Law & Legal Issues
Criminal Law
California
Mississippi

How long does a misdemeanor stay on a record in California?

161718

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2005-11-13 15:30:48
2005-11-13 15:30:48

It depends upon what type of infraction of the law occurred to warrant a misdemeanor charge. The general range is from 1-3 years, unless it pertains to an issue such as a "hate crime" or personal injury. In regards to a minor, records of criminal offense will either be expunged or sealed depending on individual circumstances, when the minor reaches the legal age of majority which in California is 18.

1
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0

Related Questions

User Avatar

How long does a misdemeanor stay on your record in Mississippi

User Avatar

As long as you live if you do not file to have it expunged/removed.

User Avatar

How long will a class c misdemeanor stay on my record for tobacco sell

User Avatar

A misdemeanor or any crime will stay on your record indefinitely unless it is removed. You can usually have a misdemeanor expunged.

User Avatar

Does a petty misdemeanor for disorderly conduct stay on your record in minnesota?

User Avatar

Misdemeanor I was convicted of a Class A misdemeanor in 2002. How long does that stay on your record?

User Avatar

Unless you go to court to have it expunged, for the rest of your life.

User Avatar

A misdemeanor will stay on your record permanently unless it is expunged. A misdemeanor will not usually hurt your credit or ability to find a job.

User Avatar

Criminal convictions stay on your record forever unless they are removed. You have to petition the court to have the misdemeanor expunged.

User Avatar

A MISDEMEANOR WILL STAY IN PUBLIC RECORD UNTILL YOU EXPONGE IT.

User Avatar

A misdemeanor will stay on your record in Pennsylvania forever. However, some crimes can be expunged if a person petitions the court.

User Avatar

A misdemeanor will stay on your record unless it is expunged. You should seek assistance from an attorney to determine whether the misdemeanor may be removed.

User Avatar

A misdemeanor will always be on your record. What matters is how far back an employer decides to look on your record.

User Avatar

It is important to never break any laws during a lifetime. A petty misdemeanor will stay on a persons record for their entire life.

User Avatar

how long does 4 degree assualt charge stay on your record in the state of Washington

User Avatar

In the state of Maine, if you are convicted of a misdemeanor, it will typically stay on your record for life. You may however be able to get it expunged through a lawyer.

User Avatar

It stays on your record for the rest of your life.

User Avatar

Criminal records tend to be permanent unless the record was sealed or the offense was expunged from your record. In California however, a potential employer is limited to searching back seven years for criminal information.

User Avatar

Your adult criminal history record is a permanent record.

User Avatar

A misdemeanor remains on your record. Most companies that search only search back about 10 years.

User Avatar

Criminal charges committed after you turn 18 (in the U.S.) stay on your record forever.


Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.