answersLogoWhite

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2009-08-09 18:50:56

no, you can tag the runner to get him out or on a play where the runner is forced to run you can step on the base he is running to.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Related Questions


Yes, because the hitter is running to first base. If you are still there, you'll both be on a base. That means you are both out. Both runner and batter are not out. The fielder will need to tag either 2nd base for the force out or tag both players occupying 1st. If both players are occupying 1st and both are tagged while standing on first the runner that should have gone to 2nd will be out.


If it is a force (i.e. there are people on all the bases behind the runner) play, then yes, the baseman needs to touch the base to get the runner out. If the runner is not required to move to that base, then the baseman must tag the runner to get him out. The baseman does not NEED to touch the base to record the out. The defense may tag the runner OR the bag.


Not always. If a fielder is in possession of the ball AND in physical contact to a base that a base runner must run, then that base runner is out.


On a force out, you may either tag the base the runner is being forced to, or you may tag the runner before he gets to that base. If it is not a force out, you must tag the runner while he is off whatever base he has a legal right to occupy.


You can tag a runner anytime but it's most important to tag a runner when it's not a force out play. When a baserunner runs to the next base without a runner behind him he must be tagged out before reaching base.


Any time a runner is not forced to advance to the next base, the defensiver player must tag the runner. If a runner is attempting to steal 2nd, either the 2nd baseman or the shortstop must tag the runner.




You can tag that runner with a glove or hand holding the ball, while the runner is not standing on a base.


Yes. The fielder covering the base does NOT have to tag the runner. The runner is forced out when the fielder steps on the base before the runner can make it back. Got that.


There are two situations when a baseman can tag the base for an out.The first is the force out. A force out happens when a baseman tags the base of the only possible location for the runner. For example, if a batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman, the first baseman only needs to tag first base because it is the runner's only possible destination. Also, if there was a runner on first base and a ground ball was hit, there would be a force out at both second and first base because they runner on first base would be forced to progress one base. With a man on first and second base, you can force at first, second and third, and with the bases loaded, there is a force at every base. If there is a runner on second and/or third, but not first, the runners are not required to progress one base, so there is only a force at first.The second is on the fly ball. If a fly ball is caught, a base runner must touch the base again ("tag up") before moving on to the next base. If they do not tag up after the ball is caught, the baseman at the base from which they left can tag that base for the out. For example, if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a fly ball, and that ball is caught, the runner must touch the base after the ball is caught before he can leave for the next base. If he doesn't touch the base after the ball is caught, the baseman only need tag the base while holding the ball for the out.



No, in that situation the person with the ball would have to tag the runner for the runner to be out.


NO, a runner does not have to go back and touch the base after every pitch


when someone hits the ball and it is caught, the runner(s) on base can "tag" the base they are on once it is caught and then run to the next base. If they tag 3rd base and run home to score it is the tag run.


When proceeding to first a runner can not retreat towards home nor can they come to a complete stop of forward motion. If they do either of these the the runner is to be called out without need of a tag on the runner or the base. This only applies to a runner between home and first.


You don't. A force means no tag is needed, only the baseman needs to catch the ball and have one foot on the base. The runner is forced; he or she has no safe base to return to and is therefore automatically out.


if the ball was caught and the runner never tagged up then the defending team can throw to whatever base the runner didnt tag from and appeal to whichever umps call it was to see if the runner tagged up. If the ump did not see the runner go back and tag and team has appealed to him then the runner will be called out.


Yes. On a tag play, if a runner crosses home plate before another runner is tagged for the third out the run counts.


A tag play is when it is required to tag a base runner to get them out. A force play is when it is required to have possession of the ball and touch the base to get the base runner out. By definition, a force play is in effect when a base runner is 'forced' to run to the next base because of the ball being hit and another runner being 'forced' to run to the base that the runner currently occupies. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball to third base, the runner on first base is 'forced' to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. In this case, a force play is in effect at second base (and at first base because a batter is always 'forced' to run to first base after hitting a fair ball. A force play is always in effect at first base when a batter hits a fair ball.). If there is a runner only on second base and the batter hits a ball to first base, the runner at second is not 'forced' to run to third base because no one is 'forced' to run to second base. In this case, a tag play is in effect at third base if the runner at second attempts to advance.


No, the fielder does NOT have to touch the base before tagging a runner out. The fielder only touches the base on a forced play.


No, as long as the runner is forced to go to the next base, they can be tagged out or the base stepped on. Both are considered force plays, which means the run would not count.


No, behind third base would be considered out of the base path. When you go out of the base path it is an automatic out.The runner is out by rule for getting "a running start" such as on a tag-up after a caught fly ball. The baseline has nothing to do with this play. A runner is out for going out of the baseline only if avoiding a tag.



If there is a person on base, but there is no force (base runners on base from 3rd, 2nd to 1st, or just 1st)



Copyright ยฉ 2021 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.