Baseball
Baseball History
Baseball Rules and Regulations

Can a pitcher be moved to another position and then be brought back to pitch again in Major League Baseball?

User Avatar
Wiki User
2007-03-18 17:09:08

Yes, a pitcher can be moved to another position temporarily and

then moved back to pitcher. Managers often made use of this

strategy during the 1980's, moving a pitcher to a corner outfield

position for one batter and then moving him back. As managers

started carrying more and more relief pitchers on their rosters the

need for this sort of maneuver lessened.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.