History of the United States
American Revolution
African-American History
Colonial America

How many US colonies were there?


User Avatar
Wiki User

There were 13 original colonies that later formed the United States of America. Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts Bay, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island and Providence Plantations.

Prior to the end of the American War of independence, there were 18 British colonies in North America not including the Caribbean region (British West Indies). Maine and Vermont did not exist. Maine formed part of the Province of Massachusetts Bay and Vermont Republic an independent state in 1777-1791.

Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, Quebec, St. John's Island, and East Florida remained loyal to The Crown. New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island did not yet exist. New Brunswick forming part of Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island existing as the colony of St. John's Island in 1769 when in 1978 it was renamed Prince Edward Island.