Indianapolis 500

Parent Category: Indy Racing League
The Indianapolis 500 is an auto race held every year since 1909. The race is held at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Indiana on Memorial Day weekend. It follows a week long series of events leading up to the race.
No, I believe her best finish was 3rd.
Well.......the Indianapolis Motor Speedway is 2&1/2 miles long.
Ray Harroun became the 1st winner of the Indy 500 car race in 1911. He averaged a speed of 74.6 mph and finished in 6 hours and 42 min.
Mario Andretti. Mario won Daytona in 1967, Indy in 1969, and had 12 F1 victories between 1971-1978 and won the F1 drivers World Championship in 1978.
The first woman to compete in the Indianapolis 500 was Janet Guthrie, who started 26th and finished 29th. In 1977, Janet also became the first woman driver to compete in the Daytona 500, starting 39th and finishing 12th.
Through the 2009 Indy 500, 9. 4 time winners - 1) A.J. Foyt - 1961, 1964, 1967, 1977 2) Rick Mears - 1979, 1984, 1988, 1991 3) Al Unser Sr. - 1970, 1971, 1978, 1987 3 time winners - 1) Hélio Castroneves - 2001, 2002, 2009 2) Louis Meyer - 1928, 1933, 1936 3) Mauri Rose - 1941,...
approximately 210 m.p.h.
In 1977, Janet Guthrie became the first woman to race in the Indianapolis 500.
It was because of World War I and World War II. Pretty much all sporting events were shut down during both wars so the athletes could join the army. *I'm not totally sure but the dates are pretty much the same so I thought it probably was since the Olympics were also closed during that time due to...
Al Unser Jr. won the 1994 Indianapolis 500.
Arie Luyendyk won the 1997 Indianapolis 500.
Traditionally and under the current rules, 33 drivers start the Indianapolis 500.
On Sunday, May 29, 1977, Janet Guthrie , became the first woman to compete in the Indianapolis 500. Janet started 26th and finished 29th in the race.
It's a 500 mile car race held in Indianapolis, Indiana.
The Indianapolis 500 is held annually over the Memorial Day weekend.
Bess Paoli is actually considered the first woman of Indy not JanetGuthrie,if you go to Indy check out the Hall of Fame there
in the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Speedway, Indiana, 4790 West 16th Street.
In 1977, Janet Guthrie became the first female driver to compete in the Indianapolis 500.
Anyone from 75 miles and inward will be stuck listening to it on the radio or waiting until 7pm to watch the tape delayed broadcast. I honestly think the tape-delayed broadcast is not worth watching since you will already know who won from watching sportscenter.
A.J. Foyt, Al Unser Sr. and Rick Mears all have four Indianapolis 500 wins, the most in the race's history.
The Indianapolis Motor Speedway , which hosts the Indianapolis 500 and Nascar's Brickyard 400 is 2.5 miles in length.
Helio Castroneves won the 2009 Indianapolis 500.
The Indianapolis 500 is blacked out on a local basis. The race is rebroadcasted locally later that evening.
Tickets can be bought for as low as $30.
They are related, the fastest driver gets to select his pit position for the race which will usually be position 1 closest to the pit exit.
Danica Patrick earned $307,305. for her sixth place finish in the 2010 Indianapolis 500.
nope.....but i got a good feeling he will soon
Truesports was an automobile racing team founded by Jim Trueman based in Hilliard, Ohio. The team is best-known for winning the 1986 Indianapolis 500 and back-to-back CART championships in 1986 and 1987. .
No. Dale Jr. has never entered the Indianapolis 500 race.
Dario Franchitti was the winner of the 2012 Indianapolis 500.
The State of Indiana hosts the Indianapolis 500.
Indiana, Indianapolis is the state's capital city.
The 08 Indy 500 was won by Scott Dixon driving for Chip Ganassi Racing.
Brazilian race driver Tony Kanaan is 43 years old (born AntoineKanaan Filho , December 31, 1974).
The IRL's Indianapolis 500 is 200 laps in length.
In 1992 Al Unser Jr beat Scott Goodyear by .043 second
you try to find someone who has them. you try to find someone who has them
\nThe first "500" was held at the Speedway on Memorial Day, May 30, 1911.
AJ Foyt, Al Unser Sr, and Rick Mears have won 4 times with Foyt being the first to do so.
Johnnie Parsons won the 1950 Indianapolis 500.
The Indianapolis 500 was not held in 1942 because of World War II. The country's resources were dedicated to the war effort and like many other things, automobile racing was set aside to pursue higher purposes.
\n. \n. \nThe 93rd Indianapolis 500-Mile Race Sun, May 24, 2009 at 1 p.m.*\n. \n . Schedule subject to change
ABC . Pre-race coverage is from11am - Noon EDT on ESPN2 and from Noon to 1pm on ABC.. The race begins at 1pm EDT on ABC.
Yes, you can. There are a few ways to watch the Indianapolis 500 online. Some are free and not so reliable and others cost money and give you instant access. The paid services are the best way to go. Do a search for TV to PC or Satellite to PC and you will find the answer you are looking for.
For the third consecutive season, Patrick was voted Most Popular Driver by the series' official fan club, Indy Downforce. Expect a fourth one after her headline-grabbing appearance in the 2008 Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Issue! .
A.J. Foyt . Al Unser . Rick Mears . Three drivers have won the Indianapolis 500 four times each: A.J. Foyt (1961, 1964, 1967, 1977); Al Unser (1970, 1971, 1978, 1987) and Rick Mears (1979, 1984, 1988, 1991).
The length of the race, 500 miles. . When the race was founded in 1911, it was intended as anendurance race. Back then, the top speed for the typical car in therace was about 20-25mph. At that speed, it would take 20 hours tocomplete 500 miles! With technology, faster cars and things likeactually...
Ray Harroun won the first Indianapolis 500 in 1911 driving a Marmon Wasp.
The first driver to complete 200 laps is the winner of each Indianapolis 500.
Three drivers have won four Indianapolis 500's. . A.J. Foyt - 1961, 1964, 1967, 1977 . Al Unser Sr. - 1970, 1971, 1978, 1987 . Rick Mears - 1979, 1984, 1988, 1991
\n2008 winner was Scott Dixon.
The first Indianapolis 500 was held in 1911.
Jim Trueman owned Bobby Rahal's 1986 Indianapolis 500 winning car.
Jackie Stewart competed in the Indianapolis 500 twice, in 1966 and 1967.
No, the winner of the Indianapolis 500 receives a bottle of milk in which they drink in the victory lane.
The Indianapolis 500 is held on the Memorial Day weekend.
Al Unser Jr. won the 1992 Indianapolis 500.
Zero. . Jeff Gordon is a Nascar driver. He does not compete in the Indianapolis 500, which is an Indy Racing League event. He has won the Brickyard 400 four times at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
What is famous about the Indianapolis 500 is that many drivers have been wrecked there and the best racing records were also there.