answersLogoWhite
Basketball
Basketball Rules and Regulations

Can a basketball player pass to himself?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2015-07-14 16:04:09
2015-07-14 16:04:09

I dont think that you can pass to yourself unless you bounce it off someone else. If you pass to yourself it might be considered traveling.

the only way you can is to bounce it off the backboard or another player

A player may throw the ball off the backboard and catch it. However, the player must receive the pass while in the air and shoot or pass before he comes down. Otherwise, the call is traveling

Related Questions

User Avatar

You pass the ball to a player and then that player scores.

User Avatar

Assists in basketball are made when one player makes a pass that results in another player scoring a basket. A player can get an assist for a pass even if the ball is dribbled after the pass but before the score. Deciding an assist is a bit of an judgment call.

User Avatar

If a pass is "intercepted" than that means that a defending player got in the way of the ball and eirther took control of the ball himself or deflected it to someone on his team.

User Avatar

The purpose of a pass in basketball is to advance the ball, or move the ball to an open player. It is also used to confuse the defense, or get out of a double team.

User Avatar

A bounce pass in basketball is a way of getting the ball to another player without passing it directly to them through the air. Rather, the ball is bounced off the floor to the other player.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.