Divorce and Marriage Law
Pennsylvania
Divorce Documents

How long do you have to wait if your spouse refuses to sign their divorce agreement?

656667

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2011-05-25 16:24:44
2011-05-25 16:24:44

If your spouse refuses to sign the agreement that you have proposed, he/she may propose an alternate agreement, or may refuse. If the two of you cannot reach an agreement on your own, you may have to attend court ordered mediation.

If you still cannot reach an agreement, you will have a trial. You will have to wait for the court to set a trial date. Depending on the area, how busy they are, and any state waiting periods, you may get a trial date anywhere from 3 months to 3 years after initially filing.

1
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Related Questions

User Avatar

how long is the wait before a divorce take place if the spouse refuses to sign the divorce petition

User Avatar

in a divorce agreement court order to pay off spouse share of house how long is that order good for

User Avatar

When a Spouse Does Not Sign Divorce Papers When a spouse refuses to sign divorce papers, the spouse seeking a divorce will need to obtain what is called a contested divorce. To file a contested divorce, the party who wishes to obtain the divorce must file a petition in the family court in their jurisdiction. Only the spouse who is filing for the divorce must sign, however, the spouse requesting the divorce usually must serve the other spouse with process. Service of process means that the other spouse is given notice that they have been sued. In a divorce situation, serving the other spouse with process means that the other spouse is notified that their spouse has filed for divorce and given a chance to appear. Contested Divorce Modernly, courts have moved past the traditional requirements of finding cause for a divorce. In fact, every court offers no-fault divorce. However, even a no-fault divorce can end in one of two ways, it can be contested or uncontested. When a spouse refuses to sign divorce papers, the divorce is no longer placed on hold, but instead considered contested. Once the divorce becomes contested, a hearing must take place in order to establish the reasons for contesting the divorce and for the court to resolve those reasons. If both spouses show for the hearing, the court will determine the legal terms of the divorce through testimony and evidence. The court will also decide on all settlements and divisions of property. In the mean time, there are some things that you can do to try and resolve the issues and avoid allowing the court to make the decisions for you. Divorce by Default Proceeding If the spouse refuses to show for the scheduled divorce hearing and all attempts at negotiating have failed, the original filing spouse has the right to request a default divorce. In this instance, the court will uphold the divorce request and all of the original terms. This means that all divisions of property, child support amounts and custodial arrangements listed in the divorce papers will be the court's final decision. The reason the courts make this decision is because the court considers the opposing spouse's absence to be an agreement to the terms of the divorce. The court will make the default finding as long as the other spouse was truly served with the petition.

User Avatar

If your spouse will sign divorce papers, you can get a divorce in Alabama more easily, more quickly, and without paying as much money. It's possible that if you and your spouse are able to talk openly and honestly with each other, you'll be able to reach agreement on terms of a divorce and both sign the papers. But that's not what you asked, is it? If your spouse just refuses to sign anything or talk about divorce, and if you know where he or she lives, you have no choice but to file for divorce and get service of process on your spouse. This will trigger a requirement that your spouse file an answer within 30 days of having been served. If your spouse fails to answer, you can file an application with the clerk to have your spouse declared in default. The court will set a hearing at which you will appear and give testimony, and soon after that the court will issue a divorce decree. If your spouse DOES file an answer, you and your spouse will have entered an adversarial divorce, in which you and your spouse each maneuver for advantage and to acquire the information you need to present your case in a divorce trial. Most adversarial divorces don't actually get to a trial. Most get resolved before that in negotiation (the same kind of negotiation you and your spouse could do now for free if you both could be cooperative). It's hard to say how long an adversarial divorce would take or how much it would cost, because it depends so much on your lawyers and the positions each of you takes as you negotiate with each other. Lee Borden Divorceinfo.com

User Avatar

Many divorces are mutual between spouses but if your spouse refuses to sign your divorce papers, the process can take significantly longer. While there is no guarantee, your divorce could anywhere from a month to a year longer than an uncontested divorce.

User Avatar

It depends on the agreement between the two of you. It definitely saves money, but it is a difficult situation to live in.

User Avatar

I believe that you can be granted a divorce within 1 year of separation with or without his signature. There will likely be more paper work to file though. Good luck!

User Avatar

Abandonment is not grounds for divorce in Michigan. Michigan is a "no-fault" divorce state.

User Avatar

In the US, a divorce is never "automatic". You have to file for divorce. However, in order to obtain a no-fault divorce in VA you must have been separated for 1 year, OR 6 months if there are no minor children and you have a separation agreement.

User Avatar

how long after a spouse leaves can abandonment divorce, or removal from the lease be intiated in georgia? and what's the O.C.G.A reference

User Avatar

Florida law does not require a separation period before obtaining a divorce. Perhaps you are referring to the Marital Separation Agreement, which is the process of distribution of joint property/assets.

User Avatar

Yes, you can sue your spouse for personal injury during a divorce. You can sue as long as you received a personal injury caused by your soon to be ex spouse.

User Avatar

my spouse is a convicted sex offender how long after filing a divorce in Indiana what is the wait time for it to finalize.

User Avatar

Typically, after the initial divorce petition is filed and served on the other spouse, a divorces will take an addition six months or less to be finalized. However, if both spouses are not in agreement the process will obviously require more time.

User Avatar

If you have obtained a divorce from your spouse, in most jurisdictions you could marry your former father-in-law as long as he isn't already married.If you have obtained a divorce from your spouse, in most jurisdictions you could marry your former father-in-law as long as he isn't already married.If you have obtained a divorce from your spouse, in most jurisdictions you could marry your former father-in-law as long as he isn't already married.If you have obtained a divorce from your spouse, in most jurisdictions you could marry your former father-in-law as long as he isn't already married.

User Avatar

SC allows for divorce on the grounds of "willful desertion for one year"

User Avatar

This will depend on your divorce decree. There is not a standard length of time.

User Avatar

It's called abandonment, and it's cause for an at-fault divorce. You don't need "consent" to divorce the spouse who has abandoned you. how long must spouse be gone, to count as abandonment days, weeks, months or years?

User Avatar

It varies from person to person and depends if there are children, properties or a substantial amount of money involved. In British Columbia, Canada, once you have been separated from your spouse for 7 years you can request a divorce document (as long as you have not had anything to do with your ex.) You can also have your lawyer push for the divorce. If you have a lawyer it sounds as if he/she is not doing their job well. If you don't have a lawyer I suggest you get one. I tried getting a divorce the easy way from my ex, but he was doing the same thing your husband is doing (just being nasty) and I had to get a lawyer and even at that it took me 2 years to get that divorce.

User Avatar

No, there is a divorce by default as long one spouse is served. Also see a California divorce Attorney- www.california-familylawyers.com

User Avatar

Yes, a spouse may be entitled to a part of a personal injury settlement in a divorce. This depends on the laws in your state and how long you have been married.

User Avatar

As long is the service is proper, the spouse can serve their husband or wife. You will also want to get proof of service as well but if this is an amicable divorce then this should not be a problem.


Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.