answersLogoWhite

0

  • Baseball
  • Baseball Rules and Regulations
  • Count Basie

Can a batter be substituted in the middle of a count?

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2014-03-13 20:38:34

Best Answer
Copy

Yes he can. He is credited with an AB (at bat), rather than on OAB (Official at bat), for statistical purposes, since he did not begin the at bat with a 0/0 count.

count.

Clarification:

I just wanted to add on the answer above:

1. If a player comes in to pinch hit with any two-strike count and strikes out, this is the only scenario in which the original batter is charged with the strikeout and the AB, the pinch hitter is charged with neither an AB or the K

2014-03-13 20:38:34
This answer is:
๐Ÿค“
๐Ÿคฏ
๐Ÿค”
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Related Questions

Can an uninjured pitcher be substituted in the middle of a count?

Yes, pitchers and hitters can be substituted at any time. Hitters can be substituted at any time, but unless he is injured, a pitcher must pitch to at least one batter before he can be taken out. A pitcher can be removed in the middle of an at-bat, however, if he had pitched to at least one hitter previously.


Can a major league batter be changed in the middle of an at-bat?

yes, the new batter assume the count of the batter he is replacing.


When a fast-pitch softball batter has an 0-2 count and another batter is substituted in and strikes out who is charged with the at bat and the strike out?

In this instance the original batter would be charged with the Strikeout --- this is the only instance in which the original batter is charged with the AB and the result of the at bat --- if there is any other count or any other outcome then the pinch hitter is credited with everything


Batter has 2 strikes and 1 ball if he gets injured does the pinch batter take the same count or start over?

The pinch batter assumes the count that the original batter had.


What is the baseball rule when a batter is injured on a strike one foul ball and cannot continue his turn at bat?

A sub is put in for the injured player...the at bat is continued by the sub and begins his at bat with a one strike count......Anytime during an "AT BAT" the batter can be substituted for but the sub comes to bat with whatever the ball/strike count was of the player he replaced.


Can a batter be substituted at any time?

it depends on the association (NSA, ASA, ISF...)


What is a 3 2 count in baseball?

A 3-2 count is also known as a full count. 3=the number of balls the batter has. 2= the number of strikes the batter has.


Can you switch pitchers in the middle of the count?

Yes. However, rules state a pitcher must pitch one complete at bat before being taken out of the game (unless the pitcher gets injured and cannot continue). So, as long as the batter being pitched to is not the first batter the pitcher is facing, the pitcher may be removed in the middle of the count.


If the umpire's count on the batter is 2-1 how many strikes are on the batter?

There is one strike on the batter if the count is 2-1 That is something that shouldn't really be asked online that is obvious


Can a batter be taken out of the game while batting?

Yes, batters can be ejected while they are batting, usually by arguing about the strike the zone with the umpire. This usually only happens after the batter has struck out, rather then in the middle of the count, but if the batter argues too much, the umpire can toss him at any time.


Does a walk count as a RBI?

Yes, if a batter is walked with the bases loaded the batter is credited with an RBI.


In major league baseball if a batter has a 1-1 count and the pitcher is removed which pitcher is responsible for the batter if he gets on base?

The pitcher who pitched the 1-1 count is responsible for the batter if he gets on base.


Does batter at bat count if walked on wild pitch and runner on third gets third out trying to steal home?

Anytime a batter is walked it does not count as an at bat


Can you pinch hit for a batter after he is pitched too?

Yes you can pinch hit for a batter once he is pitched to, but of course the new batter starts his at bat with the count of the batter previous.


Does a batter get a new count if there is a pitching change?

No, the new pitcher inherits the existing count.


Is there ever a time when pitch count for a batter is reset in MLB?

When a baserunner makes the last out of an inning, the batter at the plate gets a fresh count to lead off the next inning.


What is a pitchers count?

A pitchers count is when the pitcher is leading the count and not the batter he is facing. (ex. If the count is 1-2 it would be a pitchers count because there are more strikes then balls.)


What is the rule in baseball if you skip a batter?

If the wrong batter completes the at bat, then the skipped batter is recorded as an out. If it is noticed prior to the completion of the at bat the skipped batter assumes the count of the at bat and completes with no additional penalties.


Two outs men on 1st and second batter hits double both runs score batter misses first base on appeal the batter is out do the runs count?

no


Batter has a count of 2 and 1 and foul tips the ball what is the count now?

Two balls and two strikes


A batter has a count of three balls and two strikes what is the call?

It's called a full count according to my grandpa.


Runner on third two outs batter is out at first on an infield ground ball does the run count?

no the run does not count


What is a hitters count?

A "hitter's count" is a baseball term that means the batter has more balls than strikes in the current at bat. A count of 2 balls and 0 strikes or 3 balls and 1 strike or 3 balls and 0 strikes would be considered a "hitter's count" and a count of 2 balls and 1 strike could also be considered a "hitter's count" because if the pitcher throws a ball on the next pitch the count goes to 3 balls and 1 strike and then one more ball allows the batter to reach first base on a base on balls. So the pitcher must throw a ball over the plate and should he make just the slightest of errors allowing the ball to cross, say, the middle of the plate at belt height, the batter may be able to hit it hard somewhere to get a base hit and start a rally or knock in a run or two should there be runners on base. When the count is 3 balls and 1 strike, for example, the batter does not have to swing at a pitch that he doesn't think he can hit hard because, if the pitch is called a strike, the batter still 'alive' and able to do damage on the next pitch. When the count favors the batter, the batter can be more selective in what pitch they decide to swing at. Just like there is a "hitter's count", there is a "pitcher's count". This would be when there are more strikes than balls (0 balls and 1 strike, 0 balls and 2 strikes, 1 ball and 2 strikes). This count allows the pitcher to not have to throw a strike on the next pitch since a ball will not put the batter on base or change the count to a "hitter's count". The pitcher may try to throw something like a curve ball that starts out over the plate and then curves off the plate in the hopes that the batter will be fooled and swing at the pitch, a pitch that the batter will not be able to hit hard even should he make contact. When the count is 1 ball and 2 strikes, for example, the pitcher does not have to throw a pitch that is a strike because, if the pitch is called a ball, the pitcher can throw a strike that is not over the middle of the plate on the next pitch to get the batter out. When the count favors the pitcher, the pitcher can be more selective in what pitch they throw and the location of that pitch.


How many pitches were called balls if a batter had a full count?

Three


What are 3 balls and two strikes on the batter?

it is called a "full" count.