Football - American
Pittsburgh Steelers
American Football History

How do they decide which teams are NFC or AFC?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2015-07-15 21:44:54
2015-07-15 21:44:54

When the NFL & AFL merged for the 1970 season, the AFL teams were all placed in the AFC, and the NFL teams were placed in the NFC, with the exception of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Baltimore (now Indy) Colts, and Cleveland Browns (now Baltimore Ravens), who were moved to the AFC to even things out. I'm not sure how decisions are made as to which conference new expansion teams are placed in.

i belive the league just comes up with it I know it has nothing to do with location.


Related Questions

User Avatar

NFL has 32 teams NFC has 16 teams AFC has 16 teams

User Avatar

Yes, the teams rotate interconference play based on divisions. For instance, the NFC East teams play the AFC South teams in 2010. In 2011, the NFC East will play the AFC East.

User Avatar

There are two groups of football teams: AFC and NFC. The teams with the most wins in the AFC go against each other in the Playoffs for the title of AFC Champions. The teams with the most wins in the NFC go against each other in the Playoffs for the title of NFC Champions. The AFC Champion team and the NFC Champion team are the teams in the Super Bowl.

User Avatar

Besides the teams that are in them none. Many people say the AFC has better teams.

User Avatar

I believe it's from the merge between the AFL and NFL the AFC teams are the American football league teams and the NFC the national football league.

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.