Quantcast
answersLogoWhite
notificationBell

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2015-07-15 18:24:02

In the next section of this answer are a lot of responses about returning cars because you don't like the car, don't like the deal, whatever. The QUESTION, however, was about returning a lemon. Every state has a Lemon Law, which requires the dealer to take the car back if it can't be fixed in a "reasonable" number of attempts. Check http://www.lemonlawamerica.com for your state's lemon law. In North Carolina, for instance, the car officially becomes a lemon if it can't be fixed in four attempts, or if it's been in the shop for more than 20 days.

So the answer is, no after two attempts, yes after three (many states say three) or four attempts to fix it.

Returning a Car to a DealerHere are opinions and answers from FAQ Farmers:
  • NO! Most large loans/purchases have a "3-day right of recission". During this time you may opt to not continue the sale and change your mind. The car sale is exempt. You may only return a car if there is Fraud in the Sale, Example: The Car is really a 1998 not a 2000 or it was not disclosed to you as a "Rental" car. You cannot merely change your mind or decide that the price is too much. On a new car, as soon as you take possession, the car becomes used and must be sold to the next buyer as such.
  • If you live in California and you sign any contract, you will be unable to return the vehicle. In a rare case, I practically begged the manager of a used car lot to unwind the deal. I told him that my wife purchased a car for me prior to my purchase of their car, but I was completely unaware of it. They finally let me out, but withheld a $40.00 documentation fee and a 2.9% credit card surcharge. $178.00 is better than a $6000 used car that I decided that I didn't want. Also, when I purchased the car, I left it at the car lot and told them that I'll pick it up in a matter of days. I guess the unwinding of the deal helped for the simple fact that the car never left the lot and I came back the next morning. It only took me one night to think about the deal and realize that I wanted out. The most important thing is to not let the sales person pressure you into signing anything. Don't listen to 'this car may be gone tomorrow,' 'this is as low as I can go,' 'you will not find a deal better,' etc. It's all bull. It will get you in trouble if you sign the contracts, but you later want out. THERE IS NO WAY OUT AND THERE IS NOTHING THAT YOU CAN DO ABOUT IT. Everything is monitored and recorded from the minute you step on the car lot until you go to the back office to sign the 'nail in the coffin' contracts. Before you sign anything, go home and think about it. It will save you a lot of headaches. DON'T SIGN ANY CONTRACTS UNTIL YOU ARE COMPLETELY HAPPY WITH THE CAR! If you already have and you want out, the best advice that I can give is make up any good believable heartbreaking lie such as: Someone passed in my family and I need the money to help fund the burial expenses, etc. Go in the office crying if you have to. It may work, but it may not. YOU WILL BE CRYING FOR REAL IF YOU ARE UNABLE TO UNWIND THE DEAL. The best time to put on an act is when a sales person is with a potential car buyer. The car lot or dealership people most likely won't show their true colors in front of potential car buyers. They'll put on an act and most likely, unwind the deal. But again, this is rare, like in my case. DON'T SIGN ANY CONTRACTS UNTIL YOU ARE COMPLETELY HAPPY WITH THE CAR!
  • The laws of Texas and Virginia...two states in which I have been in the car business...say that once the 'tailpipe leaves the curb' of the dealer's lot, the sale is complete. I think that is the case most anywhere, now. Some dealerships have thirty day money back guarantees. If you are buying a used car, get that deal!
  • I sold cars for years. You can only return a new car (within 72 hours) if they came out to your house and solicited your business and had you sign the contract there. If you sign the contract at the dealership, and drive off the lot, you're stuck, unless you somehow convince the lender to back out of the deal. That's how it is in Texas.
001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

Can I return a used car to dealer without penalties Idaho?

Yes, a person can return a used car to the dealer without penalties. This is only if the return is followed by the rules set in the contract.


Can you return an unsafe used car to the dealer?

As long as you have a warranty, then yes you can return an unsafe used car to the dealer. However, without a warranty, it will be impossible.


How can I return a problem car to the dealer?

Cehck to see if it qualifies for the "Lemon Law"?



If the dealer sold car without a title can dealer be forced to return money?

yeah. beat him dwn. or take your case to a lawyer and get more $$$$ with sue


Is there a 3 day return policy in Arkansas?

No, the 3-day "cooling off" period in which a purchaser may return merchandise/items without penalty does not apply to vehicles.


Can you return a faulty car back to a dealer after five weeks?

You can usually return a faulty car back to the dealer, but to be repaired. You cannot return a car unless the dealer refuses to have it repaired.


How long do you have to return a new car to the dealer in Missouri?

Once you sign the papers, it is your car. You cannot return it unless the dealer agrees to the return.


Can you return a used car to the dealer without it hurting your credit?

Yes, you can, if you're returing under a warranty. Warrnanties make you able to return the car whenever you want.


Can you return a used car purchased from a dealer in cash?

Possibly, depends on the dealer. I run a used car dealership, and the only way I would take a car return is if there is a major problem with it. Bad motor, transmission, etc. I wouldn't do it if you just simply changed your mind.


How long do you have to return a motorcycle to the dealer?

depends on your contract agreement and if it was under warranty. most likely you can return it if you talk to the dealer.


Can you return a new car if the dealer made a mistake on the contract?

You can return a new car if the dealer made a mistake on the contract depending on the type of mistake. If the dealer place the wrong vehicle on the contract, you could return the vehicle.


What is penalty for unauthorized signing of corporate federal tax return?

No penalty..but the return may be considered incomplete and not filed...which could cause late filing penalties and interest to be charged.


How many days after purchasing a vehicle can you return it?

There is no return policy unless the dealer agrees to this. You bought the car so it is yours. A car dealer is not like Walmart where you can return an item you bought.



Can you return ammunition to a dealer for refund?

Most stores will not allow the return of ammunition.


How long do you have to return a used car in Ohio?

You do not have a period of time to return a used car in Ohio. You are stuck with your car unless it is a lemon situation on the lemon law. Then you have to proof that the dealer would not work with you to fix the problem.


How long do you have to return a car to the dealer in Illinois?

You cannot return a car to the dealer. The buyer's remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a vehicle of any kind.


Can you get a refund on a used car purchased in less than a week?

No. Well ... probably not. You can always ask the dealer; they might be nice and let you return it (if you pay a penalty/restocking fee/a little something something for their trouble).


What is the penalty for double filing income taxes?

Not sure there is a penalty. However, it could tie up your tax return for a while until the IRS straightens it out. May have to refile a corrected tax return.



Can you return a used car back to the dealer?

You could try. It might not work, though. Some dealers might allow you to trade it in for another car if there is a major problem.


Can a disabilty person withdraw their 401-k plan without penalties?

One of the exclusions to the 10% penalty is disability. You have to considered completely disable without the ability to ever return to employment. However, you will have to pay taxes on the monies.


What is the meaning of avengers?

To inflict a punishment or penalty in return for; revenge: avenge a murder.


Can you return a new car after just leasing it?

There is no right to rescission on any contract involving the purchase or lease of a vehicle. However the leasing dealer may allow you to cancel the lease with a penalty of course. You need to contact the dealers finance officer.


Still have questions?

Trending Questions
How to Make Money Online? Asked By Wiki User
Best foods for weight loss? Asked By Wiki User
Unanswered Questions
How old is zak beggans? Asked By Wiki User
Does arsenio hall have ms? Asked By Wiki User