Does Germany have balkanization?

Balkanization means being split into several small states of countries. Since 1871 German has been one country, except in during the Cold War. From 1815 to 1866-71 Germany consisted of about 39 practically sovereign states, and before about 1790 there about 360 German states (roughly one for every day of the year) - again almost sovereign.