you are under the age of 18.
No, they cannot move without permission in Texas. Either the parents have to consent or there is a court order.
yes, a 16-year-old with parental consent can drop out of high school in texas. 18-year-olds can drop out without parental consent.
Without parental consent you have to be 18.
Like all states, you must be 18 to get married without parental consent.
18 without parental consent, 16 with parental consent - any younger than 16 and you have to get a court order.
The legal age for minors to get married WITH PARENTAL CONSENT varies by state but you can not get married without parental consent in ANY STATE
In all states, parental consent is required before a minor can enlist in the military. How does a parent revoke his/her consent?
Without parental consent you may marry at 18.
16 with parental consent 18 without
No. As long as you are under 18 you are a minor in Texas.
You must wait until you are 18 before you can get married without consent. Otherwise both people must be at least 16 and have parental consent.