US Governors

How many Latino governors have there been in the US?

User Avatar
2020-05-21 01:48:05


User Avatar
Wiki User
2012-03-15 04:18:20

As of 2007 there were more than five thousand elected

officeholders in the United States who were of Latino origin.

In the House of Representatives, Hispanic and Latino

representatives have included Ladislas Lazaro, Antonio M.

Fernández, Henry B. Gonzalez, Kika de la Garza, Herman Badillo,

Romualdo Pacheco, and Manuel Lujan, Jr., out of almost two dozen

former Representatives. Current Representatives include Luis

Gutiérrez, Ileana Ros-Lehtinen,Nydia Velázquez, Joe Baca, Loretta

Sanchez, Silvestre Reyes, Rubén Hinojosa, Linda Sánchez, and John

Salazar -- in all, they number twenty-three. Former senators

areOctaviano Ambrosio Larrazolo, Mel Martinez, Dennis Chavez,

Joseph Montoya, and Ken Salazar. As of January 2011, the U.S.

Senate includes Hispanic members Bob Menendez, a Democrat, and

Marco Rubio, a Republican.[53]

Numerous Hispanics and Latinos hold elective and appointed

office in state and local government throughout the United

States.[54] Current Hispanic Governors include Republican Nevada

Governor Brian Sandoval and Republican New Mexico Governor Susana

Martinez; upon taking office in 2011, Martinez became the first

Latina governor in the history of the United States.[55] Former

Hispanic governors include Democrats Jerry Apodaca, Raul Hector

Castro, and Bill Richardson, as well as RepublicansOctaviano

Ambrosio Larrazolo, Romualdo Pacheco, and Bob Martinez.

Since 1988,[56] when Ronald Reagan appointed Lauro Cavazos the

Secretary of Education, the first Hispanic United States Cabinet

member, Hispanic Americans have had an increasing presence in

presidential administrations. Hispanics serving in subsequent

cabinets include Ken Salazar, current Secretary of the Interior;

Hilda Solis, current United States Secretary of Labor; Alberto

Gonzales, former United States Attorney General; Carlos Gutierrez,

Secretary of Commerce; Federico Peña, formerSecretary of Energy;

Henry Cisneros, former Secretary of Housing and Urban Development;

Manuel Lujan, Jr., former Secretary of the Interior; and Bill

Richardson, former Secretary of Energy and Ambassador to the United

Nations. Six of the last ten US Treasurers, including the latest

three, are Hispanic women.

In 2009, Sonia Sotomayor became the first Supreme Court

Associate Justice of Hispanic or Latino origin.

The Congressional Hispanic Caucus (CHC), founded in December

1976, and the Congressional Hispanic Conference (CHC), founded on

March 19, 2003, are two organizations that promote policy of

importance to Americans of Hispanic descent. They are divided into

the two major American political parties: The Congressional

Hispanic Caucus is composed entirely of Democratic representatives,

whereas the Congressional Hispanic Conference is composed entirely

of Republican representatives

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.