Countries, States, and Cities
Commonwealth Games

How many countries compete in the Commonwealth Games?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2015-08-19 02:57:46
2015-08-19 02:57:46

Although there are 53 Commonwealth countries, there are 71 Commonwealth Games Associations (CGAs) registered that can enter a team in the Commonwealth Games. This is because some Commonwealth countries have more than one CGA, in many cases due to their past histories as separate nations in their own rights. An example of this is the United Kingdom, which is now a single Commonwealth country, but which has seven CGAs, as Scotland, England, Northern Ireland, Wales, Isle of Man, Jersey, and Guernsey, all compete in the Games as separate nations.

The original Commonwealth Games in 1930 had 11 countries competing. The number of countries entering has steadily grown, with a few blips due to boycotts as a result of political pressure. Nigeria boycotted the 1978 Games in protest of New Zealand's sporting contacts with apartheid-era South Africa, and 32 of 59 nations from Africa, Asia, and the Caribbean boycotted the 1986 Commonwealth Games due to the Thatcher government's attitude towards South African sporting contacts. Boycotts were also threatened in 1974, 1982, and 1990 because of South Africa.

The 71 competing nations in the 2006 Commonwealth Games were:

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Botswana
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Cook Islands
  • Cyprus
  • Dominica
  • England
  • Falkland Islands
  • Fiji
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada
  • Guernsey
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Isle of Man
  • Jamaica
  • Jersey
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Niue
  • Norfolk Island
  • Northern Ireland
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Scotland
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Wales
  • Zambia

71 (according to the BBC!)
User Avatar

Related Questions

71 Commonwealth countries competed in the 271 events at the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

None. Italy does not compete in the Commonwealth Games. It is not a member of the Commonwealth.

Common Wealth Games is to have 85 paricipating nations and 8500 athletes overall

There are 71 member countries in the Commonwealth Games.

None. Ireland does not compete in the Commonwealth Games. Ireland is not a member of the Commonwealth.

there are 72 countries participating in the 2010 commonwealth games.

Canada has participated at all twenty Commonwealth Games from 1930 to 2014.

Tuvalu had five competitors compete at the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

Spain has won a total of 0 medals at the Commonwealth Games, due to the fact that they have never competed. Only countries which have previously been owned by the British Empire are allowed to compete in the Commonwealth Games.

71 countries are competing in 2010 commonwealth games.

71 countries participated at the 2010 Commonwealth Games.

46 countries participated in the Commonwealth Games in 1990

53 countries are allowed to participate in the commonwealth games.

71 Countries will participate in the 19th commonwealth games.

71 nations participate at the Commonwealth Games.

How many athletes and how many countries will compete in the 2008 summer games?

71 commonwealth teams are participating in 2010 commonwealth games

42 countries participated at the 1970 British and Commonwealth Games.

71 countries took part in the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

71 Commonwealth nations participated in 2010 commonwealth games.

71 countries took part in the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

71 countries took part in the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

71 countries participated in commonwealth games 2010

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.