answersLogoWhite

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2006-09-05 18:37:34

No, because the third out was made on the same play. It is no different than if the batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop or any other infielder and is thrown out at first base for the third out. However, if there are two outs and there is a runner on third and the batter hits a single into left field but is thrown out at second when attempting to turn the play into a double and the runner on third makes it home before the third out at second is recorded, the run does count. Hope that isn't too confusing.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Your Answer

Related Questions


Yes. There are only a few times that a batter helps a teammate score but does not get an RBI. Example 1: Bases loaded, 0 outs, batter grounds into double play 2nd baseman to first baseman, runner at third scores. The batter is not credited with an RBI. Example 2: Runner on 3rd, 2 outs, batter hits a routine groundball to shortstop, but the shortstop makes an erro. The batter is not credited with an RBI because if the ball was played cleanly the run would not have scored.


That depends on how the batter is put out. If the batter is put out by throwing to the first baseman who touches first base before the batter does, the run will not count because the play is considered a force out. No run can score when the batter or another runner is put out by a force for the third out of an inning. However, if the batter is tagged out and the runner from third scores before the batter is tagged out, the run does count because the runner was not forced but instead tagged. Only if the batter runner is tagged out after he reaches first base (in attempt to get to 2nd base for example) does the run count. If the first baseman was pulled off the bag on the throw and was able to tag the batter runner before he reached first base, the run would not count. It is still considered a force play (NFHS Rule 2-24-1). The above answer is incorrect. MLB rule 4.09(a) states: One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases. Note the exception. No run scores when the third out is made by the batter-runner before he reaches first. Doesn't matter if it's a force or a tag on the batter-runner.





Yes. If a runner crosses home plate before the third out is made (unless it's a force out), the run counts. For example, say the Yankees have runner on third with two outs. The batter hits a ball to the gap in right center. The runner scores, but the batter is thrown out at third trying to stretch a double into a triple. Since the runner on third crossed home plate before the batter was out at third, the run counts. On a force play (at any base) the runner would not be allowed to score even if he crosses the plate before the force is made.


It is only a sacrifice bunt if someone scores. If no one scores, then the player who bunted isn't credited with anything.




the run doesnt count because it depends on if the runner is safe. but if he gets out the runner does not get counted with the run.


Yes, she would get an RBI, but the run would be unearned to the pitcher, since the batter who scored didn't "earn" her way on base. Generally the batter is not awarded an RBI if a runner scores when the BATTER reaches on an error, if if he hits into a double play.


No. The only way it is a sacrifice is if the ball is hit in the air and the runner has to tag-up to advance home. The batter is only given an rbi because he did not sacrifice his at bat to score the runner from 3rd.


Yes, the runner on third base with two outs will be considered as a scored run in the event of the batter reaching first base and advancing to second base at his own risk however a fielder throws to 2B and gets the batter out however in the event of the defense recording the third out before the runner on third base scores then the run by him will not count.


It depends on what the count on the batter is when he is thrown out. If there are 2 strikes on the batter and his substitute gets struck out, the at-bat is contributed to the first batter. Otherwise, all stats will be awarded to the substitute batter.


A sacrifice fly or when a batter flies out and a runner tags up and scores this doesnt count as an at bat


Yes, a batter gets a RBI through a Hit-by-pitch, walk, or hit if a runner scores on the play due to their plate appearance


The only way that run would count is if it were not a continuous double play... For example, if the batter grounds into a routine double play, the run does not score... but if the batter were to fly out and another runner tries to tag up, and advance from 1st the second, or from 2nd to 3rd, and is thrown out in the process, as long as the runner for 3rd crosses home plate before the out is recorded, it counts. To simplify the answer a bit... If the double play occurs with both outs being recorded on force outs, no run scores. If there are multiple outs recorded, but are not force outs, the run scores as long as the runner crosses before the out is recorded.


The batter could be credited with an RBI if, in the scorers judgment the base runner would have scored had there not been any overthrows (errors). For example, the batten singles and the runner is on third and scores, then the overthrows occur. The batter is credited with one RBI. In your original question, the batter would, in no case, be credited with an RBI on his own score.


The fielder made a decision to throw the batter out at first instead of throwing the runner out at home. This is considered a fielders choice.


If the third out is a force play or a fly out, a run can not score, no matter how soon a runner crosses home before that third out. If the batter hits the ball over the outfielder's head with runners on first and third, and the runner on first constantly slips and falls as he runs to second, the fact that the batter got to first and the runner on third got home several seconds before the runner going to second was forced out, is just too bad. It's still a force out, and no run scores.



If bases are loaded and it is ball four, yes. Otherwise, no Rule 10.04(a) explains part of this answer.


A fly ball that advances a runner from second to third is not counted as a sacrifice fly, and it does count as an at bat. Unless a runner scores on a fly ball, the batter is charged with an at bat.


Yes you would get an RBI on a fielders choice. If a runner scores on any batted ball the batter will get an RBI, whether an out is made or not.


No the run does not count. An out at any base would be a force out and no runs can score, If the runner scored and the third out is made because a runner is called out on an appeal play such as failure to retouch on a fly ball out or a runner missing a base the run would count



Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.