Can a fair ball hit in foul territory and be fair?

One Answer:


This is coming from an umpire if the ball lands foul and rolls fair without anything touching it.
 

Another Answer:


Between home and first or home and third: it depends on where the ball comes to rest, passes first or third, or is first touched. Regardless of the route of the ball:

1) if the ball comes to rest in fair territory, it is fair; if it comes to rest in foul territory, it is foul.

2) if the ball passes first or third in fair territory, it is fair; if it passes first or third in foul territory, it is foul.

3) if the ball is first touched by a player in fair territory, it is fair; if it is first touched by a player in foul territory, or it first touches an object that is considered out of play, it is foul.

Beyond first and third base:

1) if the ball first lands in fair territory, it is fair (the foul line and foul pole are in fair territory).

2) if the ball first lands in foul territory, it is foul.

3) if the ball leaves the playing field in fair territory, it is a fair ball (home run, ground rule double, etc.).