answersLogoWhite

0


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2014-01-15 16:02:28

There is no 'Cooling Off Period' or "3-Day Right-to-Rescind" for automobile purchases anywhere in the USA. The right of rescission only applies to contracts signed for goods or services when the contract is signed at your home. It does not apply to a usual place of business. It was designed to prevent people from being victimized by professional high pressure sales people who sell goods and services door to door and pressure people into signing contracts. When you go to a place of business, you always have the option of walking out. You can not walk out of a sales situation in your own home.

Once a vehicle is "delivered", it's your vehicle unless the dealership grants you a refund. A completed delivery involves going to the dealership, signing all the necessary paperwork, arranging payment either by a cash purchase or financing then driving the vehicle off the dealership's property. It is important to read the contracts you are signing and make certain you have a copy of every document. Never sign until you know all the figures and have a "We Owe" signed by the General Manager for any open or 'promised' items.

Exceptions: California dealerships must offer the customer an option to purchase a "3-day return policy". If the customers signs the waiver instead, then they do not get the ability to return the car. In addition, Carmax does offer a 5-day return policy, however that is not a law, it's a promotion they offer to their customers.

Read your contract. The contract binds the seller and the buyer to the terms provided in the contract.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Still have questions?

Related Questions

How long do you have to return a new car to the dealer in Missouri?

Once you sign the papers, it is your car. You cannot return it unless the dealer agrees to the return.


Can you return an unsafe used car to the dealer?

As long as you have a warranty, then yes you can return an unsafe used car to the dealer. However, without a warranty, it will be impossible.


How long do you have to return a car to the dealer in Illinois?

You cannot return a car to the dealer. The buyer's remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a vehicle of any kind.


In Washington state how long do you have to return a car?

You need to be more specific in your question. Return a car to a dealer, return a leased car, return a borrowed car to a friend, return a rental car?


How long do you have to return a car to the dealer in Virginia?

3 days.


How long do you have to return a car to the dealer in Oregon?

Once a car is purchased you can not return it to the dealer in Oregon. However if the car has serious mechanical defects it may be returned under the Lemon Law


How long do you have to return a car to a dealer in Illinois?

3 business days.


If the car dealer misleads you car you return a used car?

No, you can not return the car.


Can you return a faulty car back to a dealer after five weeks?

You can usually return a faulty car back to the dealer, but to be repaired. You cannot return a car unless the dealer refuses to have it repaired.


How long do you have to return a car to the dealer in Arkansas?

You cannot return a car you bought. It is a myth that the Buyers Remorse Law applies to the purchase of a vehicle. It does not.


In Texas how long do you have to return a used car to the dealer?

Look at your rental agreement. It spells it out.


How long do you have to return a used car back to the dealer in Arizona?

What makes you think you can just return the car back to the dealer? There is no return law on the purchase of an automobile. The cooling off period law only applies to unsolicited purchases and not to the purchase of a vehicle. You bought it, you own it.


Can you return a new car if the dealer made a mistake on the contract?

You can return a new car if the dealer made a mistake on the contract depending on the type of mistake. If the dealer place the wrong vehicle on the contract, you could return the vehicle.


How long does a dealer have to let a person drive a car that hasn't been financed before the person has to return the car?

50000000000 years


How long do you have to return a used car to dealer in ind?

You cannot return it. The buyers remorse law does not apply to the purchase of a new or used vehicle.


How long do you have to return a car to the dealer if is chevrolet certified pre owned?

There is no cooling off period on the purchase of an automobile. Once you buy the car, you own it, and you will only be able to return it if the dealer agrees. They will never agree on a new car purchase, but on a used car they may, if you ask very nicely and buy a different car from the same dealer. So, ask the dealer and be very, very, nice about it. Legally they do not have to do anything.


How many days after purchasing a vehicle can you return it?

There is no return policy unless the dealer agrees to this. You bought the car so it is yours. A car dealer is not like Walmart where you can return an item you bought.


Can I return a used car to dealer without penalties Idaho?

Yes, a person can return a used car to the dealer without penalties. This is only if the return is followed by the rules set in the contract.


Can you return a used car purchased from a dealer?

A car bought from a dealer is usually financed by a bank they want there money not the car back


How long do you have to return a used car in Ohio?

You do not have a period of time to return a used car in Ohio. You are stuck with your car unless it is a lemon situation on the lemon law. Then you have to proof that the dealer would not work with you to fix the problem.


If a car dealer misrepresents a car can you return the car?

Not unless the vehicle is misrepresented in the contract.


How long do you have to return a car to dealer in new york?

Once you buy a car it is yours and you cannot return it. It is a myth that the cooling off period or buyers remorse laws apply to the purchase of a vehicle. They do not.


How long do you have to return a new car to the dealer in Canada?

Once you buy a car it is yours and you cannot return it. It is a myth that the cooling off period or buyers remorse laws apply to the purchase of a vehicle. They do not.


Can you return your car to dealer after job loss?

Generally, no. Most dealerships don't care about how you pay for the car (after you've bought it) so long as you dopay for it.


May you return a used car with a limited time warranty in Georgia?

No there is now law requiring a dealer to take a car back. Unless the dealer you bought the car from has a return policy then it's yours.