answersLogoWhite

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2014-03-29 20:08:21

The official rules state that a fielder need only hold a ball in his hand and touch a base. If the runner is forced to that base and the fielder touches the base while he is holding the ball, he is out. It does not say he has to step on the base. It just says he has to touch it.

The runner, on the other hand, must be tagged with the hand that holds the ball.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Related Questions


So long as the fielder has full possession of the ball the runner is considered out whether the ball is in the glove, in the bare hand, or in the glove covered with the bare hand.


If the play at the base is a force out, yes. MLB rules state that a player must have complete control of the ball with the glove or bare hand for an out to be recorded. Control of the ball with the hand or glove and contract with the base is what is needed to make a force out. The rule is different, however, if the play is a tag play instead of a force out. In that case, if the fielder had the ball in his hand and tagged the runner with the glove, the runner would be safe. On tag plays the runner must be tagged with the ball or with the glove that is securely holding the ball.


MLB Rule 2.00 states:A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or gloveThus, if the ball is held "securely and firmly" in your glove when you touch the base with ANY part of your body -- even your hand or the bottom of your foot -- that would be considered a "tag."Rule 7.08(e) states:Any runner is out when --...(e) He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner.Thus, if a fielder tags the base the runner must advance to, prior to the runner reaching that base, that runner is out. And touching a base with your hand while holding the ball in your glove would be considered a tag of the base.Note, however, that tagging a player is different, as stated in Rule 2.00 :A TAG is the action of a fielder in ... touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.Thus, although you can tag a BASE with the hand that does not hold the ball, you can only tag a RUNNER with the hand (or glove) that is holding the ball.


No, the ball must be in the glove in order to record a tag out with the glove hand. If the ball is in your throwing hand, you must make the tag with that hand.MLB Rule 2.00 makes this clear:A TAG is the action of a fielder in ... touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.



Yes. For a force play, a fielder who is holding the ball can get the out by touching the base with any part of his or her body. Usually the fielder uses his or her foot, but it can also be a hand or glove, whether or not the ball is in that hand.


Yes, if it is a force out, as long as the fielder has the ball in his possession (glove or free hand) if he touches the bag before the runner with any part of his body then the runner would be called out. Now if this was a play that required a tag, and the ball was in his bare hand and the tag is made with the glove, or visa-versa, then the runner is safe


The proper method for fielding a baseball would be to use two hands. watching the ball all the way in to the glove and securing the ball inside the glove with your opposite hand, only after gloving the ball would you actually touch the ball bare handed.



The Base Gloves lenght is determined by the size of the hand and the position the player is playing on the field.


The player must have control of the ball in the glove. If the glove comes off before he completes the catch, it is not an out. The glove is considered part of the fielder's hand and he must have his hand in the glove.


Yes, but the ball must be in his other hand in order for it to be an out.


No, the runner would not be out. The fielder would have had to have tagged the runner with the ball itself or with the ball was in the glove in order for the runner to be out. For more clarification: "A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove" This is directly from the Major League rules. Tagging is not just tagging a runner off base. Tagging can also be throwing a runner out as per Major League rules. http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/runner_7.jsp Read rule 7.08


You can tag that runner with a glove or hand holding the ball, while the runner is not standing on a base.


yes because he has the ball in his possession when he touches the base so it is like touching the base with his foot.


No, the glove is considered an extension of the fielder's hand so if the glove comes off the fielder is deemed to have dropped the ball.



with a baseball glove and to throw it use your bare hand


No, there is no point in a baseball glove. It's just companies trying to get you to spend money on something useless so they can profit off of it. You are actually supposed to catch the balls with your bare hand. ________________________________________________________________________ That is the dumbest thing I have ever heard. You buy a glove because it makes your hand 10 inches bigger in length and 6 inches wider in width (depending on the glove size.) Also, if you don't use a glove, your going to get some serious nerve damage in your hands. To the original person that asked the question., you don't necessarily need a glove, but if you like your hand where it is, and like the ability to touch and feel, I would use a glove. A lot of times you do see a player bare-hand a ground ball, and if you're Kevin Mitchell, catch a fly ball bare-handed. I was being facetious. Of course you need a glove to catch baseballs with. That was just a stupid question.


The main objective of the first baseman is to catch the ball. A larger glove or mitt, would be an advantage. Infielders need to catch the ball and quickly transfer the baseball from glove to hand, to make a throw. A smaller glove has an advantage. The infielder also needs to have a feel for the ball to help grab the ball or handle tough ground balls. The first baseman's glove or mitt has extra padding and leather to protect the hand from hard throws.


a fielder must have the ball in their glove or hand and touch ( or tag) the base runner He could also get out if he were to leave a base early before the next batter has hit he ball :) Mo Fo


In softball the ideal position would be running from behind the point where the ball is going to land to get momentum to throw the ball. Your glove should be about chest high and off to your right hand side if you are a righty (off to you left if you are lefty). Your throwing hand should be near you glove so that you an catch the ball with two hands, quickly retrieve the ball from your glove, and throw to the necessary base to try to get another out.


I assume the question means the fielder is on the ground (floor?)..in either case, the fielder legally tagged the base while holding the ball firmly and the batter is out. See definition of "tag" in baseball rules. It is the same as the firstbaseman touching (tagging) first with his foot while the ball is in his glove. This would not be true if the runner is not forced, in which case the fielder must tag the runner with the ball held firmly in his hand or glove.



Yes, the runner would be out because of the force play meaning that the runner has to go no matter what.



Copyright ยฉ 2021 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.