answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The legal age of majority in Michigan is 18. People often are confused about what constitutes legal age status and believe that some states such as Michigan allow a 17-year old to arbitrarily leave parental custody, not true. The Michigan statute that states a "child" is a person under the age of 17 is referring to the Runaway and Homeless Children's Act, not to the state's legal age of majority. It is also the designation used for issuing an AMBER ALERT for a missing minor under the age of 17-years.

___I would like to add to this.... i have read the Michigan Legislature, and it states, in every place that it mentions a "child" or a "minor" that this refers to those UNDER the age of 17. You may like to play responsible parent here, but honestly, some kids out here need the truth because their home life is not so good, and your giving them the impression they are stuck there for a whole year. A 17 year old can "runaway" and tell their parents where they are going, and they technically did not runaway. They can stay with a friend or family member and that friend or family member will not get in trouble for aiding and abetting because that is only charged when the person is aiding a "minor" and a minor according to MCL, is BELOW the age of 17. and to add to all that, once the 17 year old is out, if they can prove their responsibility and that they have finacially supported themselves on their own, the court can emancipate them. Please, look this up, and get your facts straitened out. Thank you!

In Michigan, you are legally an adult at 18. Though you are not a full-blown adult, a 17 year old is not considered a minor or a child either. 17 seems to be an in between age. You can leave your home without your parents permission. Though for some teens, this is not a very smart move because you may not be ready to live on your own and take of yourself. Then again in some cases such as my own, I have been in and out of homes, and I can finally not worry about that any more. If you are in legal troubles though, moving out at 17 is not the smartest move to make. You may also want to make sure that you have told your parents where you are going, so you are not technically a "runaway"... but the juvenile courts only deal with people below 17, and you arent charged as an adult. In this case, police will not assist you back home because even if the 17 year old leaves home again, they are left with nothing to do. I know there are many parents on here that will tell you that you cannot leave, but they are wrong. Legally, you are not an adult, but you arent a minor, and cant be charged with running away, and the person you live with cannot be charged with aiding and abeting because that is only for those who are under that age of 17!!! have fun, and dont make a stupid choice with this power that you have.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-03-24 20:35:39
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you move out at age 17 in Michigan?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Are you allowed to move out of your mother's house when you turn 17 in Michigan or is it illegal?

can you move out at age 17 in michigan?


Can you move out at 17 while on probation in Michigan?

No, age 17 is not the age of adulthood. In Michigan, until you are 18, you are still the responsibility of the parents. It is likely a condition of probation.


When is the legal age to move out in Michigan?

At the age of 17 a child can move out of their parents home in Michigan. There is nothing the police can do to help you as a parent to bring your child home.


Move out at 17 in Michigan?

The age of majority in Michigan is 18. Until then you have to reside where your parents say.


What legal age can a child move out without parental consent in Michigan?

The legal age for a child to move out without parental consent in Michigan is 18. You can move out earlier if you are legally emancipated. At the age of 17, in Michigan, a person can be prosecuted as an adult in a court of law.


Can a 17-year-old move out of their house in the state of Michigan without parental consent?

its is at the age of 17 and 11 months that you can move out but your parents have to support you until the age of 18


In Michigan can you move out of your parents house and into your grandparents house at the age of 17?

only if you are naked


Can you move out your parents house when im 17 and if you live in the state of Michigan?

You are not an adult in Michigan at age 17. Until you reach 18, you live where your parents allow you to live.


Can you move out in Michigan at age 17?

If your parents give permission. Otherwise you have to wait until you are 18. That would be 18 years old in Michigan.


Can you move out at 17 in Detroit?

The age at which an individual can move out from their parents house is known as the "age of emancipation." In the United States, it varies from state to state. In Detroit, Michigan, the age of emancipation is 18. No, an individual cannot legally move away from their parents at the age of 17 in Detroit if their parents do not wish them to.


Can a 17 year old move out in michigan without parents permission?

Not until they are 18 years of age in Michigan. Until then the parents determine where you live.


Can i move out of your parents house in Michigan when im 17?

No, you cannot move out without your parents' permission. The key here is the age of majority (adulthood) in Michigan, which is 18. If they are an adult, the parents are no longer responsible.


What age can a minor move out in Michigan?

A minor cannot move out in Michigan. They can only move out when they reach 18.


May a female leave home at 17 in Michigan with out parental consent?

In many states, she wouldn't be legally allowed to do this. In Michigan however, a 17 year old can legally move out of their parents house at the age of 17 without their consent.


What is the legal moving age in Michigan?

At age 21. that would be the most mature age and legal age to move in Michigan.


Michigan's Official Adult Age?

Hi, I live in Michigan and the legal adult age is 17.


How old do you have to be to move out with parents permission in Michigan?

With your parents' permission you can move out at any age. That does not relieve your parents of their responsibility for you. You need to be 17 and 6 months to move out.


Can a 17 year old move into her 29 year old boyfriends house without getting him into trouble in the state of Michigan?

Yes, the legal age of consent in Michigan is 16.


When can yu move out at the age of 17 in the state of michigan?

In Michigan, a 17 year old is not considered a minor because it states that a minor is someone age 16 or under. I moved out a while ago using this and CPS agreed that they couldn't do anything about it. You're free to move out if you feel like it, just be prepared for it. Get a good job to help you pay for yourself.


What legal age do you have to be to move out in Michigan?

In Michigan you can move out only if you have permission from your parents. Otherwise, you will have to wait until you are 18.


Is 17 legal age of consent Michigan?

No, that is not the age of consent in Michigan. Michigan has set the age at 16. As long as both parties are over the age of 16 it is legal to consent to sexual contact.


Can a 17-year-old legally move out of their parents' house without being emancipated in Michigan?

Legally, no, a 17-year-old is not considered of legal age in the State of Michigan until they are 18. Michigan Legislative Codes, MLC 7221-et.seq.-MSA 25.244(1).


Can you move out at age 17 in Louisiana?

can you move out at 17 teen yes


What can you do once you turn 17 in Michigan?

When you turn 17 in Michigan, you can not really do much of anything. When a person turns 18 in Michigan they can quit school and move out of their parents home.


Can you have an adult boyfriend if you are 17 in Michigan?

Yes the legal age of consent in michigan is 16.

Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide