How did Malaysia get its name?

It was called "Malaya" at first, after independent from the British Colonisation in 1957. It was only made up of Malay Peninsula and Singapore island. After a few years, Sabah and Sarawak decided to join Malaya to form Malaysia in 1963. However, Singapore left the federation in 1965.
Malaysia was originally called Tanah Melayu, meaning The Land of Malays. Soon the British colonist adopted the name Malaya. The base word for Malaya derives from the word Malay in English, or Melayu in Malay, which are the native inhabitants of the land. Malaysia got its current name when Sabah, Sarawak and Singapore joined the federation on 16th September 1963, adopting the 'sia' from the letters that make up the name of the states. On 9th August 1965,Singapore seceded from the federation.