Custody
Children and the Law
Child Support
Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out

Do you have to pay child support if 17 year old do not go to school in the state of Georgia?

345

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered
2008-02-06 21:21:37
2008-02-06 21:21:37

Yes. Failure to attend school does not emancipate a minor, so you're still obligated to pay child support.

001
๐ŸŽƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Related Questions


Georgia does not have any post-high school laws. Once the child has reached the age of majority and has graduated from high school, child support will end.


In the state of Georgia court ordered child support continues until the child turns 18 years old. There is the exception if the child is still in high school than the order will continue until they finish high school or turn 20 years old.



I do not know about in Georgia, but in the state of Missouri, you pay support until the age of 18, unless they become emancipated. After the age of 18, if they continue on to college, you still pay.


No, child support doesn't stop. Quitting school does not emancipate a minor.




If you are asking who pays the support for the child the 14 year old just fathered, the state will look into it and whomever the state decides to give custody will receive child support from the other parent.



That is not likely since child support is based on the parents' income only. Your child support amount was calculated according to the Georgia child support guidelines. You can check those guidelines to see if a remarriage will result in any changes.That is not likely since child support is based on the parents' income only. Your child support amount was calculated according to the Georgia child support guidelines. You can check those guidelines to see if a remarriage will result in any changes.That is not likely since child support is based on the parents' income only. Your child support amount was calculated according to the Georgia child support guidelines. You can check those guidelines to see if a remarriage will result in any changes.That is not likely since child support is based on the parents' income only. Your child support amount was calculated according to the Georgia child support guidelines. You can check those guidelines to see if a remarriage will result in any changes.


Review your child support order. Your child support obligation is governed by the order and state law. Some states extend child support for education purposes as long as the child is in school full time. Some end the support at eighteen or when the child graduates from high school.


Yes, you pay until your child is emancipated. Pregnancy does not emancipate in any state.


That depends on the state. see links below


This would be dependent on who has jurisdiction. If the child was moved to Georgia, Texas would retain jurisdiction on child support.


Child support in the state of California continues until the child stops going to school. including college.


The custodial parent or legal guardian files a lawsuit for child support in the state in which the minor child resides (in this case, Georgia). The non custodial parent will be served with a summons regardless of where he or she lives. Federal law mandates all U.S. states honor and enforce child support lawsuits and/or orders of support.


No. Child support cases are handled by the state court that issued the child support order.No. Child support cases are handled by the state court that issued the child support order.No. Child support cases are handled by the state court that issued the child support order.No. Child support cases are handled by the state court that issued the child support order.


In the United States child support is based on state child support guidelines. You need to check the guidelines for your state.In the United States child support is based on state child support guidelines. You need to check the guidelines for your state.In the United States child support is based on state child support guidelines. You need to check the guidelines for your state.In the United States child support is based on state child support guidelines. You need to check the guidelines for your state.


The law in Georgia requires that a parent pay support on their child's behalf until the child (among other scenarios) emancipates, turns 18 years of age, or graduates from high school (unless the child is attending high school, in which case child support shall continue until the child reaches age 20). The law in Georgia does not hold a parent responsible for paying child support beyond this point. Parties can contract (and obligate themselves) for such an arrangement (payment of child support during the child's attendance at college), however, in their settlement agreement. The provisions for payment of child support during the child's attendance at college would be enforceable in that case. If the non-custodial parent never contracted to undertake this obligation, however, then the custodial parent has no basis under Georgia law to request payment of child support while the child attends college.


In Indiana, child support continues until the age of 18, regardless of the child's high school standing.


Depends on what state you live in and in the child is still in High School or College.


The state. You will be pursued to make child support payments to the state if it has been supporting your child.The state. You will be pursued to make child support payments to the state if it has been supporting your child.The state. You will be pursued to make child support payments to the state if it has been supporting your child.The state. You will be pursued to make child support payments to the state if it has been supporting your child.


a portion of the social security disability income, if filed, can be considered as child support


1) the custodial parent, and/or; 2) the State[s] which furnished public assistance and/or child welfare services to the child[ren]


In the state of Virginia, child support continues at least until the age of 18. If the child is 18 and still enrolled in high school, child support continues until they graduate from high school or until they turn 19 years old, whichever comes first.



Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.