Boston Red Sox
Baseball History
World Series

How many American League teams have won the World Series?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2010-12-13 23:48:57
2010-12-13 23:48:57

There have 11 different American League teams to win 59 out of 100 played. Only two years since 1903 has it not played, 1904 and 1994. The team with the most wins is the New York Yankees with 27 championships followed by the A's franchise with 9 (4 Oakland, 5 Philadelphia and 0 with Kansas City). Other teams include Boston, Baltimore, Detroit, KC Royals, Cleveland, Minnesota, ChiSox, Toronto, and Anaheim.


Through 2009, there have been 105 World Series played. The American League has won 62 and the National League has won 43. The A.L. has a winning percentage of .590 and the N.L has a winning percentage of .410.

Here is the breakdown of the 11 A.L teams. The current name of the franchise is used:

New York Yankees - 27

Oakland Athletics - 9

Boston Red Sox - 7

Detroit Tigers - 4

Baltimore Orioles - 3

Minnesota Twins - 3

Chicago White Sox - 3

Cleveland Indians - 2

Toronto Blue Jays - 2

Kansas City Royals - 1

Los Angeles Angels - 1

A.L teams who have won the pennant, but never won a World Series are:

Milwaukee Brewers - 1 appearance

Tampa Bay Rays - 1 appearance

Texas Rangers - 1 appearance

A.L. teams who have never won a pennant are:

Seattle Mariners


Related Questions

American League teams play the National League teams for four series per season, in what is called "interleague play." also, in the World Series, an American League team plays a National League team.

Only two teams go to the World Series: the American League champion and the National League champion.

The Oakland Athletics have the second most world Series titles of American League Teams with 9

The New York Yankees won 27 World Series titles most by a team in both the American, and National League.

The Oakland Athletics won 9 World series Titles and is second among American League teams to the Yankees with 27.

American League Championship Series. The two teams that win the first round of the American League playoffs, called the ALDS or American League Divisional Series, play in the ALCS and the winner of that series goes to play in the World Series.

As of the 2010 World Series, American League teams have claimed 62 world championships, while National League clubs have won 43.

There have been 13 different National League teams that have won the World Series.

The Pittsburgh Pirates of the National League beat the Baltimore Orioles of the American League, 4 games to 3 in the 1979 World Series.

AL because they have better teams and they have the Yankees After the 2007 World Series that the Red Sox won, the count between leagues is 42 for the National League and 61 for the American League. Of the American League's 61 World Series wins, the Yankees have 26 of those.

They never played each other in the World Series. This couldn't happen due to the fact that both the Yankees and Red Sox are American League teams. The American league plays the National League in the World Series.

Through the 2008 season, the Texas Rangers, Tampa Bay Rays, and Seattle Mariners have not won a World Series.

The New York Giants, Yankees, Mets, and the Brooklyn Dodgers all played in the World Series. The New York Yankees the only American league team had played all three New York National League teams in the World Series.

The " World Series" itself is not a sport. It is the championship 7 game series played between two major league baseball teams each year in october. The winner of the American League and the winner of the National League play in a "best-of-seven" series hence the name "World Series"

Teams Without a World Series TitleAs of 2009, there are 8 teams that never won a World Series title of which three have never made it to the World Series. The San Diego Padres had 2 World Series appearances without a title. The Milwaukee Brewers had 1 World Series appearance in the American League. The Houston Astros, the Tampa Bay Rays, and the Colorado Rockies all have 1 World Series appearance without a title. The 3 teams that have never been to a World Series are the Seattle Mariners, the Washington Nationals, and the Texas Rangers.

well letz see 8 teams make the playoffs right 4 from the American league 4 from the national league so do the math 1 out of 8 1/8 playoff teams win the world series

There are 14 teams in the American League.

The 2006 American League champions are the Detroit Tigers and the 2006 National League Champions are the St. Louis Cardinals. These two teams are playing in the 2006 World Series. Cardinals and Detroit -----Update: The Cardinals beat the Tigers 4 games to 1 to win the 2006 World Series.

Most American League World Series Champonships.The New York Yankees won 27 World Series titles, in 40 World Series appearances. More than any other team in Major League history. The Oakland Athletics have the second most World Series titles for an American League team with 9 in 14 World Series appearances. The Boston Red Sox are third with 7 titles in 11 appearances, and the Detroit Tigers are 4th with 4 titles in 10 appearances.

In 2000 World Series, the American League Champions Yankees faced the National League Champion Mets in th World Series. It was the first time the two teams met in the World Series. There have been previous series Where the New York Giants or the Brooklyn Dodgers faced the New York Yankees in the World Series, but it has now happened in over 50 years because both National League Franchises has since relocated.

The defending world champion Philadelphia Phillies of the National League and the New York Yankees of the American League. The World Series is now over with the Yankees defeating the Phillies 4 games to 2.

The Tampa Bay Rays represented the American League and the Philadelphia Phillies represented the National League. The Phillies won the series in 5 games. EC

There are 4 teams in each the American, and National League that make the playoffs. Each league has three division winners, and a wild card team that play each other in the playoffs. The winning team of each league plays in the World Series in a best of 7 format. The team that wins 4 games first are the World Champions..

Yes. Both the American League and National League teams use the designated hitter in A.L. ballparks.

Number of Game in thePlayoffsIn each the American League and National League there are two rounds of playoffs to get to the World Series. The first round is the Division Series. There are two Division series played in each league and the best of 5 games wins. The next round is the Championship Series. Played in each League, the two teams that won the Division Series play a best of 7 series. The two teams that win in each league play each other in the World Series Best of 7 games.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.