you have to pay child support as long as your child is under 18 years of age
That is dependent on state law and your specific orders. In most states, no. But there are those that do require it, with some requiring that you also pay for the college education.
In Indiana, you will have to pay child support up until your child turns 19 years of age or finishes college. The child support does not automatically stop so you will have to file with the courts to stop the child support once your child hits the age of 19 years old or is finished with college.
I'm not aware of any State where a 23-year-old is considered a dependent. In many States, the age of majority is 18 and in most of the others, 21. Support while the child is in college may be ordered but is not mandatory.
In Indiana, you will have to pay child support until your child reaches 18 years of age. If the child decides to go to college full-time, you will have to continue to pay child support until they graduate or drop out of college.
arrears - yes; current (ongoing) support - yes, if the child is still a minor/dependent; retroactive support - maybe, it depends on several factors
Usually, the order for support will state the termination date. The order may require support for a child who is a college student.
my son is 21 years old, when can i stop paying child support?
Generally, child support is only ordered until the child 18 years of age. However, you need to check your own child support order and any separation agreement associated with your divorce.
In some cases, if the "adult"...not child, is going to college, then yes, support from the other parent can still be filed.
All terms of your child support should be in your support order. Some states do allow for child support to be continued until the child is in school/college. Review your order and, if needed, contact the court that issued it for any further information.
If your child is 18 years of age or older, and considered an adult, then no you do not have any basis with which to sue the father for child support. That child is considered an adult by legal standards and not a dependent. Only for full-time dependents do you have any grounds for child support.
Make an official request from child support enforcement. see links
You will have to pay child support on a child in Arkansas until they reach 18 years of age or until they graduate from college. You can request termination of child support before that if there are special circumstances such as the child moving out of the parents home.
No matter what age or in school. Child Support is until 18 years of age.
Six months after graduation in those few states that require child support into the college years.
In my opinion, if the child is a full time college student and is will be passing his 21 years of age; he should definitely be covered for child support at least until 23 years of age.
In most places, once a child reaches the age of 18, the parents are no longer responsible for the child. If there is a child support order that has the non-custodial parent continuing to pay support through college years, then that money is available to be used toward that education and the support associated with it.
In most states/most cases, the 'other' parent will continue to pay child support on each child until they reach 18 years of age, at that point the child support should stop. In some states, payments will continue if the child goes on to college and will stop when the child leaves college or turns 21, whichever comes first.
When your child reaches the age of 18 or finishes college, depending on how your support order is worded. Typically the child must be 18 years of age, and not in or going to college. This is just an opinion. There may be other considerations.
In some states the courts can prolong it to age 21-24 if the child is in college but not otherwise.
You will no longer have to pay child support once your child reaches 18 years old and they choose not to attend college. If they attend college full-time, you will be ordered to continue paying until they either graduate or drop out.
The only depends on specific state laws or original child support order. see link
Only if the child is under 18 years old. In the state of California you are obligated to pay child support until the child turns 18 or graduates high school whichever comes later.
most likely yes....non custodial parent usually pays child support until the child is out of college. That means if the child wants to get their masters and go to college for 8 years non custodial parent pays child support the whole time.