answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

§ 16.1-331. Petition for emancipation. Any minor who has reached his sixteenth birthday and is residing in this Commonwealth, or any parent or guardian of such minor, may petition the juvenile and domestic relations district court for the county or city in which either the minor or his parents or guardian resides for a determination that the minor named in the petition be emancipated. The petition shall contain, in addition to the information required by § 16.1-262, the gender of the minor and, if the petitioner is not the minor, the name of the petitioner and the relationship of the petitioner to the minor.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-06-27 12:14:03
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-06-27 12:14:03

§ 16.1-331. Petition for emancipation. Any minor who has reached his sixteenth birthday and is residing in this Commonwealth, or any parent or guardian of such minor, may petition the juvenile and domestic relations district court for the county or city in which either the minor or his parents or guardian resides for a determination that the minor named in the petition be emancipated. The petition shall contain, in addition to the information required by § 16.1-262, the gender of the minor and, if the petitioner is not the minor, the name of the petitioner and the relationship of the petitioner to the minor.

User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How do you get a 16 year old emancipated in the state of Virginia?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What are the requirements in Virginia for a 15-year-old to get emancipated?

A 15-year-old cannot be emancipated in Virginia. You must be at least 16.


What leagal rights does a 17 year old mother have in the state of Virginia?

She is emancipated regarding her health and her child. That's it.


Is a married 16 year old with child emancipated in Virginia?

Yes, you are emancipated through the marriage. Not through the pregnancy.


Can a 15 year old be emancipated in the state of Michigan?

No, a 15 year old cannot be emancipated in Michigan. You must be at least 16.


Can a sixteen year old move in with her boyfriend without parental consent in the state of West Virginia?

Not unless she marries him first or is legally emancipated.


In the state of Virginia can a 16-year-old marry a 23-year-old with guardian consent or if they are emancipated?

Virginia: If either of you are under 18 years of age, you must have written, notarized consent from a parent or your legal guardian. Regarding marriage of an emancipated minor--according to a pamphlet published by the Virginia State Bar: "A minor who has been judicially emancipated does not need consent of a parent or guardian to marry." (NOTE: For others reading this, that is not the case in every state. In some states, even if a minor is emancipated, they still must have parental consent in order to get married.) Are you already emancipated? If not, and your only purpose for becoming emancipated is to be allowed to marry...well, you would still have to meet all the requirements for emancipation.


Can a 15 year old get emancipated in Kansas?

According to Kansas state law. You must be 18 years old to be emancipated.


Can a 17 year old live with a 21 year old?

In the state of Indiana, Yes, if emancipated.


Can a sixteen year old legally move out in the state of ak?

Only if the sixteen year old is emancipated.


Can a 17 year old become emancipated in the state of Mississippi?

There is no emancipation status in this state


Can a parent have a 17-year-old emancipated in the state of Wisconsin?

Yes.


Can a emancipated 17 year old female marry a 20 year old in the state of Louisiana?

Yes, if the 17 year old is emancipated then they are considered an adult. They can make their own decisions and get married if they want. Parents can not stop an emancipated child from doing anything, the court considered an emancipated child to be 18 years old.


How can a 17-year-old female get emancipated in the state of Missouri?

There is no emancipation statute in the state of Missouri.


Can a 17 year old be married to a 20 year old in the state of Texas?

If the parents sign off or the 17 year old is emancipated.


Can a pregnant 16-year-old move in with her 18-year-old boyfriend in Michigan and get emancipated?

state law rules----- in NJ you would be emancipated at 12 years old the moment you delivered


Can a 16 year old go to jail for kissing a 13 year old in Virginia?

no not in the state of Virginia no


Can a pregnant 15-year-old be emancipated?

Basically, no. There is only one state that I


How does a 21 year get emancipated?

A 21 year old is emancipated. In the USA, a normal 18 year old is legally considered an adult and thereby emancipated.


What does a 17-year-old girl have to do to get emancipated?

The laws depend on your state. In general, if you got married you could be emancipated, or if you joined the military. Getting emancipated with parental consent is easiest.


Can a pregnant 14 year old get emancipated in west Virginia?

It is very not likely. A 14 year old cannot support themselves and does not have the education to obtain a job.


Can a girl 16-year-old with a baby be emancipated and move in with her baby daddy and his family in Virginia?

Yes, she could be emancipated, but if the parents give permission (normally required for emancipation anyway) she can move in without being emancipated.


Can a 16 year old get married to an 18 year old in Washington if emancipated?

yes but only if the 16 year old was emancipated.


Can a 15 year old be emancipated in Iowa?

No a 15 year old can not be emancipated in Iowa. A child must be 16 years old in order to be emancipated in Iowa.


How old you do you have to be to be emancipated in the state of va?

You are emancipated when you turn 18.


Can a 15-year-old get emancipated in Washington state?

No, you must be at least 16 to apply for emancipation in Washington state.