How many commonweath states are in the US?

The states that refer to themselves as "commonwealths" are Kentucky, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. However, this does not affect their status as states. The island of Puerto Rico, formerly a US territory, is considered a "commonwealth" of the US but is not currently a state.