answersLogoWhite
Ask
Baseball
Softball
Baseball Rules and Regulations

Can a manager substitute a pitcher after he has thrown a pitch to a batter?

464748
Answer

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2015-07-14 16:09:21
2015-07-14 16:09:21

Yes, if the batter was retired with that 1 pitch or got on base or was hit by the pitch. In other words if that batter is no longer up or if this was not the 1st batter the pitcher has faced and the pitcher threw a strike or a ball then the manager could take him out or if the pitcher suffered an injury with that one pitch. If the pitcher comes into a game and throws only one pitch and the batter is still up and there is no injury to the pitcher, then the pitcher must pitch to the batter till he is retired or reaches base on a hit, walk, error, fielders choice, etc.

1
0

Related Questions

User Avatar

It depends on what the count on the batter is when he is thrown out. If there are 2 strikes on the batter and his substitute gets struck out, the at-bat is contributed to the first batter. Otherwise, all stats will be awarded to the substitute batter.

User Avatar

The batter is the player who has a bat in his hands and tries to hit the ball thrown by the pitcher.

User Avatar

If you mean pitcher, then the batter walks to first base.

User Avatar

It is used by the batter to hit the baseball, which is being thrown by the opposing teams pitcher.

User Avatar

Until the 1887 MLB season, a batter could call for a pitch to be thrown high or low.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.