How many Counties are in England?


Bedfordshire, Berkshire, Bristol, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Cheshire, City of London, Cornwall, County Durham, Cumbria, Derbyshire, Devon, Dorset, East Riding of Yorkshire, East Sussex, Essex, Gloucestershire, Greater London, Greater Manchester, Hampshire, Herefordshire, Hertfordshire, Isle of Wight, Kent, Lancashire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Merseyside, Norfolk, North Yorkshire, Northamptonshire, Northumberland, Nottinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Rutland, Shropshire, Somerset, South Yorkshire, Staffordshire, Suffolk, Surrey, Tyne and Wear, Warwickshire, West Midlands, West Sussex, West Yorkshire, Wiltshire, Worcestershire

There are 39 Historic counties, with the following changes to the above list:

Cumbria -> Cumberland & Westmorland
Merseyside, Greater Manchester & Lancashire -> Lancashire
North Yorkshire, West Yorkshire, East Riding of Yorkshire & South Yorkshire -> Yorkshire
West Midlands & Warwickshire -> Warwickshire
Cambridgeshire -> Cambridgeshire & Huntingdonshire
Greater London & City of London -> Middlesex
East Sussex & West Sussex -> Sussex
Somerset & Bristol -> Somerset
County Durham & Tyne and Wear -> Durham
Isle of Wight & Hampshire -> Hampshire

There were a few slight border adjustments along the way, but this is pretty much the gist of it.
Over the Years they have changed but the following links have an up-to-date list.

See the Related Links below.