Can felony drug charges be taken off a record in Mississippi?
Felony charges cannot be dropped off of your record. * Charges yes, convictions no.
If you're convicted of a felony, it will remain on your record for life. Added: Quoted from the NH expungement law: "A person convicted of a violent crime, of any crime of obstruction of justice, or of any offense for which the petitioner was sentenced to an extended term of imprisonment is not eligible for annulment."
seems like after 7 years i think they expunge your record of minor crimes. also, you can pay to have this taken off your record i believe. Corrections: North Carolina only does expungements for the following cases: If you where found NOT GUILTY. If you where under the age of 18, and it was a drug offence. Now North Carolina says that if you where found to not have moral turpitude due to your felony…
Can you be charged with a felony if your spouse is falsely accused of battering you and then you side with her defender?
Not knowing which state the incident occurred in, a specific answer is not possible. Some potential charges could be, obstruction of justice charges to be filed or making a false police report. What would determine the type of charges and penalties that might be sought, is the action that was taken regarding the incident. For example, were any verbal or written statements made where the accuser was under oath?
I received a felony in Wisconsin this week how soon can you try to have it taken off your record and how do you go about it i live in minnesota also what are the consequences of what you can and can?
The only thing that will remove a felony arrest and/or conviction from your record is to have your record expunged. You must submit a petition/motion to the court system in which you were convicted, stating your reason(s) and giving good reason(s) why the record should be expunged. If you were convicted and are currently serving the sentence you cannot do this until after your sentence is completed. Expungement will only remove the record of your…
How much jail time can you get for assault with a weapon n resisting arrest in the state of Georgia which the state has taken over the case since victim would not press charges?
The entire premise of your question is faulty to begin with. Victims cannot decide whether to 'press charges' or not. Only the state has the ability to press charges, especially in a case such as you describe which involves a felony assault. Therefore: it is the state which chooses whether or not to prosecuite you and the victim has no say in the matter.
Permanently. The exceptions are a pardon or expungement granted by the governor of the state in which the person received the felony conviction or the President if it is a federal conviction. Such acts are taken in relation to wrongful conviction. For example, the person being cleared in a retrial or by evidence such as DNA being presented that proves the person inoccent of the crime for which he or she was convicted.
Is it possible for a father that has a history of abuse and a felony on his record to gain any type of custody?
Is it possible to get an armed robbery taken off of your record in Mississippi I was 16 when this took place over 10 years ago close to graduating from college and im trying to get it taken care of?
Write to the clerk of the court in Mississippi where you were convicted and specifically ask: 1. Am I eligible to have my conviction sealed or expunged? Include a case number if you have it, or your date of conviction. 2. If it is eligible to be sealed or expunged, ask for instructions on how to proceed.
Bob is charged with a felony and Sally is charged with a misdemeanor. Who likely will receive the harsher sentence and why?
Normally the felony would get a harsher sentence but there are a lot of other factors that can be taken into consideration. Since you are not being specific, I can't address your case but some of those factors could be that Sally has a long record and Bob does not or someone was hurt by Sally but no personal injury was involved with Bob's case.
(in the US) The exact wording of the applicable charges might change somewhat from jurisdiction to jurisdiction due to the varying language of the laws, but the following is a typical example: The misdemeanor offense would be Trespassing - the felony charges would be Unlawful Entry if the home was not secured, and if the person(s) broke into the home it would be Burglary or Attempted Burglary REGARDLESS of whether anything was taken, or not.
It depends. Are you referring to convictions or warrants? ANY 'active' warrants [for both misdemeanors and felonies] will show up on a thorough background check. However, ALL warrants are also subject to the issuing state's STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS. [F.Y.I.; charges and/or warrants for crimes such as murder, and some crimes involving children, do NOT have a statute of limitations.] In most states, the statute of limitations for a misdemeanor charge and/or warrant is ONE year…
A felony can be removed by a process called expungement. Typically prosecutors wait at least five years and want to see the defendant is not a risk to re-offend. Proscutors only grant expungements in exceptional cases. The expungement process will take six to nine months, at least. Google search "expungement Florida criminal code" for more answers.
How long do you have to file domestic violence charges in Oklahoma if you have witnesses and photographs of the incident?
You should file those charges immediately. If you wait, the court will wonder why you waited if the situation was serious enough to file charges. You will not be taken seriously if you continue to live with or spend time with the abuser before filing charges. You should have filed a police report immediately and the police would have taken photos. It is puzzling that you would want to wait to press charges. The longer…
What happens to a runaway child that is being housed by a older friends. IF you get caught is it like a felony for the friend and can the teens mother press charges on the older friend 18 or older?
== == if your caught at your adult friends house or in his car then he will be considered by police as aiding a runaway and yes you parents are aloud to press criminal charges against him and he will be charged as an adult if he is 18 or older, you will be taken to a juvenile corrections center by the police and your parents will have to decide to leave you in there…