Quantcast
answersLogoWhite
notificationBell
Children and the Law
Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
Georgia (US State)

How can you be emancipated in Georgia?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2006-11-07 20:26:01

Currently the state of Georgia has no emancipation laws. The only thing a minor can do in severe situations involving abuse or neglect is to go to DFCS

001
๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฟ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions


In Georgia if you are seventeen and pregnant are you automatically emancipated?

no you are not just because you are pregnant does not mean that you are emancipated



Does Georgia give contractual capacity to emancipated minors?

Yes, Georgia gives contractual capacity to emancipated minors. Once a minor is legally emancipated, they are treated as an adult except in ways which would otherwise be prohibited by law, such as consumption of alcohol.


When you are emancipated at 16 in Georgia what are the laws on the age of people you date?

Emancipated or not, you can date anyone you want as long as the person you date is 16 or older; the legal age of consent in Georgia is 16.


Can a 13-year-old be emancipated in Georgia?

No, you must be at least the age of 14 before you can even try to be emancipated


How do you move out at 14 and be emancipated in Georgia?

{| |- | You cannot. Georgia does not have an emancipation statute. You will have to wait until you reach the age of 18. |}


What are the legal qualifications to get emancipated from your parents in the state of Georgia?

I'm 16 and emancipated. I'm married. But here's the catch you DO need parents consent.


What do you need to do to be emancipated in the state of Georgia?

The state does not have established laws for the emancipation of minors.


Can you leave home at 14 in Georgia?

No, a minor can not do that. You have to be of legal age or emancipated by the court.


Is a pregnant minor emancipated if she is 16 in Georgia?

Pregnancy does not emancipate you in any state.



If you're seventeen in Georgia and you leave home does that make you emancipated?

no you have to go to court to be emancipated and your parents have to approve for you to do so. If you just leave well you just left.


Can a 15 year old girl get emancipated and move in with another family member in the state of Georgia if parents and her fight a lot?

It is extremely difficult to get emancipated in Georgia (only a few cases each year are approved). It takes abuse or severe neglect.




Is a pregnant minor considered emancipated in the state of Georgia?

Only when it comes to medical decisions regarding you and the baby.


What is the legal age that a teenager can move out of their parents house in the state of Georgia with or without parental consent?

16 Years of age is the limit. There are four (4) ways to become emancipated under Georgia law:When a minor is legally married, the minor is automatically considered emancipated.When a minor turn 18 years of age, the minor is automatically considered emancipated.When a minor is on active duty in the U.S. military, the minor is automatically considered emancipatedA minor can file a petition in the Juvenile Court asking for a court order stating that he or she is emancipated. The parents either must approve or minor must prove it is in best interest to be emancipated.


Can you move out as a minor in Georgia?

Only if you have parental permission (even then your parents are still responsible) or you've been emancipated.


What age can a child be emancipated in Georgia?

17, the same age where one is treated like an adult if they commit a crime.


In Georgia can you legally move out at 17 years of age?

No, you need to be 18 or emancipated to legally move out. Or have your parent's permission.


If you are pregnant in Georgia at 16 can you leave home?

Only with parental consent. You are not emancipated, only regarding the pregnancy and your health.


Are you legally emancipated in Georgia if you are 17 with a baby?

No, not automatically. Medically you are so you can make your own medical decisions. (Coming from a Paramedics regulations you are emancipated and able to make your own medical decisions if you are a minor who is pregnant.)


In Georgia at what age can a child refuse to go with a custodial parent?

i think 18. But you can get legally emancipated, which basically is you signing papers so you are no longer under their supervision and they are not responsible for you. You can get legally emancipated at 16 i think..


What is the legal age of majority in Georgia?

The legal age of majority in the state of Georgia is 18 years old. If a minor wants to leave the home before the age of 18, they will need to be emancipated.


Still have questions?

Trending Questions
What are fat burning foods? Asked By Wiki User
What is half of 16? Asked By Wiki User
Do potatoes have genders? Asked By Wiki User
Previously Viewed
Unanswered Questions