Quantcast
answersLogoWhite
notificationBell

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2009-07-30 18:49:32

Yes. Once the pitched ball is batted, a pitcher becomes a fielder. If he makes an attempt to field a ball and rightfully should be able to score a putout but fails, he can be charged a fielding error. One example would be a bunted ball where the pitchers moves to pick it up with his glove, but instead hits it away from himself, allowing the batter-runner to safely reach first base. The pitcher made an attempt to field the ball and should have had the batter out, but he failed.

001
๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฟ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

Is a wild pitch an error?

No, a wild pitch is a wild pitch -- it is considered a mistake charged to the pitcher. An "error" in baseball is a fielding mistake. A pitcher can make an "error" but only on a batted or thrown ball.


If the pitcher threw the ball in the dirt before it reaches the catcher glove is this an error on the pitcher?

No, this would not be an error it would be ruled a wild pitch or passed ball, neither of which are charged with errors


Why is a pitcher not charged with an earned run if he commits an error?

A run can never be counted as earned if scored due to an error by ANY player. (But, I do see your point)


Is a past ball an error?

Yes, if the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher has a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a passed ball and the error is charged to the catcher. If the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher does NOT have a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a wild pitch and the error is charged to the pitcher. Actually, a passed ball is NOT charged as an error against the catcher. It's simply charged as a passed ball. Not terribly logical, I agree, but that's the rule.



Who is charged with the batter when a new pitcher enters the game to face that batter with a count of 2-0 already on the batter from the first pitcher?

If a relief pitcher enters the game with a 2 ball 0 strikes on the batter and the batter receives a base on balls it is charged to the preceding pitcher. Any other action such as a base hit, fielder's choice, reaching base on an error, etc., is charged to the relief pitcher. (Rule 10.18 (g)).


If a relief pitcher comes in with the bases loaded and gets a force out at second does the runner that is now on first get charged to the previous pitcher since his runner was forced out by choice?

No. Any base runner that gets on base and scores is charged to the pitcher that pitched to him, regardless whether the batter reached base by a force out, error, catcher's interference,etc.


How many errors were committed if there is a runner on 2nd base when the batter bunts to the pitcher but the throw deflects off the 1st base glove allowing the runner to score from 3rd?

The official scorer would have to determine if the throw was catchable. If the throw was, then the error would be on the first baseman and he would be charged as such. If on the other hand the throw was a bad one and the first baseman had to reach and could not catch the ball, then the error is on the pitcher. Only one error would be charged even though the base runner advanced two base and scored.


Can an error be charged on a successful fielders choice?

No. No error can ever be given when there is an out made on the play.


If a pitching change is made during an at-bat and the batter gets on base and later scores which pitcher is charged with the earned run?

If the batter got on base with the original pitcher and he scores of the new pitcher, the previous pitcher is charged with the earned run.


Ground ball to pitcher- pitcher drops ball and batter beats throw does pitcher gets an error or the batter get a hit?

It depends on how bad the pitcher boots the ball. An error is recorded when an out is not made within reasonable effort or talent.


Can pitcher make a error in baseball?

Yes. Any defensive player can make an error.


What does e1 mean in baseball?

Error made by a pitcher


Has a pitcher ever charged the mound?

The pitcher is on the mound so he can't charge it. The batter charges it from the plate.


How do you score an infield error in baseball?

In the scorebook, the notation is 'E' followed by the number of the fielder who made the error (1-pitcher, 2-catcher, 3-first baseman, 4-second baseman, 5-third baseman, 6 shortstop). The batter is charged with an at bat unless the error came on a play where the batter was attempting a sacrifice bunt.


Is a pitcher penalized an error for a wp?

No, they are two separate statistics.



When a runner steals home does it count against ERA?

Probably. only earned runs count against an ERA so it depends if it was the pitchers fault that the runner got on. If he got on because of a walk, hit, or HBP then yes it counts. If he got on cause of an error then no. Yes it would. Unless of course, the previous criteria are met. Also, it wouldn't be charged to the current pitcher if the pitcher that allowed him to get on base was taken from the game. The pitcher that left would be responsible for the runner if he got on without an error.


Why would an error by third baseman in eighth inning cause the pitcher to be removed from the game?

The pitcher might of had something to do with the 3rd baseman making an error, or the umpire might of just thought it was the pithcers fault.


Is a passed ball that allows a runner at third base to score considered an error?

It is an error, charged to the catcher as a passed ball, however, it does not show up in the stats as an error.


When a player gets on base due to a fielders error is the batter charged for time at bat?

Yes, the batter would have been out if it were not for the error.


How do you decide if pitchers get the win or loss or no decision?

If pitchers' team is ahead when he leaves the game (all runners left on base that score, are charged to the pitcher that left them on base), he gets the win. The pitcher must pitch at least 5 innings in a game over 6 innings to get the win. If it is a tie game and the relieving pitcher's team wins, relieving pitcher gets the win. Otherwise he is charged with the loss. If the relieving pitcher's team is winning when he enters as a pitcher and then loses the game, the relieving pitcher is charged with a loss. If the relieving pitcher's team is winning when he enters the game as a pitcher and wins, the relieving pitcher is given a Save.


How many ways can a player reach base in baseball?

A player can reach 1st Base on a Hit, a Walk, or an Error. [A Balk is an Error on the Pitcher, and a Passed Ball is an Error by the Catcher.]


If batter hits high bouncer to pitcher with runners on third and second and the pitcher holds runner on third then throws to first and the batter is safe is this a hit or error by pitcher?

Most likely it is neither a hit nor an error. In most cases this would be scored a "Fielder's Choice". It could be a hit if, in the scorers judgement, the batter would have beat the throw to first had the pitcher not hesitated to hold the runner. It would not be an error unless the pitcher bobbled or misplayed the ball. To clarify, a "Fielder's Choice" can be recorded even if an out is not registered.


Is it an error if a player double pumps a throw to 1st?

an error is only charged if the runner reaches base because of the mistake when they should have been out.


Still have questions?

Trending Questions
Do potatoes have genders? Asked By Wiki User
Why is Vanna White so skinny? Asked By Wiki User
How many 20 go into 200? Asked By Wiki User
What times what equals 6? Asked By Wiki User
Previously Viewed
Unanswered Questions
Does arsenio hall have ms? Asked By Wiki User