Can you buy a fully automatic weapon in Colorado?

Yes. Fully automatic firearms (machine guns) are permitted under Colorado law. They are stringently regulated under Federal law in the 1934 National Firearms Act. Transfer of ownership is taxed ($200) by the Federal BATFE, and registration is required. Due to changes in Federal law, only those machineguns ALREADY registered by May 1986 can be transferred to a private citizen, and prices have increased astronomically- a transferrable M16 rifle is about $12,000-$14,000, plus taxes and fees. Transfer must be handled by a Class III dealer in Colorado- not all guns dealers hold a Class III designation.